Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Tutorial

Making the Databases Work for You

One of the neat things about finding journal articles in the databases is that many of them will generate citations for you. However, these citations aren't always 100 percent correct, so you need to check them. But they will certainly get you a large part of the way there!

Different databases have the "Cite" option located in different places, and not all the databases even have it.

If you are in an EBSCO database (it'll say so in the upper left corner of the page), you can generate a citation by:

  • Clicking on an article title from your results list
  • Looking on the right side of the page for an icon that looks like a sheet of paper and/or the word "Cite" (sometimes the word only appears if you hover your mouse over the icon)

  • Click on "Cite" and choose your citation style in the window that pops up above the article title:

Close-up screenshot of citation format window with APA citation circled.

  • Copy the citation into your bibliography, make any corrections necessary, and be done with that citation!

If you are in a ProQuest Database, the process is similar:

  • Click on an article title from your results list
  • Look to the right of the screen for the "Cite" button.

  • Click on "Cite" and then click on change to choose your citation style from the window that pops up.

Close-up screenshot of cite window with change button circled.

  • Copy the citation into your bibliography, make any corrections necessary, and be done with that citation!

A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help

University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264