Skip to Main Content

Percussion: Technique

Jump to: Recommended Resources | Discover More

Recommended Resources

General Technique Books in the Allen Library (selections)

The Percussion Instrument Owner's Handbook by Michael Paglairo
Call Number: ML1030 P34 2017 [Allen shelves]

Provides a roadmap for every step of the owning process from selecting and buying (or renting) to maintaining, repairing, modifying, upgrading, and reselling your instrument.
The Percussionists' Guide to Injury Treatment and Prevention by Darin "Dutch" Workman
Call Number: RC965 P46 W67 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 2006

Discusses anatomy, plus basic injury prevention and treatment for the percussionist, in each specific area of the body.

Drumset Technique Books in the Library (selections)

Time Functioning Patterns by Gary Chaffee
Call Number: MT662 C434 P3 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 1976

Includes materials dealing with rock cymbal ostinatos, jazz independence, and the new linear phrasing concept that Chaffee developed.

Percussion Keyboard Technique Books in the Library (selections)

Method of Movement for Marimba by Leigh Howard Stevens
Call Number: MT719.2 S74 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 1979

The most detailed text on the subject of four mallet playing. Covers grip, strokes, shifts, tone production, interval changes, efficient movement around the instrument.
Modern School for Xylophone, Marimba, Vibraphone by Morris Goldenberg
Call Number: MT719 G65 M6 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 1950

Studies, etudes, and excerpts of major orchestral repertoire for keyboard percussion instruments. The primary source for keyboard percussion players to learn technique and orchestral repertoire.
Two: A Collection of Concert Pieces for Two-Mallet Marimba Solo by Gene Koshinski; Benjamin Toth (Editor)
Call Number: MT719.6 K67 T86 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 2014

10 original solos, plus CD with recordings. Covers technique and performance practice for two-mallet keyboard percussion instruments.
Vibraphone Technique: Dampening and Pedaling by David Friedman
Call Number: MT719.3 F75 V5 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 1973

Studies and in depth discussions for the practicing percussionist to develop a technique enabling musical freedom essential to modern performance.

Snare Technique Books in the Library (selections)

Advanced Snare Drum Studies by Mitchell Peters
Call Number: MT662 P47 A3 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 1971

A collection of advanced studies for snare drum, with the emphasis on control, touch, phrasing and style.
Orchestral Repertoire for the Snare Drum by Raynor Carroll
Call Number: MT662.4 O73

Publication Date: 1997

Excerpts for snare drum, excellent for percussionists preparing for orchestra auditions.
Stick Control by George Lawrence Stone
Call Number: MT662 S786 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 1963

Often called the bible of drumming. Ideal for improving control, speed, flexibility, touch, rhythm, lightness, delicacy, power, endurance, preciseness of execution and muscular coordination, especially for the weak hand.

Timpani Technique Books in the Library (selections)

Beyond the Audition Screen by John Tafoya
Call Number: MT660.4 T34 B [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 2011

27 orchestral works with musical and technical options: edited dynamics, stickings, mallet recommendations, exercises, and instrument maintenance.
Etüden für Timpani by Richard Hochrainer
Call Number: MT660 H63 E7 v.1-3 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 1983

Studies intended to prepare timpani students for life in the orchestra. Focuses on rhythm, mallet choice, tempi, sound quality, roll quality, and more.
The Friese-Lepak timpani method by Alfred Friese and Alexander Lepak
Call Number: MT660 F91 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 1954

Each essential skill is covered: basic theory, technique and intonation. Also includes a large selection of standard symphonic timpani repertoire.
Orchestral Excerpts for Timpani by Randy Max
Call Number: MT660.4 M39 O7 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 2010

57 of the most-requested audition excerpts for timpani with comments and performance suggestions. Includes audio CD with excerpt recordings and 21 play-along practice tracks.

Discover More

Browse the Catalog

Browse by subject in the catalog, for example:

Marimba > Instruction and study
Marimba > Methods
Marimba > Studies and exercises

Snare drum > Instruction and study
Snare drum > Methods
Snare drum > Studies and exercises

Timpani > Instruction and study
Timpani > Methods
Timpani > Studies and exercises

Xylophone > Instruction and study
Xylophone > Methods
Xylophone > Studies and exercises

Browse the Shelves

There are many more technique books available in the library! Use these call numbers to find more:

Call Number	Topic
MT655	Percussion technique (general)
MT660	Timpani
MT662	Snare drum, drumset, etc.
MT710	Carillon, bells, etc.
MT719	Keyboard percussion instruments

Suggest a Resource

Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!

Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (rudnick@hartford.edu).

A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help

University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264