LibGuides: Music Production and Technology: Recording/Production

Books in the Allen Library (selections)

Audio Production and Critical Listening by Jason Corey
Call Number: ML3805 C67 A8 2017 [Allen shelves]

Helps develop your critical listening skills. Covers sound measurements, signal processing, hearing conservation, and bias in the listening process.
Audio Production Principles by Stephane Elmosnino
Call Number: TK7881.4 E34 2018 [Allen shelves]

A manual with four main topics: pre-production, recording various instruments, mixing theories and tools, and mastering.
Music Production by Michael Zager
Call Number: ML3795 Z34 M875 2021 [Allen shelves]

A comprehensive road map for navigating the continuous transformations in the music industry and music production technologies.
Practical Recording Techniques by Bruce Bartlett, Jenny Bartlett
Call Number: TK7881.6 B37 P7 2017 [Allen shelves]

A practical guide with advice on equipping a home studio, miking instruments and vocals, improving recordings, working with MIDI and loops, mastering, and putting your music on the web.
Sound and Recording, 8th ed. by Francis Rumsey with Tim McCormick
Call Number: TK7881.4 R85 2021 [Allen shelves]

The essential guide for a solid grounding in both theory and industry practices in audio, sound and recording.
The Recording Engineer's Handbook by Bobby Owsinski
Call Number: TK7881.4 O97 R43 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 2014

A music-industry standard for audio recording information. Includes practical techniques and interviews with recording professionals.

Search the catalog by subject:

...or browse the shelves by call number:

Call number	Subject
ML3790	Music trade (general)
TK5981	Audio engineering & recording techniques
TK7881	Electronics

Concert Halls and Opera Houses by Leo Leroy Beranek
Call Number: NA2800 .B39 2004 [Mortensen shelves]

Illustrated guide to the architecture and engineering of 100 concert halls and opera houses, and discusses their acoustical quality.
Master Handbook of Acoustics, 6th Ed. by F. Alton Everest; Ken C. Pohlmann
Call Number: QC225.15 .E93 2015 [Mortensen shelves]

Also available online.
Guide to designing and constructing audiophile-quality sonic environments of all sizes, from home theaters and project studios to large-scale recording studios.

Search the catalog by subject:

...or browse the shelves by call number:

Eargle's Microphone Book by Ray A. Rayburn
Call Number: TK5986 R39 E3 2012 [Allen shelves]

Covers the 'why' and the 'how' of choosing and placing a microphone for any situation, plus creative solutions to stereo sound staging, perspective, and balance.
Loudspeakers by Philip Newell; Keith Holland
Call Number: TK5983 N48 2019 [Allen shelves]

Covers drivers, cabinets, and crossovers, amplifiers, cables, surround sound, and more. This new edition provides significant updates on digital control, calibration, and cinema loudspeaker systems.
Sound Reproduction: The Acoustics and Psychoacoustics of Loudspeakers and Rooms by Floyd Toole
Call Number: TK5983 T66 2018 [Allen shelves]

Explains the physical and perceptual processes involved in sound reproduction, and demonstrates how to create high-quality listening experiences in stereo and multichannel formats.

Search the catalog by subject:

...or browse the shelves by call number:

Recording Studio Design, 4th ed. by Philip Newell
Call Number: TH1725 N48 2017 [Allen shelves]

Explains the key principles of successful studio design and construction in various environments, with practical examples. This edition is updated to reflect new industry standards in cinema sound.
Sound Studio Construction on a Budget by F. Alton Everest
Call Number: TA365 E93 S68 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 1997

Instructions and guidance for building your own inexpensive sound studio. All project examples include illustrations and complete part lists.

Search the catalog by subject:

...or browse the shelves by call number:

Call number	Subject
NA2800	Architectural acoustics
TA365–TA367	Acoustical engineering

Audio Metering by Eddy Brixen
Call Number: TA365 B75 2020 [Allen shelves]

Comprehensive guide to the complex and confusing aspects of audio metering, with the knowledge and skills to utilize optional signal levels and produce high-quality audio.
Classical Recording by John Dunkerley; Caroline Haigh; Mark Rogers
Call Number: TK7881.4 H35 2021 [Allen shelves]

A comprehensive overview of the skills involved in successfully recording and producing a classical music recording.
Drum Sound and Drum Tuning by Rob Toulson
Call Number: MT662 T68 2021 [Allen shelves]

Covers the essential theories of percussion acoustics and facilitates creative approaches to drum tuning and professional-level recording and mixing of drums.
Mixing a Musical by Shannon Slaton
Call Number: TK7881.4 S52 2019 [Allen shelves]

How to mix live theatre shows, from equipment and set ups to using sound levels to create atmosphere, emotion and tension.
Recording Orchestra and Other Classical Music Ensembles by Richard King
Call Number: ML3790 K551 R4 2016 [Allen shelves]

Explores techniques and methodologies for recording all types of classical music. Includes sections on microphones, concert halls, orchestra seating arrangements, and more.

Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!

Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (rudnick@hartford.edu).

Come to the Allen Library! Our listening carrels and listening/viewing rooms can play:

Equipment is generally first-come, first-served, but rooms may be reserved for certain uses. Contact us (860.768.4840) for more information.