LibGuides: Violin: Research

Articles

Articles are great for research because they generally cover a very narrow topic in great detail. In addition, scholarly journal articles generally include a bibliography where you can find more resources on the same topic.

Journal Article Databases

Library databases provide citations for articles, book chapters, and more. Most articles/chapters focus on a narrow and specific topic, so they are great for deeper research. To get started:

Choose a database.
Search for keywords such as genres, topics, names of people, etc.
Limit your results by date, language, and more with the the left-hand menu on the results page.

Need more help?

See our Article help page for step-by-step instructions and videos to help you search databases and find full-text articles. And you can always ask a librarian for individual help.

Music Article Databases

Music Index Online
Article citations from over 700 music journals.
Music Periodicals Database
Article citations from over 400 music journals.
RILM
Citations for scholarly music and dance books, articles, dissertations, and more.
JSTOR
Full-text articles from almost 100 scholarly music, dance, and theatre journals, plus other subjects. Excludes recent years.

Books

History Books in the Allen Library (selections)

The Amadeus Book of the Violin by Walter Kolneder
Call Number: ML800 K64 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 2003

All aspects of the violin are covered: construction, history, and literature; violin playing and teaching; and violin virtuosos through the ages.
The Cambridge Companion to the Violin by Robin Stowell (Editor)
Call Number: ML800 C35 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 1992

Survey of the violin from its origins to the present day. Covers the instrument, repertoire, technique, pedagogy, folk and jazz traditions, historical performance, and more.
The Contemporary Violin by Patricia Strange & Allen Strange
Call Number: ML857 S77 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 2000

Examines extended violin performance techniques from the latter half of the 20th century, including options for the acoustic, modified, electric, and MIDI violin, with signal processing and computer-related techniques.

Find more history books

Browse by subject in the catalog, for example:
Violin
Violin > History
Violin music > History and criticism

Browse the shelves by call number:

Call Number	Topic
ML800	Violin history (general)
ML802 – ML846	Violin construction
ML850 – ML897	Violin music and playing

Performer Biographies in the Allen Library (selections)

Alma Rose by Richard Newman with Karen Kirtley
Call Number: ML418 R76 N48 2000 [Allen shelves]

The story of a violinist who saved the lives of many Jews who were members of her orchestra in Auschwitz.
Fritz Kreisler by Amy Biancolli
Call Number: ML418 K92 B53 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 2003

Portrait of the violinist and composer, examining important themes and events of his life and his views on politics and art as well as on music and musicians
The Great Masters of the Violin by Boris Schwarz
Call Number: ML398 S41 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 1983

A collection of short biographies of violin virtuosos including Tartini, Corelli, Vivaldi, Paganini, Kreisler, Heifetz, Milstein, and more.
My First 79 Years by Isaac Stern; Chaim Potok
Call Number: ML418 S84 S84 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 1999

In his autobiography, Stern shares both his personal and his professional artistic experiences.

Find more biographies

Search performer names in the catalog, for example:
Heifetz, Jascha
Joachim, Joseph
Menuhin, Yehudi
Paganini, Nicolo

Browse the shelves by call number:

Call Number	Topic
ML398	Collected string performer biographies (includes string ensembles)
ML418	Single string performer biographies

Reference

Reference resources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more.
They often provide a short overview of a topic, then point to more resources you can use for further research.

Music Reference Databases

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Essays about music from all parts of the world.
Grove/Oxford Music Online
Extensive music encyclopedia with articles, works lists, and citations.
Oxford Bibliographies - Music
Lists of resources for advanced research on many music subjects.

Reference Books in the Allen Library (selections)

North American Fiddle Music by Drew Beisswenger
Call Number: ML128 V79 B45 [Allen reference]

Publication Date: 2011

The first large-scale annotated bibliography and research guide on the fiddle traditions of the United States and Canada.
String Quartets by Mara Parker
Call Number: ML128 S9 P37 2011 [Allen reference]

An annotated bibliography of sources about the string quartet, including general references, histories, composers, performance, facsimiles and critical editions, and more.
The Violin by Mark Katz
Call Number: ML128 V79 K37 [Allen reference]

Publication Date: 2006

A comprehensive, though selective, guide to literature about all facets of the violin.

Find more reference books

See all violin reference books in the catalog:
String reference
Violin reference

Browse the Reference shelves by call number:

Call Number	Topic
ML102 V7	Violin dictionaries & encyclopedias (including violin makers)
ML128 S9	String bibliographies
ML128 V79	Violin bibliographies
ML404	Instrument makers

Suggest a Resource

Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!

Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (rudnick@hartford.edu).

Find Full Text Articles

Search eJournal Locator for the journal title:

Need help? See our article help page or ask a librarian.