Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles are great for research because they generally cover a very narrow topic in great detail. In addition, scholarly journal articles generally include a bibliography where you can find more resources on the same topic.
Browse Professional Journals
Professional journals are a great place to learn from experts about the most recent developments in your field.
Search articles online or browse the Allen Library current periodicals (near the Allen entrance). See especially:
Journal Article Databases
Library databases provide citations for articles, book chapters, and more. Most articles/chapters focus on a narrow and specific topic, so they are great for deeper research. To get started:
- Choose a database.
- Search for keywords such as genres, topics, names of people, etc.
- Limit your results by date, language, and more with the the left-hand menu on the results page.
Need more help?
See our Article help page for step-by-step instructions and videos to help you search databases and find full-text articles. And you can always ask a librarian for individual help.
History Books in the Allen Library (selections)
The Cambridge Companion to the Clarinet by
Call Number: ML945 C34 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 1995
A survey of the history and repertoire of the instrument from its origins to the present day, plus practical guidance on teaching and performing.
The Clarinet by
Call Number: ML945 H64 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2008
Explores the development, repertoire, and performance history of the clarinet and its antecedents and related instruments such as the chalumeau, basset horn, alto clarinet.
Notes for Clarinetists by
Call Number: ML945 R53 N6 2017 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2017
An essential guide for musicians preparing and presenting programs. Provides historical and analytical information about 35 of the best-known pieces for clarinet.
Find more history books
Browse by subject in the catalog, for example:
Browse the shelves by call number:
||Wind instrument history
||Woodwind instrument history
|ML945 – ML948
|ML1100 – ML1165
||Chamber music history
|ML1200 – 1270
|ML1300 – ML1354
Performer Biographies in the Allen Library (selections)
Find more biographies
Search performer names in the catalog, for example:
Browse the shelves by call number:
(clarinet and other instruments)
Reference resources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more.
They often provide a short overview of a topic, then point to more resources you can use for further research.
Music Reference Databases
Books in the Allen Library (selections)
A Dictionary for the Modern Clarinetist by
Call Number: ML128 C6 E33 2015 [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 2015
Over 400 terms covering modern and historical instruments, acoustics, construction, techniques, and fingerings, plus important performers, makers, and scholars.
Wind Ensemble Sourcebook and Biographical Guide by
Call Number: ML128 W5 S76 [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 1997
Discusses many wind ensemble composers and works, and places the music in context: why it was written, where it was played, and how it influenced other genres.
Find more reference books
See all clarinet reference books in the catalog:
Browse the Reference shelves by call number:
Suggest a Resource
Know of a resource we have you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!
Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (firstname.lastname@example.org).
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264