LibGuides: Dance: Pedagogy

General Resources

Research Databases

These library databases provide citations for articles, book chapters, and more. Most focus on a specific topic, so they are great for deeper research. Choose a database, then search for keywords such as genres, techniques, names of people, and more.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Article citations from all disciplines, including dance.
Dance Education Literature and Research Descriptive Index This link opens in a new window
Citations for thousands of journal articles, dissertations, and more. Focuses on dance education.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from almost 100 scholarly music, dance, and theatre journals, plus other subjects. Excludes recent years.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Article citations from over 400 music journals, including Arts Education Policy Review.
RILM This link opens in a new window
Citations for scholarly music and dance books, articles, and dissertations. Searches Journal of Dance Education, Research in Dance Education, and more.

Books in the Allen Library (selections)

Dance Pedagogy for a Diverse World by Nyama McCarthy-Brown
Call Number: GV1589 M32 2017 [Allen shelves]
How to diversify ballet classes and dance history courses, choreographing dance about socially charged issues, incorporating Native American dances into the curriculum, and more.
Dance Teaching Methods and Curriculum Design, 2nd ed. by Gayle Kassing, Danielle Jay-Kirschenbaum
Call Number: GV1589 K377 D35 2021 [Allen shelves]
Learn how to teach various dance forms, create effective lesson and unit plans, and develop a curriculum that meets arts and education standards.
Ethical Dilemmas in Dance Education by Doug Risner and Karen Schupp (Editors)
Call Number: GV1589 E833 2020 [Allen shelves]
Explores dilemmas faced by dance educators in the studio, on stage, on social media, and elsewhere. Accompanied by activities for humanizing dance pedagogy.
Teaching What You Want to Learn by Bill Evans
Call Number: GV1589 E93 2023 [Allen shelves]
For professional, academic, and amateur instructors. Discusses how to devise specific pedagogical strategies, translate theory into action, work with diverse bodies, embrace evolving value systems, and become a more effective and satisfied educator.

Find more dance pedagogy books

Search subjects in the catalog:

Ballet > Study and teaching
Dance > Study and teaching
Dance for children
Dance teachers
Movement education

Academic Teaching

Books in the Allen Library (selections)

Teaching Dance as Art in Education by Brenda Pugh McCutchen
Call Number: GV1589 M33 T4 2006 [Allen shelves]
Fosters an understanding of dance as arts education and defines roles and responsibilities for incorporating the aesthetic foundations of educational dance in grades K-12.
Teaching Dance Studies by Judith Chazin-Bennahum (Ed.)
Call Number: GV1589 T433 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2005
A practical guide by professors and dancers/choreographers active in the field. Covers improvisation/choreography, movement analysis, theory, dance on film, injury prevention, notation, history, criticism, and more.

Find more dance pedagogy books

Search subjects in the catalog:

Ballet > Study and teaching
Dance > Study and teaching
Dance> Study and teaching (higher)
Dance teachers

Studio Teaching

Books in the Allen Library (selections)

Creative Ballet Teaching by Cadence Whittier
Call Number: GV1788.5 W46 2018 [Allen shelves]
Sample lesson plans, class exercises, and more to promote inquiry-based learning, support dancer's artistic instincts, and develop creativity and versatility.
Foundations of Classical Ballet by Agrippina Vaganova; Bruce Michelson (Editor); Aleksandr Wilansky (Translator)
Call Number: GV1787 V34 F6 2021 [Allen shelves]
The most widely-read Russian ballet manual in the world. Includes contextual analysis; illustrations of movements, forms and positions; and more.
How to Teach Beginning Ballet by Judith Newman
Call Number: GV1788.5 N49 H68 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2012
The basics of how to prepare for teaching, how to model terminology and demonstrate positions, and more. Includes adaptable syllabi for each year of instruction.
Introduction to Modern Dance Techniques by Joshua Legg
Call Number: GV1783 L44 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2011
Maps the history of modern dance and enables students to discern which technique best suits them. Sample lessons are included for teachers to incorporate the text into courses.
Teaching Dancing with Ideokinetic Principles by Drid Williams
Call Number: GV1589 W55 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2011
Discusses how to use imagery for improving body posture and alignment for ease of movement, preventing injuries, and increasing body awareness. Emphasizes differences between kinesthetic (internal) and mirror (external) imagery.