Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find a Specific Song/Show
Scores and Recordings in the Library
Usually, finding a musical in the catalog is easy! Here are some tips:
- Search the title of the show and limit the format to Printed Music, Sound Recordings, or Videos (depending on what you need).
- If you're looking for a libretto, add the word "libretto" to your search and limit the format to Books.
- If you need a particular song, search for the whole musical. Once you find it, flip through to find the song you need.
- Note: Some vocal scores and recordings have "selections" rather than all the songs from a show. Check the table of contents to see if it includes the song you need.
Once you find what you need in the catalog, use the call number to find it on the shelf.
Occasionally, musical songs are harder to find. If you can't find a particular song, it may be "hiding" in an anthology. Your friendly librarians know the tricks for finding these—just ask one of us and we'll be happy to help!
Guide to e-scores
Can't visit the library? Use this guide to find online score sites, then search for the piece you need.
Streaming Audio & Video
Search one of these library databases for the title of the show or song you need.
Naxos Music Library
Mainly classical music, but includes some musicals and operetta.
On The Boards
Streamed dance, theater, and music videos of full-length, high-quality performance films from international and US-based contemporary artists.
Some musical scores are available on the open web. Search one of these resources for the title of the show or song you need.
Discover More Songs/Shows
Anthologies in the Library (selections)
Anthology: A collection of musical works by different composers, published together.
Broadway Musicals Show by Show
Call Number: M1507 B76 v.1-7 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 1991
This anthology includes hundreds of well-known songs from significant musicals, organized in chronological order.
Reference Books in the Library
These books list hundreds of shows and/or songs. Some identify the voice type, range, and style of individual songs; others describe the songs or give background information on the show itself.
Once you find the song or show you want, use the tips above to search the catalog for a vocal score or recording.
Guide to e-books
Due to COVID-19, some books are currently available online. Use this guide to find e-book sites, then search for the book title you need.
The American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia by
Call Number: ML102 M88 H58 [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 1995
Over 1,800 songs from over 500 musicals. Each song is described and briefly analyzed. Includes index arranged by song title, show, authors, and performers.
American Song: The Complete Musical Theatre Companion by
Call Number: ML128 S6 B56 1996 v.1-2 [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 1996
Details on 4300 productions, from vaudeville, operetta, modern musical theatre, and more. Includes brief information on each show. See the song index in volume 2 to determine what show a particular song is from.
The New Broadway Song Companion by
Call Number: ML128 M78 D48 [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 2009
Lists songs from over 300 Broadway shows. Includes indexes for finding songs by voice type/song style, vocal arrangement, or composer/lyricist.
Streaming Audio/Video Databases
Use the browsing features in one of these library databases to discover new works.
Naxos Music Library
In the left menu, choose Categories > Operetta to see all operetta recordings.
On The Boards
From the top menu, choose Films, then halfway down that page choose Filter by Category to see only Music or Theater films.
Browse the Shelves
Browsing is a great way to discover new works if you don't have a specific show in mind!
Browse these areas to find new musicals:
|ML 48 – ML 54
||Librettos (musicals and operas)
||Musical vocal scores
||Musical VHS tapes
Notice that all these (except librettos) have "1508" in the call number? If you remember that number, you can find almost any musical in the library!
Suggest a Resource
Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264