Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Catalog
Mortensen Library Catalog
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: BF31 .E52 2016eb
Publication Date: 2016-05-11
This resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
Handbook of Critical Psychology by
Call Number: BF39.9 .H36 2015
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
This cutting-edge and comprehensive handbook values and reflects the diversity of approaches to critical psychology today, providing a definitive state-of-the-art account of the field and an opening to the lines of argument that will take it forward in the years to come. The individual chapters by leading and emerging scholars plot the development of a critical perspective on different elements of the host discipline of psychology. The Handbook of Critical Psychology represents a key resource for researchers and practitioners across all relevant disciplines.
Key Concepts in Sport Psychology by
Call Number: GV706.4 .K49 2012eb
Publication Date: 2011-11-09
This book provides a focused, accurate guide for students working within the dynamic field of sport psychology. The concise and authoritative entries have been selected by experienced teachers and researchers; each one defines, explains and develops a key topic in sport psychology acting as a springboard for further reading and debate. This is a stimulating and practical resource for students defined by the clarity of writing and relevant examples. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
Motivation and Cognitive Control by
Call Number: BF503 .M664 2016
Publication Date: 2015-12-18
This book summarizes our current state of understanding of the relationship between motivation and cognitive control, and serves as an essential reference for both students and researchers. This volume provides an up-to-date snapshot of the state of research in this exciting, expanding area. The contributors to the volume are internationally-renowned researchers that lead the field in conducting groundbreaking studies. Moreover, they represent a variety of research perspectives and traditions: cognitive psychology and neuroscience, animal learning, social, affective, and personality psychology, and development, lifespan, and aging studies.
Personality Disorders by
Call Number: RC473.P56 P47 2015
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
This ground breaking text offers a comprehensive and provocative tour of a field that is ripe for integration. Contributors who rank among the world’s most prestigious clinical and personality psychologists guide readers through the state of our knowledge of personality disorders, from conceptual and theoretical concerns to the practical problems faced by assessing clinicians. They address the advantages and disadvantages of categorical and dimensional approaches to diagnosing personality pathology used in the standard diagnostic manuals, as well as the hybrid model described in Section III of DSM-5.
Positive Psychology in Racial and Ethnic Minority Groups by
Call Number: RC455.4.E8 P67 2016
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
For the first time, leaders in the field have come together to provide a comprehensive reference that focuses specifically on how a culturally-informed approach to positive psychology can help capitalize on the strengths of racial minority groups and have a greater potential to positively impact their psychological well-being. Taking into account the rich and diverse cultural histories of ethnic groups, the information presented in this volume can help clinicians use positive psychology to inspire minorities to be effective agents in their environments and communities.
The Wiley Handbook of Developmental Psychology in Practice by
Call Number: BF713 .W553 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-16
An authoritative new work exploring the themes of communication and implementation of research within developmental psychology - a scientific field with extensive real world value in addressing problems faced by individuals, families and services. Brings together the insights of a stellar group of contributors with personal experience translating developmental psychology research into practice. Serves as an invaluable resource for developmental psychologists, practitioners working in the field of child development, and policymakers working on issues affecting children and families.
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad@H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
Log in to ILLiad@H
Browse for Books
Want to browse the shelves? Here are some call number areas:
Medicine: Neurosciences: RC 321-574
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264