Black Lives Matter in US Schools
Winner of the 2023 Outstanding Book Award presented by the Division B of the American Educational Research Association Black Lives Matter in US Schools critically examines the relationship between schooling and sociocultural abolitionist movements such as #BlackLivesMatter. Aligning with a long history of education scholars who have insisted on the enmeshed nature of schools and society, the book addresses the role of various forms of curricula that perpetuate anti-Blackness while simultaneously shaping Black ways of being, knowing, and doing. While its focus tends toward issues of normalized violence, Black Lives Matter in US Schools is equally concerned with possibilities for justice stemming from curricular change and affects like hope and love that are central to radical acts of resistance to oppression. Themes range from critical literacies to IQ tests, from Afro-surrealism to historiography, as the book strategically tacks between traditional forms of qualitative and quantitative research and more personal narratives. Black Lives Matter in US Schools speaks powerfully against the continued onslaught of inequities in schools and their communities, working to create space for forms of learning that are responsible to and for Black lives.
Exploring Inclusive and Equitable Pedagogies
by
Inclusive and equity-minded pedagogy is inspired by a rich array of theories including Black feminist thought, critical race theory, cultural humility, cultural competence, disabilities studies, universal design for learning, and critical information literacy. When we base our instruction on inclusive and equitable pedagogies, we endeavor to connect authentically with students as well as to connect classroom learning to the context of their lives. We share power with students, centering them and their varied learning preferences, and strive to create a culture of care, empathy, and humility both in and out of the classroom. When we clearly share our objectives and expectations for a learning experience, students may better understand us and the learning context we aspire to create. In Exploring Inclusive & Equitable Pedagogies: Creating Space for All Learners, seven thorough sections across two volumes examine: Anti-Racist Approaches Intentional Information Literacy Engendering Care and Empathy Community Building Universal Design for Learning: An Important Benchmark Instructor Identity and Positionality Professional Development Chapters cover topics including dismantling, reexamining, and reconstructing notions of authority in information literacy instruction; teaching technology inclusively; using primary sources to research queer and feminist histories; cocreating knowledge practices with students; prioritizing accessibility in synchronous and asynchronous learning environments; cultural humility, funds of knowledge, and information literacy instruction with first-generation students; designing and managing inclusive group projects; and much more. To become the instructors our students need, we must adopt the mindsets and develop the underlying skills to enact inclusive and equitable teaching and learning. Exploring Inclusive & Equitable Pedagogies offers reflections, practices, and models that deepen our collective understanding of equitable and inclusive theories and practices and present new grounding for both our individual teaching and our instruction programs.
A Guide to High-Stakes Standardized Testing in the United States: A Historical Overview
by
Introduction to Educational Research
by
This Third Editionof Craig Mertler's practical text helps readers every step of the way as they plan and execute their first educational research project. Offering balanced coverage of qualitative and quantitative methods, an emphasis on ethics, and a wealth of new examples and concrete applications, the new edition continues to use conversational, nontechnical language to help students clearly understand and apply research concepts, principles, procedures, and terminology. Expanded coverage of foundations of research, an increased focus on integrating qualitative and quantitative research, and updated coverage of research questions and the tools of qualitative research bring the book thoroughly up-to-date, while streamlined coverage of statistics shows students how to do quantitative analysis in a straightforward way.
Public Education
by
In this important collection, eminent education scholars and practitioners remind us that our nation's system of free universal public education is under attack, putting our very democracy in jeopardy. Over and above preparing students for employability, American schools must prepare our youth to be informed citizens and active, constructive participants in the democratic process. These essayists, criticizing as well as lauding our educational system, believe that such a goal is best accomplished through a high-quality, public, and free system of schooling designed to serve all our children without regard to race, religion, gender, LGBTQ+ identity, (dis)ability, social class, citizenship status, or language. In the 100th anniversary year of the Horace Mann League, these thought leaders in education take stock of enduring principles, current dilemmas, and important forward directions. With profiteers growing in numbers and seeking to take advantage of systemic breakdowns, this book will serve as a rousing defense of our public schools for our nation's educators, parents, school board members, and politicians. Book Features: Reminds all Americans of the essential roles that schools serve in contemporary society, beyond simply instilling a prescribed curriculum. Presents a counterpoint to those who promote private or charter schooling at the expense of genuine public schools. Paints a complex and multi-faceted portrait of our public education system and provides a set of diverse and provocative remedies for many pressing contemporary problems of public schooling.
