Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Clarinet: Home

The Libraries are open!  See our hours or COVID-19 FAQ for adjusted hours and services, or contact us for further assistance.

About This Guide

piano

This guide provides top tips and resources for performing and studying the clarinet. Navigate the guide via the tabs at the top of the page, or use the links in the Table of Contents below to get started. 

Contents

Scores & Parts: Find a specific piece of music | Find any piece of music with specific instruments

Recordings: Streaming Audio & Video | Hardcopy Recordings

Research: Articles | Books | Reference

Technique: Recommended Resources | Discover More

Career Resources: Connect with Professionals | Learn More

Recommended Clarinet Books in the Allen Library

A Dictionary for the Modern Clarinetist

Over 400 terms covering modern and historical instruments, acoustics, construction, techniques, and fingerings, plus important performers, makers, and scholars.

Notes for Clarinetists

An essential guide for musicians preparing and presenting programs. Provides historical and analytical information about 35 of the best-known pieces for clarinet.

The Woodwind Instrument Owner's Handbook

A roadmap for every step of the owning process from selecting and buying (or renting) to maintaining, repairing, modifying, upgrading, and reselling your instrument.

Clarinet Secrets

A 52-week course of performance strategies for advanced clarinetists. Contains updated information on harmonics, electronic music and equipment, and more.

The Definitive Guide to Successful Reed Finishing

A method for balancing and finishing clarinet and saxophone reeds. To be used in conjunction with the universal ATG single reed finishing system set. Accompanying DVDs available at MO ML946 R54 U

Top Databases for Clarinetists

Looking for something else? Explore this guide for more, or use our Database Locator to browse all library databases.

Visit/Contact Us!

Related Guides

A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help

University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264