Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Catalog
Mortensen Library Catalog
The Cambridge Companion to Creative Writing by
Call Number: PN189 .C29 2012
Publication Date: 2012-02-02
This book is a must for all students and teachers of creative writing, indeed for anyone who aspires to be a published writer. It engages with a complex art in an accessible manner, addressing concepts important to the rapidly growing field of creative writing, while maintaining a strong craft emphasis, analyzing exemplary models of writing and providing related writing exercises. Written by professional writers and teachers of writing, the chapters deal with specific genres or forms - ranging from the novel to new media - or with significant topics that explore the cutting edge state of creative writing internationally (including creative writing and science, contemporary publishing and new workshop approaches).
The Curious Researcher by
Call Number: LB2369 .B246 2012
Publication Date: 2011-06-21
Offering a wide variety of examples from student and professional writers, this guide shows that good research and lively writing do not have to be mutually exclusive. Students are encouraged to find ways to bring their writing to life, even though they are writing with "facts." A unique chronological organization sets up achievable writing goals while it provides week-by-week guidance through the research process. Full explanations of the technical aspects of writing and documenting source-based papers help students develop sound research and analysis skills. Includes coverage of MLA and APA styles.
The Elements of Style Illustrated by
Call Number: PE1408 .S772 2005
Publication Date: 2005-10-20
Every English-language writer knows Strunk and White's famous little writing manual, The Elements of Style. The addition of illustrations allows readers to experience the book's contents in a completely new way, making the whole learning experience more colorful and clear, as well as adding a whimsical element that compliments the subtly humorous tone of the prose. The Elements of Style Illustrated will come to be known as the definitive, must-have edition.
English Grammar for ESL Learners by
Call Number: PE1128 .S9774 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-05
As a beginning learner of English, you might find that grammar concepts such as indefinite articles, relative pronouns, the passive voice, or gerunds can be confusing. To go forward with your English skills, you need guidance through tricky grammar areas. This guide offers a complete overview of English grammar using concise, easy-to-understand language. It will increase your confidence writing and communicating in English. The contents will help you understand the different rules and elements of grammar, build your grammar skills with over 100 engaging exercises, broaden your knowledge with sentence rewrites and creative writing prompts, and test your overall comprehension with a review section.
MLA Handbook by
Call Number: LB2369 G53 2021 (Allen)
Publication Date: 2021-04-06
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more.
The Oxford English Dictionary by
Call Number: PE1625 .O87 1989 v.1-20
Publication Date: 1989-03-30
The Oxford English Dictionary is the ultimate authority on the usage and meaning of English words and phrases, and a fascinating guide to the evolution of our language. It traces the usage, meaning and history of words from 1150 AD to the present day. No dictionary of any language approaches the OED in thoroughness, authority, and wealth of linguistic information. The OED defines over half a million words, and includes almost 2.4 million illustrative quotations, providing an invaluable record of English throughout the centuries. The online edition can be found in this guide under the "Databases & Articles," page.
Writing Science in Plain English by
Call Number: T11 .G6814 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-24
Scientific writing is often dry, wordy, and difficult to understand. But writers from all scientific disciplines can learn to produce clear, concise prose by mastering just a few simple principles. This short, focused guide presents a dozen such principles based on what readers need in order to understand complex information, including concrete subjects, strong verbs, consistent terms, and organized paragraphs. The perfect companion for all who seek to write science effectively—undergraduate students working on research reports, established scientists writing articles and grant proposals, or agency employees working to follow the Plain Writing Act.
Browse for Books
Want to browse the shelves? Here are some call number areas:
Literature (General): PN
Authorship: PN 101-245
Technique. Literary composition, etc.: PN 172-239
Modern English: PE 1001-1693
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad@H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
Log in to ILLiad@H
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264