Developmentalism in Early Childhood and Middle Grades Education
by
In this book, the contributors challenge dominant discourses and practices in the fields of early childhood and middle grades education that are based on the last century's grand developmental theories.
Elementary Education
by
A thorough overview of elementary education in the United States, spanning its history, foundations, curriculum models, technology, assessment, and special programs. Elementary Education: A Reference Handbook takes readers on an all-inclusive journey through the history and current status of elementary education in America. The handbook first examines the historical, philosophical, social, and cultural foundations of elementary education. It then delves into the fascinating topic of how children learn, including racial identity formation, culturally differing cognitive thinking styles, and language developments. A critical investigation of issues relating to the curriculum reveals its purpose, types, and models, weighing the impact of technology and providing a historical review of key subjects, from language arts to physical education. Are the results of standardized testing and high-stakes testing realistic and fair? This handbook explores these and other key questions in a detailed discussion of assessment and evaluation methods.
Launching Learners in Science, PreK-5
by
"Expertly describes how educators can plan a science curriculum that facilitates primary students′ understanding, skills, and development in science, preparing them for careers requiring any level of scientific knowledge and giving them science literacy to make decisions that benefit society and the world."--Robert D. Sweetland, Professor, Wayne State College Design science instruction that helps develop enthusiastic young minds while meeting national standards! Teaching science means doing science and involves three elements: knowing content, knowing children, and teachers knowing themselves as teachers and learners. Kerry C. Williams and George E. Veomett describe principles and requirements that reflect National Science Education Standards for the active learning of science. They identify key ingredients for primary students and their development as young scientists. This resource is linked to research on cognitive and neural development and motivational theory from the work of Piaget and Vygotsky. Teachers inexperienced in science will discover new ways to think about science while they develop lessons that are rich, fun, and authentic for themselves and their students. All educators will find examples, questions, stories, and thought-provoking ideas to give students a strong start in science achievement, plus: Six key elements to build into science instruction: observing, representing, organizing, patterning and questioning, experimenting, and sharing How-to′s for incorporating inquiry, workshops, centers, and projects in primary and elementary classrooms A four-step system--choice, planning, doing, reviewing--that helps promote learning in science and across all subjects Launching Learners in Science, PreK-5 helps educators teach science in a way that will expand their own confidence and let them make a lasting difference in children′s lives!
Praxis II Elementary Education: Applied Content Knowledge for Teaching Exam, Flashcard Study System
by
Success for All
by
Success for All is a comprehensive reform model for elementary school that combines state-of-the-art curriculum, research-based instructional methods, assessments, and professional development with one-to-one tutoring, extensive family support services, and other strategies to ensure that every child is successful in the early grades and then builds on that success throughout the elementary years. Started in 1987, it is the most widely used of all reform designs. It is currently in about 1800 schools serving more than a million U.S. children, mostly in high-poverty schools. It is also the most extensively researched comprehensive reform program, with two dozen evaluations carried out in eight research institutions. Success for All: Research and Reform in Elementary Education is the first edited volume presenting research on Success for All in the U.S. and in five other countries for which the program has been adapted. This book presents a description of Success for All, an overall summary of all achievement studies, reviews of research, original presentations of new research, and discussions of the impacts and the implications of this research and dissemination for educational policy and practice in many arenas.
The Almanac of American Education 2018
by
The Almanac of American Education helps users understand and compare the quality of education at the national, state, and county levels. Compiled from official U.S. government sources, the book contains historical and current data, insightful analysis, and useful graphs that provide compelling insights into the state of education in America. The Almanac provides national coverage of school enrollment and educational attainment, looking at American education from a variety of different angles. It is organized into three sections: Part A--National Education Statistics; Part B--Region and State Education Statistics; and Part C--County Education Statistics. The Almanac's contents and coverage allow users to answer--and ask--important questions about education, including: - What are the nationwide trends in earnings by educational attainment level? - Is the earnings gap between high school graduates and college graduates growing or shrinking? - What is the average cost to attend college? - Which states have the highest and lowest high school dropout rates? - How do unemployment rates differ by educational attainment? - What is the correlation between family income and kindergarten and preschool enrollment?
