Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaucer Resources (New Chaucer Society)
Links to a high-quality selection of sites covering all aspects of Chaucer scholarship. Areas covered include criticism, his milieu, language, and biography.
Geoffrey Chaucer (Harvard University)
Everything needed for a fuller understanding of the Canterbury Tales: A Chaucer biography; timeline; influenced and influencing authors; literary subjects; the author's language; cultural/social/scientific environment of the times.
Internet Poetry Archive
Biography, bibliography, and full-text poems of selected contemporary poets worldwide.
Library of Congress Poet Laureate
The Library of Congress Poet Laureate website also resides on the Library of Congress website. Students are able to learn about the position of US Poet Laureate, about the current Poet Laureate, and their projects.
MLA: Modern Language Association
Site designed in the teaching, promotion and scholarship of Language studies.
Modern American Poetry (University of Illinois)
Provides multimedia materials to expand understanding of over 160 poets. Author sites may include a biography, historical background, drafts of their work, a poetry reading, a bibliography, excerpts of critical analyses, an interview, and more!
he National Council of Teachers of English has multiple resources for teachers who want to use poetry in their classroom. Included are interviews with Poets, books to consider adding to your collections, as well as lessons to use with students.
Searchable, full text of Shakespeare's works, with links to other Internet resources.
The Poetry Foundation
The Poetry Foundation is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience.
Not sure if you should trust a website?
Go to our research tutorial to get tips on finding and evaluating websites
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264