Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Percussion: Research

Articles

Articles are great for research because they generally cover a very narrow topic in great detail. In addition, scholarly journal articles generally include a bibliography where you can find more resources on the same topic.

Browse Professional Journals

Professional journals are a great place to learn from experts about the most recent developments in your field.
Search articles online or browse the Allen Library current periodicals (near the Allen entrance). See especially:

Journal Article Databases

thinkerLibrary databases provide citations for articles, book chapters, and more. Most articles/chapters focus on a narrow and specific topic, so they are great for deeper research. To get started:

  1. Choose a database.
  2. Search for keywords such as genres, topics, names of people, etc.
  3. Limit your results by date, language, and more with the the left-hand menu on the results page.

Need more help?

See our Article help page for step-by-step instructions and videos to help you search databases and find full-text articles. And you can always ask a librarian for individual help.

Music Article Databases

Books

History Books in the Allen Library (selections)

Find more history books

Browse by subject in the catalog, for example:

Percussion ensembles > History and criticism
Percussion instruments
Percussion music > History and criticism

Browse the shelves by call number:

Call Number Topic
ML1030 Percussion history (general)
ML1035 Drums
ML1036 Timpani
ML1039 Bells, carillon, etc.
ML1048 Keyboard percussion

Biographies in the Allen Library (selections)

Find more biographies

Search composer or performer names in the catalog, for example:
Cage, John
Krupa, Gene

Browse the shelves by call number:

Call Number Topic
ML410 Composer biographies
(includes composer-performers)
ML419 Performer biographies
(Percussion and more)

Reference

Reference resources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more.
They often provide a short overview of a topic, then point to more resources you can use for further research.

Music Reference Databases

Books in the Allen Library (selections)

Find more reference books

See all percussion reference books in the catalog:
Percussion reference

Browse the Reference shelves by call number:

Call Number Topic
ML102 P4 Percussion dictionaries & encyclopedias
ML128 P4 Percussion bibliographies

Suggest a Resource

Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!

Find Full Text Articles

Search eJournal Locator for the journal title:

 Journal Title:
 Format:


Need help? See our article help page or ask a librarian.

A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help

University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264