The Capability Approach and Early Childhood Education Curricula
by
This book explores the Capability Approach (CA) as an alternative critical lens through which to regard early childhood education (ECE) curricula. The CA framework is a counter narrative to the narrow instrumentalism that reduces education to a mere process of academic skills acquisition for a future workplace. Primarily the book draws on the example of the Greek case. Criticizing the «bit role» that the front-line implementers play in the curriculum design and planning procedure it argues that efficient curriculum development can only occur when a zymosis between the pedagogues' beliefs, practical experience, and theoretical knowledge is accomplished. Evidence shows that beliefs define the educators' practices into the pedagogical context. The issues discussed are unlikely to be confined to this country alone and will have resonances on other contexts.
Educators Resource Guide, 2019/20
by
Educators Resource Directory is designed to provide both educators and education professionals with immediate access to a unique compilation of over 6,500 educational resources and over 130 tables and charts of education statistics and rankings. It would take many hours of searching through multiple resources to uncover all the information presented in this one, easy-to-use volume.
Growing Child Intellect
by
This book began as a deep discussion among administrators, teachers, researchers, teacher educators, and educational consultants concerned about the critical reduction of play, engaged learning opportunities, and intellectually stimulating experiences in classrooms for toddlers through the primary grades. This group made a pact to organize and stand up for engaged learning by creating a comprehensive, research-based defense that they call The Manifesto. In Growing Child Intellect, this panel of experts pulls together the research, stories, and lessons learned from using the Project Approach in a variety of settings. Readers are invited to dive deeply with them into the world of project work, beginning with the neuroscience foundation, through the research in the field, and on to the challenges and successes. Book Features: Provides a strong review of research on the benefits of the Project Approach. Explains research on the development of intellect from Mind Brain Education Science. Includes extensive examples of intellectually stimulating classrooms and learning experiences across diverse settings. Shows how to bring engaging experiences into classrooms while still meeting goals for required content and standards. Explains what each person can do, no matter position or program, to nurture children's intellectual development. Provides practical advice for overcoming common challenges to implementing project work. Offers a short Declaration of Beliefs about engaged learning for easy sharing "Voices from the Field" projects: The Path Project: Following Children's Lead (pre-K) Powerline Project (1st grade) Reptile Project: Including Everyone (kindergarten) Roots of Intellectual Development: The Construction Project (toddler-pre-K program) Administrator's Story: Bringing Project Work to a Charter School
Handbook of Early Childhood Teacher Education
by
This handbook synthesizes both contemporary research and best practices in early childhood teacher education, a unique segment of teacher education defined by its focus on child development, the role of the family, and support for all learners. The first volume of its kind, the Handbook of Early Childhood Teacher Education provides comprehensive coverage on key topics in the field, including the history of early childhood teacher education programs, models for preparing early childhood educators, pedagogical approaches to supporting diverse learners, and contemporary influences on this quickly expanding area of study. Appropriate for early childhood teacher educators as well as both pre- and in-service teachers working with children from birth through 8, this handbook articulates the unique features of early childhood teacher education, highlighting the strengths and limitations of current practice as based in empirical research. It concludes by charting future directions for research with an aim to improve the preparation of early childhood educators.
The Hidden History of Early Childhood Education
by
The Hidden History of Early Childhood Education provides an understandable and manageable exploration of the history of early childhood education in the United States. Covering historical, philosophical, and sociological underpinnings that reach from the 1800s to today, contributors explore groups and topics that have traditionally been marginalized or ignored in early childhood education literature. Chapters include topics such as home-schooling, early childhood education in Japanese-American internment camps, James "Jimmy" Hymes, the Eisenhower legacy, Constance Kamii, and African-American leaders of the field. This engaging book examines a range of new primary sources to be shared with the field for the first time, including personal narratives, interviews, and letters. The Hidden History of Early Childhood Education is a valuable resource for every early childhood education scholar, student, and practitioner.
