Skip to Main Content
Five Lives in Music by
Call Number: ML82 P67 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2012
Brings to light five women performers and composers from the Baroque to the 20th century, finding common threads that extend to a discussion of female musicians throughout centuries of music history.
Women in Music by
Call Number: ML128 W8 P39 2010 [Allen reference]
Annotated bibliography covering the variety of published writings on women, their work, and the important roles feminist outlooks have played in scholarship and journalism.
Women, Music, Culture by
Call Number: ML82 D85 2021 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2021
Covers the history and contributions of women in a variety of musical genres and professions. Includes a website with videos and Spotify playlists.
Music Reference Databases
Journals are a great place to learn from experts about the most recent developments in a particular field.
Search articles online or browse the Allen Library current periodicals (near the Allen entrance). See especially:
Journal Article Databases
Library databases provide citations for articles, book chapters, and more. Most articles/chapters focus on a narrow and specific topic, so they are great for deeper research. To get started:
- Choose a database.
- Search for keywords such as genres, topics, names of people, etc.
- Limit your results by date, language, and more with the the left-hand menu on the results page.
Need more help?
See our Article help page for step-by-step instructions and videos to help you search databases and find full-text articles. And you can always ask a librarian for individual help.
Music Article Databases
Music Index Online This link opens in a new window
Article citations from over 700 music journals.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Article citations from over 400 music journals.
RILM This link opens in a new window
Citations for scholarly music and dance books, articles, dissertations, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from almost 100 scholarly music, dance, and theatre journals, plus other subjects. Excludes recent years.
Books in the Allen Library (selections)
Alma Mahler and Her Contemporaries by
Call Number: ML134 M20 F55 2018 [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 2018
Uncovers the wealth of resources on Mahler, Florence Price, Yuliya Lazarevna Veysberg, and Maria Teresa Prieto, the first generation of active female composers in the 20th century.
Analytical Essays on Music by Women Composers by
Call Number: MT90 A523 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2016-2022
Essays on women's compositions from the mid-12th to the 20th centuries, linked with sociohistorical context.
Volume 4 yet to be published.
In Her Own Words by
Call Number: ML390 K45 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2013
Interviews with 25 accomplished female U.S. composers from the mid-20th century into the 21st, opening new perspectives on the prospects and possibilities of making music in a changing world.
Sounds and Sweet Airs by
Call Number: ML390 B44 2016 [Allen shelves]
Tells the stories of eight female composers, from Renaissance Florence to 20th-century London.
Books in the Allen Library (selections)
Five Centuries of Women Singers by
Call Number: ML400 E43 F58 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2005
Explores the careers of 20 singers from the late 16th century to the middle of the 20th. Reveals much about the business of music and the perseverance that was and is crucial for a successful career.
Women Performing Music by
Call Number: ML82 M33 W65 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2000
Explores the experiences of women from the late 19th and early 20th centuries who pursued careers as public performers, charting a new course for women in this era.
Find more books about women musicians
Search subjects in the catalog...
...or search for specific musicians, for example:
Suggest a Resource
Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!
Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (firstname.lastname@example.org).
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264