LibGuides: French Horn: Research

Articles

Articles are great for research because they generally cover a very narrow topic in great detail. In addition, scholarly journal articles generally include a bibliography where you can find more resources on the same topic.

Browse Professional Journals

Professional journals are a great place to learn from experts about the most recent developments in your field.
Search articles online or browse the Allen Library current periodicals (near the Allen entrance). See especially:

Historic Brass Society Journal
Available in print only.
The Horn Call
Available online only (2007-present).
International Musician by American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada
Available in print (last two years on current periodicals shelf) and online (2003 - present).
Symphony by American Symphony Orchestra League
Summer–Fall 2021 available free online. Other issues available in print only (Current Periodicals or Bound Periodicals, ML1 S98).

Journal Article Databases

Library databases provide citations for articles, book chapters, and more. Most articles/chapters focus on a narrow and specific topic, so they are great for deeper research. To get started:

Choose a database.
Search for keywords such as genres, topics, names of people, etc.
Limit your results by date, language, and more with the the left-hand menu on the results page.

Need more help?

See our Article help page for step-by-step instructions and videos to help you search databases and find full-text articles. And you can always ask a librarian for individual help.

Music Article Databases

Music Index Online This link opens in a new window
Article citations from over 700 music journals.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Article citations from over 400 music journals.
RILM This link opens in a new window
Citations for scholarly music and dance books, articles, dissertations, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from almost 100 scholarly music, dance, and theatre journals, plus other subjects. Excludes recent years.

Books

History Books in the Allen Library (selections)

The Early Horn by John Humphries
Call Number: ML955 H86 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2000
A historical account of the instrument's development during the 18th and 19th centuries, plus a practical guide to playing techniques and principles of interpretation.
Horn by Barry Tuckwell
Call Number: ML955 T84 H6 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2003
Tuckwell, one of the world's leading horn virtuosos, combines a soloist's experience, an orchestral player's inside knowledge, and a conductor's broad view of the horn and its music.
Valved Brass by Christian Ahrens
Call Number: ML933 A37 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2008
Traces social and aesthetic issues related to the early use of valved brass instruments in the realms of art, military, and folk musics.

Find more history books

Browse by subject in the catalog, for example:
Horn (musical instrument)
Brass instruments

Browse the shelves by call number:

Call Number	Topic
ML933	Brass instrument history
ML955 – ML958	Horn history
ML1100 – ML1165	Chamber music history
ML1200 – ML1270	Orchestra music history

Performer Biographies in the Allen Library (selections)

Dennis Brain by Stephen Pettitt
Call Number: ML419 B81 P [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 1976
Dennis Brain is one of the greatest horn players in history, and helped rescue the horn from obscurity.
An Orchestra Musician's Odyssey by Milan Yancich
Call Number: ML419 Y35 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 1995
An autobiographical account of a French Hornist's experiences with many of the great musicians of this century. Some fifty famous and not-so-famous conductors are candidly assessed.
Twentieth-Century Brass Soloists by Michael Meckna
Call Number: ML399 M43 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 1994
Analyzes and celebrates nearly 100 brass soloists whose genius, technique, and style have combined to produce unforgettable moments in music.

Find more biographies

Search performer names in the catalog, for example:
Schuller, Gunther

Browse the shelves by call number:

Call Number	Topic
ML398	Collected performer biographies (includes ensembles)
ML419	Instrument performer biographies (includes horn)

Reference

Reference resources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more.
They often provide a short overview of a topic, then point to more resources you can use for further research.

Free Online Resources

The Brass Band Bibliography
List of almost 12,000 books, music, and other resources related to brass bands and instruments. Click the link near the top of the page to open the bibliography (PDF). See also the Distaff Brass Band Bibliography for just the resources about female players.

Music Reference Databases

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
Essays about music from all parts of the world.
Grove/Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Extensive music encyclopedia with articles, works lists, and citations.
Oxford Bibliographies - Music This link opens in a new window
Lists of resources for advanced research on many music subjects.

Books in the Allen Library (selections)

Brass Bibliography by Mark J. Fasman
Call Number: ML128 B8 F3 [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 1990
Lists more than 6000 sources on the history, literature, pedagogy, performance, & acoustics of brass instruments.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Brass Instruments by Trevor Herbert, John Wallace, Arnold Myers (Editors)
Call Number: ML128 B8 C35 2019 [Allen reference]
Guide to the design, manufacture, performance, and history of brass musical instruments in classical and popular music, sacred rituals, jazz, and military bands.

See all tuba reference books in the catalog:
Brass reference
Horn reference

Browse the Reference shelves by call number:

Call Number	Topic
ML128 B8	Brass bibliographies
ML128 H8	Horn bibliographies

Suggest a Resource

Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!

Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (rudnick@hartford.edu).