Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The American Heritage Guide to Contemporary Usage and Style
Authoritative survey of English usage, grammar, and style.
Electronic archive for papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, as well as portions of computer Science, Philosophy, Biology and other fields pertinent to the study of cognition.
Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics
Provides uniquely comprehensive and authoritative coverage of all aspects of sociolinguistics.
The Elements of Style (Strunk; Bartleby)
Full text of William Strunk's classic guide to proper usage.
Help for both students of English as a Second Language and their instructors. Lessons on grammar, pronunciations, business English and more. Lesson plans and ESL projects for faculty. Caution! British English!
How We Talk: American Regional English Today
Essays on Modern American usage of the English Language.
Introduction to the Philosophy of Language
In this textbook, Michael Morris offers a critical introduction to the central issues of the philosophy of language.
Key Concepts in Journalism Studies
Essential reading for students in journalism, and an invaluable reference tool for their professional careers.
Middle English Dictionary
This electronic version of the MED preserves all the details of the print MED, but goes far beyond this, by converting its contents into an enormous database, searchable in ways impossible within any print dictionary.
OWL (Online Writing Lab) at Purdue
This site provides strong guidance in writing career related documents including resumes, curriculum vitae (cv's) and cover letters.
Not sure if you should trust a website?
Go to our research tutorial to get tips on finding and evaluating websites
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264