Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Vocal Music (Solo): Home

Selected Vocal Books in the Allen Library

Vocal Repertoire for the Twenty-First Century

Comprehensive selection of contemporary art songs, each with a performance guide, music examples, difficulty level, and summary of vocal characteristics or challenges.

The Singer's Audition and Career Handbook

A comprehensive guide to the training, audition technique, and professional development essential for launching and sustaining a career in classical singing.

The Vocal Athlete

Provides an understanding of the vocal mechanism, care of the body and instrument, and the science behind the voice.

Dictionary for the Modern Singer

Covers classical singing, musical theatre, popular, and global styles, with an emphasis on contemporary practice. Includes extensive bibliography for further research.

So You Want to Sing (series)

Series topics include early music, gospel, spirituals, blues, world music, a cappella, music by women, and much more.

Diction for Singers

Covers diction in general, plus special features of English, Italian, Latin, German, French, and Spanish. Includes vowel and consonant charts with IPA transcriptions.

Singing in Style

An introduction to vocal performance practice from the Baroque period to the present: ornamentation, vibrato, rubato, portamento, articulation, tempo, language, and more.

Visit/Contact Us!

Related Guides

Top Databases for Vocalists

Explore this guide for more, or use our Database Locator to browse all library databases.

 

A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help

University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264