Skip to Main Content
American Poetry by
Contains a collection of poetry that spans two centuries and provides a diverse point of view of American life. American Poetry offers a collection of 26 verses by our finest poets, all with their unique perspective on the land they loved and accompanied by remarkable paintings that enhance the meaning of the words. Here, beautifully illustrated, are such unforgettable works.
Call Number: PS586.3 .A46 2004
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
The Norton Introduction to Poetry by
It not only sharpens students' close-reading skills and deepens their appreciation for the emotional power of poetry, but also connects poetry to the larger world by providing a thorough introduction to poetry's authorial, cultural, and critical contexts.
Call Number: PN6101 .N6 2007
Publication Date: 2006-10-05
Poems, Poets, Poetry by
Written by a preeminent critic and legendary teacher, this text and anthology presents the incisive, practical methods of reading and writing that Helen Vendler has used for decades to demystify poetry for her students and introduce them to its artistry and pleasures.
Call Number: PR1175 .P6314 2002
Publication Date: 2002-01-11
Instructors across the country report that students do not necessarily see literature as relevant to their lives. They are sometimes totally new to poetry and are often intimidated by it. This is an enticing collection of poems from many time periods, cultures, and themes, with voices ranging from the traditional to the hottest contemporary poets, always mixing in plenty of quirky and humorous selections that students will enjoy. Editorial features such as the author's new sample close readings and thematic case studies offer students real help with reading, appreciating, and writing about literature. Poetry is a book designed to make students life-long readers of poetry.
Call Number: PN6101 .P525 2007
Publication Date: 2006-11-02
Poetry: a Survivor's Guide by
Poetry: A Survivor's Guide has earned high praise from students, teachers, and readers from around the globe for its playful sincerity and idiosyncratic humor and for its approach to a subject both loved and feared. Updated and expanded, including six new sections, the second edition probes a range of strategies for inspiring students and aspiring poets on the ways poetry relates to their own lives. These include the delights and pitfalls of individual meditation, the complications of identity and appropriation, and the uses and utility of poetry as a tool of social change. The second edition also includes a curated companion website for teachers, students, and aspiring poets that features poetry examples, writing prompts and exercises, and resources for publishing poetry. Online resources to accompany this book are available at: https://bloomsbury.pub/poetry-a-survivors-guide-2e.
Call Number: PN1031 .Y35 2022
Publication Date: 2022-09-22
Poetry Unbound by
It's become commonplace in contemporary culture for critics to proclaim the death of poetry. Poetry, they say, is no longer relevant to the modern world. This book rebuts claims that poetry has become a marginal art form, exploring how it has played a vibrant and culturally significant role by adapting to and shaping new media technologies in complex, unexpected, and powerful ways. Mass and nonprint media have not stolen poetry's audience, he contends, but have instead given people even more ways to experience poetry. Illuminating poetry's surprising multimedia history, Poetry Unbound offers a new paradigm for understanding poetry's still evolving place in American culture. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2020-04-28
World Poetry by
This volume contains more than 1600 poems drawn from dozens of languages and cultures, and spans a period of more than 4000 years from ancient Sumer and Egypt to the late twentieth century. It encompasses the many worlds of poetry, poetry of all styles, of all eras, of all tongues. While World Poetry includes a generous selection of the best English-language verse, it is designed to lay before the reader the best that all the world's cultures have to offer. More than eighty percent of the book is poetry originally written in languages other than English and translated by some of the finest talents working today, many of them brilliant poets in their own right.
Call Number: PN6101 .W517 1998
Publication Date: 2000-11-17
Search the Catalog
Mortensen Library Catalog
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad @ H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to the Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264