So Much More Than the ABCs
by
The foundation for success in learning to read and write begins in infancy As early childhood professionals, we have both the opportunity and the privilege to shape the progress young children make in acquiring the literacy skills, oral language skills, and background knowledge vital to their later success in learning to read and write. By engaging infants, toddlers, and preschoolers in experiences that foster oral language and content knowledge, literacy skills, and cognitive ability,we build a foundation for children's later academic success. Promoting children's desire to read and write is as important as helping children develop the necessary understandings and skills essential for learning how to read and write. Without motivation, children will read and write relatively little and only what and when they must. This book addresses four main points: 1. What children need to learn in these early years 2. The strategies that teachers can use to help children acquire these foundations 3. The features of emergent literacy and language understandings and skills 4. How to design the physical environment in early childhood classrooms to support language and literacy learning This book will help early childhood professionals and families support young children in acquiring the understandings, knowledge, and skills needed for later success in learning to read and write.
Teaching STEM in the Preschool Classroom
by
This book is designed to build educators' confidence and competence so they can bring STEM to life with young children. The authors encourage pre-K teachers to discover the value of engaging preschoolers in scientific inquiry, technological explorations, engineering challenges, and math experiences based on learning trajectories. They explain the big ideas in STEM, emphasizing teaching strategies that support these activities (such as language-rich STEM interactions), and describe ways to integrate concepts across disciplines. The text features research-based resources, examples of field-tested activities, and highlights from the classroom. Drawing from a professional development model that was developed with funding from the National Science Foundation, this book is an essential resource for anyone who wants to support preschool children to be STEM thinkers and doers. Book Features: An introduction to current thinking in early STEM teaching and learning. Best practice strategies for including STEM in the pre-K classroom. An in-depth look at the key concepts in each STEM area, including short activity descriptions, illustrations, and explanations. Resources and models co-developed with educators and used in successful professional development. Testimonials from educators explaining how the model connects with their curriculum.
Voices of Early Childhood Educators
by
Voices of Early Childhood Educators presents powerful, living stories of early childhood students and practitioners. Susan Bernheimer clearly shows the importance of their stories for understanding the challenges now facing our field, including valuable insights into new forms of resilience and development. Bernheimer invites college students and their instructors into an eye-opening journey with early childhood professionals today.
Children with Disabilities
by
Explore what's new in the new edition Trusted for four decades by university faculty and relied on by thousands of professionals from diverse fields, Children with Disabilities is the gold-standard text on working effectively with children and families. Now this authoritative resource is in its eighth edition, enhanced with new chapters on critical topics, the latest evidence-based practices, updated instructor materials, and guidance on working with a wide range of professionals to address every aspect of child health and well-being. Spearheaded by senior editor Mark Batshaw, M.D., Chief Academic Officer at Children's National Health System, this new edition is an unparalleled compendium of information about developmental, clinical, family, education, and intervention issues, from birth through adolescence. Every chapter has been meticulously peer-reviewed, and content has been updated throughout to reflect important new research and developments in diverse fields. Comprehensive coverage of contemporary issues makes this volume an indispensable reference for practicing professionals, and the student-friendly features and multimedia instructor materials make it the ultimate textbook for courses on disability. A treasury of essential knowledge from a who's who of today's leading experts and innovators, Children with Disabilities is a cornerstone resource that professionals will use year after year to support their important work and ensure that every child and family thrives. WHAT'S NEW Expanded focus on interdisciplinary care, including practical guidance on how professionals from different fields can effectively collaborateNew chapters on key topics: sleep disorders, assessment of physical disabilities, the senses, rehabilitative services, interdisciplinary care, the role of medication, and the effect of health care disparities on child outcomesNew Evidence-Based Practice boxes throughout the text, for easy review of recent studies and recommended practices Updated nomenclature based on new developments in the field and recommendations from respected organizations STUDENT-FRIENDLY FEATURES: Students will benefit from chapter overviews, a helpful glossary, case studies that bring key concepts to life, thought questions, a test bank with more than 200 questions for faculty members, resource lists for further reading, and 200+ downloadable illustrations. And with the complete package of multimedia instructor materials, instructors will use this textbook effectively in their courses and prepare students for years of successful practice. Explore what's new in the new edition
Handbook of Special Education
by
The purpose of the Handbook of Special Education is to help profile and bring greater clarity to the already sprawling and continuously expanding field of special education. To ensure consistency across the volume, chapter authors review and integrate existing research, identify strengths and weaknesses, note gaps in the literature, and discuss implications for practice and future research. The second edition has been fully updated throughout to take into account recent changes to federal laws as well as the most current academic research, and an entirely new section has been added on research methods in special education.
