LibGuides: Music Production and Technology: Research

Jump to: Articles | Charts & Statistics | History

Articles

Browse Professional Journals

Professional journals are a great place to learn from experts about the most recent developments in your field.
Search articles online or browse the Allen Library current periodicals (near the Allen entrance). See especially:

Electronic Musician
Available online only.
Gramophone
Available in print only (current periodicals or bound call number ML5 G7).
Mix
Available online only (2002-present).
Pro Sound News
Available online only (1995-present).
Professional Sound
Available online only (1997-present).

Journal Article Databases

Library databases provide citations for articles, book chapters, and more. Most articles/chapters focus on a narrow and specific topic, so they are great for deeper research. To get started:

Choose a database.
Search for keywords such as genres, topics, names of people, etc.
Limit your results by date, language, and more with the the left-hand menu on the results page.

Need more help?

See our Article help page for step-by-step instructions and videos to help you search databases and find full-text articles. And you can always ask a librarian for individual help.

Music Article Databases

Music Index Online
Article citations from over 700 music journals.
Music Periodicals Database
Article citations from over 400 music journals.
RILM
Citations for scholarly music and dance books, articles, dissertations, and more.
JSTOR
Full-text articles from almost 100 scholarly music, dance, and theatre journals, plus other subjects. Excludes recent years.

Charts & Statistics

Research Databases

Music ID (Music Industry Data)
Chart rankings for music artists, albums, and singles. Charts include Billboard, iTunes, Spotify, and more. Data is provided for over 5,000 charts in 74 countries.
Need help? Watch this video tutorial to get started with Music ID.
National Archive of Data on Arts & Culture
Database of data and publications on arts and culture, sponsored by the National Endowment for the Arts.

Websites

Billboard
News and charts. Covers all music, but focuses mainly on popular genres.
IFPI Global Statistics
International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (IFPI) represents the interests of the recording industry, and also publishes key statistics about the music market and industry.
Spotify Charts
View their Top 200 or Viral 50 charts, and filter by geographical region or time period. Login required.

History

Books in the Library (selections)

Cowboys and Indies by Gareth Murphy
Call Number: ML3790 M87 C 2014 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2014
An entertaining ride through the musical, cultural, and technological changes that shaped the recording industry.
Dan Alexander Audio by Dan Alexander
Call Number: TK7881.4 A33 2021 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2021
A list of over 7,500 pieces of vintage gear products sold from 1979 until 2000, including sales brochures, prices, serial numbers, and buyers.
The History of Music Production by Richard James Burgess
Call Number: ML3790 B874 H5 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2014
Charts the highs and lows of the industry throughout the decades, telling the story of the music producer as both artist and professional.
Recording the Classical Guitar by Mark Marrington
Call Number: ML1015 G9 M37 2021 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2021
Explores how recording technologies and studio production techniques shaped the performance aesthetics, repertoire, and sound of the classical guitar over the last century.

Find more history books

Search the catalog by subject:

Sound > Recording and reproducing > History
Sound recording industry > History
Sound recordings > History

Suggest a Resource

Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!

Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (rudnick@hartford.edu).

Find Full Text Articles

Search eJournal Locator for the journal title:

Need help? See our article help page or ask a librarian.