Skip to Main Content
Find a Specific Work/Composer
Find Scores and Recordings
In the Allen Library
- Open the library catalog.
- Search the title and composer's name.
- Limit to the format you desire.
- Find a result for the piece you need.
- Use the location and call number to find the item.
Image: Catalog search with the format limited to Printed Music, and search result showing location and call number.
Can't visit the library? Use our guides to Music Scores Online or Streaming Audio & Video to find online score & recording sites, then search for the piece you need.
Searching for music can be tricky! If you can't find what you need, ask a librarian for help.
Music in the library catalog (and similar tools) is not identified by composers' demographic information.
The most reliable method is to search for the name of a composer and/or work title.
The resources below can help you identify names and titles.
Use one to find a composer and/or work, then use the above method to locate a score or recording.
Repertoire Guides Online
Catalog of Trumpet Works by Gender-Marginalized People and/or Black, Indigenous, or Persons of Color
An extensive list of works for trumpet solo and in ensemble. Use the tabs at the top to navigate between different sections.
Works by women and gender-marginalized composers.
Music for Clarinet by Women Composers
A list of works ranging from unaccompanied clarinet to large ensemble works.
No Broken Links
Solo and chamber repertoire for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, saxophone, and horn. Focuses on work by BIPOC, women, transgender, & gender non-conforming individuals.
A Seat at the Piano
Piano works from over 200 composers of diverse backgrounds and identities. Searchable by nationality and other keywords.
Trombone Compositions by Women Composers
A list of composers, works, and instrumentation.
Underrepresented Composer Database (Viola)
Over 1500 solo and chamber works for viola by underrepresented composers. Also accepts submissions for new works to add.
Wind Repertory Project
A comprehensive database of wind literature. Browse by solo instrument, ensemble, or composer category.
Women's Song Database
A database of almost 25,000 songs published by over 5,000 women from 1890 to 1930. Click the links on right side of page to download the files.
Works with Horn by Female Composers
Almost 2,000 solo and chamber music pieces with horn (original works, up to 12 instruments) by female composers from around the world.
Anthologies in the Allen Library (selections)
Anthology: A collection of musical works by different composers, published together.
We have much more music by women composers in the library! Use the repertoire guides and websites elsewhere on this page to identify other composers and work titles, then search the library catalog for those specific works. See catalog search tips above, or ask a librarian for help.
Contemporary Anthology of Music by Women by
Call Number: M1 C65 1997 [Allen shelves]
Scores by 30 composers from around the world, encompassing concert and religious music as well as jazz, pop, experimental, and cross-over works. Each piece is introduced by a short biography of the composer.
Women Composers by
Call Number: M2 W6 1996 v.1-8 [Allen shelves]
A comprehensive overview of music by women, 9th-20th centuries. Includes scores, essays, bibliographies, and works lists.
Find more anthologies
Search the catalog by subject:
Music by women composers
Repertoire Guides in the Library
Contemporary Concert Music by Women by
Call Number: ML128 W8 Z [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 1981
A primary reference volume on 72 contemporary women composers. Includes biographies and work listings.
A Guide to Piano Music by Women Composers by
Call Number: ML128 P5 D44 [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 2002
A practical guide to piano music composed by 144 women born before the 20th century. The music is described by genre, mood, style, technical requirements, and difficulty.
Say Can You Deny Me by
Call Number: ML128 W8 J [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 1994
Lists the locations of the printed and manuscript sources of Renaissance, baroque, classic, and some early romantic women composers.
So You Want to Sing Music by Women by
Call Number: MT820 S696 W8 H635 2019 [Allen shelves]
Opens a vast repertoire of vocal music written by hundreds of historical and contemporary women composers. Includes interviews with high-profile composers.
Suggest a Resource
Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!
Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (firstname.lastname@example.org).
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264