Special Education: A Reference Book for Policy and Curriculum Development
by
Special Educational Needs and Disability: the Basics
by
Special Educational Needs and Disability: The Basics provides an engaging and comprehensive overview of special educational, and additional support, needs in education contexts in the UK. The third edition of this bestselling publication covers the historical development of special provision and national policy-making, and summarises current and proposed legislation and statutory guidance across England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, examining the fundamental principles of the field from policy to practice. Additional focus is given to recent legislation in England extending the age range of young people identified as experiencing difficulties from birth to 25 years, and the implications this has for practice. Fully updated to incorporate recent research evidence, this indispensable book covers essential features of policy and practice that teachers need to consider in and outside of the classroom, including: the identification and assessment of young people's special or additional learning and behaviour needs, and/or disabilities approaches to planning in order to meet special or additional learning needs of children and young people ways to address barriers to learning and behaviour associated with a variety of difficulties statutory guidance outlined in the Codes of Practice in England (DfE, 2015), Scotland (2010), Wales (2004) and Northern Ireland (1998) special educational, or additional support, needs provision and the wider children's workforce implications of disability legislation across the UK This is an ideal starting point for all those with questions about what constitutes special educational, or additional support, needs and disability and how to support those children and young people who experience such needs. It is essential reading for trainee and practising teachers, policy-makers and all those working with young people and their families.
Special Education in Contemporary Society
by
2015 Recipient of the Textbook Excellence Award from the Text and Academic Authors Association (TAA) The Sixth Edition of Richard Gargiulo's well-respected Special Education in Contemporary Society: An Introduction to Exceptionality offers a comprehensive, engaging, and easy-to-read introduction to special education. Grounded in research and updated to reflect the most current thinking and standards of the field, the book provides students with the skills and knowledge to become successful teachers. Richard Gargiulo and new co-author Emily Bouck encourage a deep awareness and understanding of the human side of special education. Their book provides students a rare look into the lives of exceptional students and their families, as well as the teachers that work with exceptional persons throughout their lives. The new edition maintains the broad context and research focus for which the book is known, while expanding on current trends and contemporary issues to better serve both pre-service and in-service teachers of exceptional individuals. The text is organized into two distinct parts to offer students a truly comprehensive and humane understanding of exceptionality. In Part I, readers are provided strong foundational perspective on broad topics that affect all individuals with an exceptionality. In Part II, the authors engage students with thorough examinations of individual exceptionalities, and discuss historical, personal, and educational details of each exceptionality as it affects a person across the lifespan.
The Special Education Toolbox
by
The world of special education can sometimes feel like a confusing place to novice teachers and families; however, The Special Education Toolbox: Supporting Exceptional Teachers, Students and Families is a primer that everyone can use to become an expert in their own right. Beginning with a brief walk through special education history and including the basics of assessment and IEP writing, this book considers student success from a variety of perspectives to include the role of the paraprofessional, the home-school connection, and transition planning to name just a few. The Special Education Toolbox will easily be one of the most used books on the shelf in any office, classroom, or home.
Strength-Based Approaches to Educating All Learners with Disabilities
by
Leading scholar Michael Wehmeyer provides a cogent but accessible account of the evolution of special education. Offering a compelling vision of where the field should be headed in the next decade, he examines the big ideas that can improve outcomes for learners with disabilities including the importance of creating personalizable education.
