LibGuides: Music Production and Technology: The Industry

Books in the Allen Library (selections)

All You Need to Know about the Music Business by Donald S. Passman
Call Number: ML3790 P37 A44 2019 [Allen reference]
Regarded as the definitive comprehensive guide to the music industry.
Available online with UH email login/password.
Finding Your Career in the Modern Audio Industry by April Tucker
Call Number: ML3795 T83 F5 2023 [Allen shelves]
Provides insight for aspiring professionals seeking audio-related opportunities in entertainment, technology, education, and more.
Music Business Handbook and Career Guide by David Baskerville and Timothy Baskerville
Call Number: ML3795 B31 2019 [Allen shelves]
Noted as the most comprehensive, up-to-date guide to the music industry in all of its diversity.
The Musician's Business and Legal Guide by Mark Halloran
Call Number: ML3790 H37 M87 2017 [Allen shelves]
Covers how to protect name and copyright; legal issues with sampling, digital downloads, and streaming; and more. Includes clause-by-clause contract analyses for 360 record deals, music publishing, management, and producer agreements.

Search subjects in the catalog:

...or browse the shelves:

Call number	Subject
ML3790	Music trade (general)
ML3795	Vocational guidance

The 11 Contracts That Every Artist, Songwriter, and Producer Should Know by Steve Gordon and Ryanne Perio
Call Number: ML3795 G67 C6 2017 [Allen shelves]
Presents sample agreements, then breaks down the nuances of the legal and business sides of the arrangements.
The Enterprising Musician's Guide to Performer Contracts by David R. Williams
Call Number: ML3795 W55 2017 [Allen shelves]
Explanations of common legal agreement clauses such as gig contracts, artist-management contracts, and producer agreements. Reveals how to avoid pitfalls and amend content to address musicians' needs.

Search subjects in the catalog:

...or browse the shelves:

Call number	Subject
ML3790	Music trade (general)
ML3795	Vocational guidance

Looking for more information on copyright, licensing, public domain, or fair use?
See our guide to Copyright for Music.

Copyright in General (from Columbia University)
Explains fundamental principles of copyright law and answers questions about fair use, managing your copyrights, negotiating publication agreements, posting materials online, and more.
Music Copyright Tutorial (YouTube)
Created by students and librarians at the College of William & Mary. A great introduction to copyright issues in music.

Getting Permission by Richard Stim
Call Number: KF3002 .S75 2022 [Mortensen shelves], KF2995 S85 G47 2016 [Allen shelves]
Shows you how to get the rights you need with step-by-step instructions and more than 30 forms. Find out when permission is required, who to ask, when (and how much) you can expect to pay, and more.
Music Law by Richard Stim
Call Number: KF390 M87 S85 2015 [Allen shelves]
Explains how to use samples, do covers legally, protect your copyright, trademark your band's name, sell your music, understand record contracts, deal with taxes, and more.
Music Law in the Digital Age by Allen Bargfrede
Call Number: KF3035 B37 2017 [Allen shelves]
A plain-language guide that explains how copyright law drives the contemporary music industry.

Search subjects in the catalog:

...or browse the shelves:

Call number	Subject
KF3035	Music licensing
ML70	Music copyright

ASCAP
One of the two largest performing rights organizations in the US. This website provides information and resources for performing rights and licensing fees.
BMI
One of the two largest performing rights organizations in the US. This website provides information and resources for performing rights and licensing fees.
SESAC
A smaller performing rights organization, but still representing many big-name musicians.
Sound Exchange
A performing rights organization that manages the rights for streaming audio, including satellite radio, internet radio, and more.
Harry Fox Agency
Handles mechanical and digital licenses. This should be your starting point if you are looking to secure the rights to produce a recording.

Music Marketing for the DIY Musician by Bobby Borg
Call Number: ML3795 B674 M8 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2014
A proactive, step-by-step guide to producing a fully integrated, customized, low-budget plan of attack for artists marketing their own music.
Social Media Promotion for Musicians by Bobby Owsinski
Call Number: ML3790 O87 S63 2020 [Allen shelves]
Insider tips and tricks to help you gain more fans and followers, increase your views, and grow your ticket and merch sales.

Search subjects in the catalog:

...or browse the shelves:

Musical America This link opens in a new window
Locate record companies, artists, and managers; read performing arts news; and more.

Pollstar Record Company Directory
Call Number: ML12 P655 R43 2018 [Allen reference]
Listing of U.S. and international record companes with contact information, plus an index to search by artist.

Audio Engineering Society
An international organization that promotes advances in audio and disseminates new knowledge and research.
Music Business Association
Advances, promotes and invests in the future of the music business with events, education, and engagement.
Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA)
Information on legislation, piracy, technology, statistics, awards, and more.

Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!

Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (rudnick@hartford.edu).