LibGuides: Oboe: Research

Articles

Articles are great for research because they generally cover a very narrow topic in great detail. In addition, scholarly journal articles generally include a bibliography where you can find more resources on the same topic.

Browse Professional Journals

Professional journals are a great place to learn from experts about the most recent developments in your field.
Search articles online or browse the Allen Library current periodicals (near the Allen entrance). See especially:

The Double Reed by International Double Reed Society
Call Number: ML1 D72

Available in print only.
International Musician by American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada
Available in print (last two years on current periodicals shelf) and online (2003 - present).
Symphony by American Symphony Orchestra League
Summer–Fall 2021 available free online. Other issues available in print only (Current Periodicals or Bound Periodicals, ML1 S98).

Journal Article Databases

Library databases provide citations for articles, book chapters, and more. Most articles/chapters focus on a narrow and specific topic, so they are great for deeper research. To get started:

Choose a database.
Search for keywords such as genres, topics, names of people, etc.
Limit your results by date, language, and more with the the left-hand menu on the results page.

Need more help?

See our Article help page for step-by-step instructions and videos to help you search databases and find full-text articles. And you can always ask a librarian for individual help.

Music Article Databases

Music Index Online
Article citations from over 700 music journals.
Music Periodicals Database
Article citations from over 400 music journals.
RILM
Citations for scholarly music and dance books, articles, dissertations, and more.
JSTOR
Full-text articles from almost 100 scholarly music, dance, and theatre journals, plus other subjects. Excludes recent years.

Books

History Books in the Allen Library (selections)

The New Winds of Change by Frank L. Battisti
Call Number: ML1311 B37 2018 [Allen shelves]

A thorough history of wind bands and ensembles, expanded with new information about literature, conferences, concerts and events from the 19th century through 2015.
The Oboe by Geoffrey Burgess; Bruce Haynes
Call Number: ML940 B87 O2 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 2003

Traces oboe history from its beginnings to the present time, discussing how and why it evolved, its music, and its most prominent. performers.

Find more history books

Browse by subject in the catalog, for example:
Oboe
Woodwind instruments

Browse the shelves by call number:

Call Number	Topic
ML930	Wind instrument history
ML931	Woodwind instrument history
ML940 – ML943	Oboe history
ML1100 – ML1165	Chamber music history
ML1200 – 1270	Orchestra history
ML1300 – ML1354	Band history

Performer Biographies in the Allen Library (selections)

Great Oboists on Music and Musicianship by Michele L. Fiala; Martin Schuring
Call Number: MT360 G743 2021 [Allen shelves]

26 leading oboists share their insights on the performance techniques, learning strategies, and career moves that propelled them to their current stature.
We Can't Always Play Waltzes by Daniel Pereira
Call Number: ML399 L83 P45 [Allen shelves]

Publication Date: 2016

American oboist Bert Lucarelli is interviewed about his life, work, teaching, the arts, and more.

Find more biographies

Search the catalog by subject: Oboe players

Browse the shelves by call number:

Call Number	Topic
ML410	Composer biographies
ML419	Performer biographies (oboe and other instruments)

Reference

Reference resources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more.
They often provide a short overview of a topic, then point to more resources you can use for further research.

Music Reference Databases

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Essays about music from all parts of the world.
Grove/Oxford Music Online
Extensive music encyclopedia with articles, works lists, and citations.
Oxford Bibliographies - Music
Lists of resources for advanced research on many music subjects.

Books in the Allen Library (selections)

Encyclopédie de la musique pour instruments à vent by Gérald Gorgerat
Call Number: ML102 I5 G v.1-3 [Allen reference]

Publication Date: 1955

Encyclopedia of the music for wind instruments.
Wind Ensemble Sourcebook and Biographical Guide by Marshall L. Stoneham; Jon A. Gillaspie; David Lindsey Clark
Call Number: ML128 W5 S76 [Allen reference]

Publication Date: 1997

Discusses many wind ensemble composers and works, and places the music in context: why it was written, where it was played, and how it influenced other genres.

Find more reference books

See all oboe reference books in the catalog:
Oboe reference
Wind reference

Browse the Reference shelves by call number:

Call Number	Topic
ML128 O12	Oboe bibliographies
ML128 W5	Wind bibliographies

Suggest a Resource

Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!

Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (rudnick@hartford.edu).

Find Full Text Articles

Search eJournal Locator for the journal title:

Need help? See our article help page or ask a librarian.