Bringing Montessori to America
by
2016 Choice Outstanding Academic Title! Bringing Montessori to America traces in engrossing detail one of the most fascinating partnerships in the history of American education--that between Maria Montessori and S. S. McClure, from their first meeting in 1910 until their final acrimonious dispute in 1915. Born on the Adriatic, Montessori first entered the world stage in 1906 as the innovator of a revolutionary teaching method that creates an environment where children learn at their own pace and initiate skills like reading and writing in a spontaneous way. As her school in Rome swiftly attracted attention, curiosity, and followers, Montessori recruited disciples whom she immersed in a rigorous and detailed teacher-training regimen of her own creation. McClure was an Irish-born media baron of America's Gilded Age, best known as the founder and publisher of McClure's Magazine. Against the backdrop of Theodore Roosevelt's Bull Moose insurgency, the brilliant and mercurial McClure used his flagship publication as a vehicle to advance Progressive Party causes. After meeting in 1910, McClure and Montessori embarked on a five-year collaboration to introduce Montessori's innovative teaching style in the United States. Gerald and Patricia Gutek trace the dramatic arc of the partnership between the Italian teacher and American publisher united by a vision of educational change in the United States. After her triumphal lecture tour in 1913, Montessori, secure in her trust of her American partner, gave McClure her power of attorney and returned to Italy. The surge in popularity of Montessori education in America, however, deeply concerned Montessori, who had heretofore exerted total control over her method, apparatus, schools, and teacher training. The American entrepreneurial spirit, along with a desire to disseminate the Montessori method quickly, led to major conflicts between the Italian educator and American businesspeople, particularly McClure. Feeling betrayed, Montessori ended her relationship with her erstwhile collaborator. Gutek and Gutek describe the fascinating story of this first wave of Montessori education in the United States, which did not sustain itself during Montessori's lifetime. It would not be until the 1950s that Montessori education was revived with the successful establishment of Montessori academies throughout the United States.
The Child Is the Teacher
by
A fresh, comprehensive biography of the pioneering educator and activist who changed the way we look at children's minds, from the author of Oriana Fallaci. Born in 1870 in Chiaravalle, Italy, Maria Montessori would grow up to embody almost every trait men of her era detested in the fairer sex. She was self-confident, strong-willed, and had a fiery temper at a time when women were supposed to be soft and pliable. She studied until she became a doctor at a time when female graduates in Italy provoked outright scandal. She never wanted to marry or have children--the accepted destiny for all women of her milieu in late nineteenth-century bourgeois Rome--and when she became pregnant by a colleague of hers, she gave up her son to continue pursuing her career. At around age thirty, Montessori was struck by the condition of children in the slums of Rome's San Lorenzo neighborhood, and realized what she wanted to do with her life: change the school, and therefore the world, through a new approach to the child's mind. In spite of the resistance she faced from all sides--scientists accused her of being too mystical, and the clergy of being too scientific, traditionalists of giving children too much freedom, and anarchists of giving them too much structure--she would garner acclaim and establish the influential Montessori method, which is now practiced throughout the world. A thorough, nuanced portrait of this often controversial woman, The Child Is the Teacher is the first biographical work on Maria Montessori written by an author who is not a member of the Montessori movement, but who has been granted access to original letters, diaries, notes, and texts written by Montessori herself, including an array of previously unpublished material.
Child of the World
by
The word "Montessori" is used today to describe schools that sometimes have little to do with authentic Montessori practices. In this book the author, who has almost fifty years of AMI Montessori teaching and consulting experience, briefly presents authentic Montessori practices for ages 3-6 (the primary class), ages 6-12 (the elementary class), and ages 12-18. There are details for preparing the Montessori learning environment and for using these ideas in the home. This is not by any means a Montessori course but a valuable introduction to real Montessori and an inspiration for learning more. "Stephenson's volume is a wonderful resource for parents seeking thoughtful, sound advice on raising well-grounded children in a chaotic world. Presenting Montessori principles in clear and eloquent prose, Stephenson's legacy will be a tremendous service to generations of parents to come."-Angeline Lillard, PhD, Professor of Psychology, U. of Virginia, author of "Montessori, The Science behind the Genius"
Montessori Learning in the 21st Century
by
This book fills a growing demand for contemporary books on Montessori education and how it applies to childhood learning and education in the 21st Century. Dr. Maria Montessori developed her theories and methods for educating young people more than a hundred years ago. Today, much of Dr. Montessori's empirical findings on how the childhood brain develops and works has now been proven accurate by recent neurological/ psychological studies on childhood learning. M. Shannon Helfrich shares many experiences from her nearly 40 years as a Montessori teacher and teacher's trainer to help parents and Montessori teachers understand the factors that influence understanding and learning for children throughout their years of development. In a lay person's terms, the author explains how the brain develops and why interaction with the environment is essential at specific points in a child's development. She includes diagrams and photographs throughout the book. The author also links Montessori's findings with the latest neuropsychological research, weaving back and forth between the centuries, making a strong case for the ongoing viability of a Montessori education in this brave new world. Helfrich offers many anecdotes from classroom experiences with children that support these findings. In the beginning of her book, Helfrich asserts that Dr. Montessori was one of the great thinkers in the 20th century who changed the understanding of a child's nature regardless of race, class or culture, and ultimately, an evolved understanding of our humanness. This book confirms Dr. Montessori's pivotal role in the history of childhood education internationally.
The Montessori Method - Scientific Pedagogy as Applied to Child Education
by
Dynamics of Effective Secondary Teaching
by
Integrating theory and research with current classroom practice, "Dynamics of Effective Secondary Teaching," 6th edition, helps future secondary teachers make informed instructional, curricular, management, and assessment decisions. Realistic scenarios, numerous examples and illustrations from all subject areas, classroom observation forms, sample lesson plans, and valuable websites are what make this text indispensable, providing the preservice teacher with a direct link to classroom practice.
Protocols in the Classroom
by
For nearly two decades, Looking Together at Student Work and The Power of Protocols have sustained educators in their professional learning. Protocols in the Classroom expands the scope of those books from teachers' professional learning to include students' learning, providing teachers with the tools they need to use discussion protocols to support students in developing crucial skills and habits as readers, writers, critical thinkers, and active participants within the classroom community. For each protocol the authors provide a clear set of steps, tips for teachers and students in facilitating the protocol, and a story of a teacher using the protocol with students. The book is filled with resources for getting started using protocols with students, as well as for deepening the use of protocols over time. It also relates protocols to other strategies for supporting students' learning, including Accountable Talk, Thinking Routines, and Socratic seminars. The authors describe how protocols contribute to a schoolwide culture of discussion, inquiry, and reflection.
A Richer, Brighter Vision for American High Schools
by
In today's high schools, education is often reduced to a means of achieving financial security, leading to an overemphasis on quantifiable measures of performance. This approach encourages academically talented students to focus on test scores and rankings rather than intellectual enrichment, and discourages students with non-academic talents from pursuing them. A Richer, Brighter Vision for American High Schools advocates instead a unifying educational aim of producing better adults, which would encompass all aspects of students' lives: intellectual, physical, moral, spiritual, social, vocational, aesthetic, and civic. Nel Noddings offers suggestions to improve high schools by increasing collegiality among students and faculty, enriching curricula with interdisciplinary themes, renewing vocational education programs, addressing parenting and homemaking, and professionalizing the teaching force. This thought-provoking book will act as an important guide for teachers, teacher educators, administrators, and policy makers.
Secondary and Middle School Methods, MyLabSchool Edition
by
Discusses specific teaching methodologies to help prospective teachers become competent professionals. This book includes a discussion that addresses the developmental approach, considering various aspects of adolescent development affecting learning on the part of the student and instruction on the part of the teacher.
Teaching and Learning in Middle and Secondary Schools
by
For undergraduate and graduate courses in Middle and Secondary Methods. Hoping to promote teacher excellence and involve teachers in school improvement, this author proffers the learning community approach as a model for how schools can best educate students. Edwards suggests that education's fundamental problems can be solved through the learning communities approach, which offers an ordered, consistent way to satisfy learners' needs, foster meaningful learning, and develop the moral attributes necessary to relate successfully to one's community. Through an emphasis on the National Board of Professional Teaching standards, strong discussion of technology, and examination of the special challenges facing middle and secondary schools, he easily bridges the gap between the theories he advocates and actual classroom practice.
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad @ H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to the Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264
