LibGuides: Dance: Conditioning & Wellness

Articles

Professional Journals (selections)

Professional journals are a great place to learn from experts about the most recent developments in your field.
Search articles online or browse the Allen Library current periodicals (near the Allen entrance). See especially:

Dance Magazine
Latest issues available online only.
Dance Research Journal by Dance Studies Association
Available online only.

Research Databases

These library databases provide citations for articles, book chapters, and more. Most focus on a specific topic, so they are great for deeper research. Choose a database, then search for keywords for your topic.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly journals in all disciplines, including dance, health, and more.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
Physical therapy database with books, procedure and exercise videos, and more.
CINAHL with Full Text and PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Thousands of articles on health and psychology topics, including those related to dance.

Books

Books in the Allen Library (selections)

The Ballerina Mindset by Megan Fairchild
Call Number: GV1597 F35 2021 [Allen shelves]
Megan Fairchild, New York City Ballet principal ballerina and Broadway star, shares how she learned to overcome physical and mental challenges, and how we can do the same.
Conditioning for Dance by Eric Franklin
Call Number: GV1595 F73 C65 2019 [Allen shelves]
Blends imagery, focus, and conditioning exercises to enhance dancers' technique and performance while practicing injury-prevention strategies.
Dancer Wellness by M. Virginia Wilmerding and Donna Krasnow (Eds.)
Call Number: RC1220 D35 D353 2017 [Allen shelves]
Covers environmental, physical, and psychological elements of dancer wellness.
Pilates and Conditioning for Dancers by Jane Paris
Call Number: GV1589 P37 2021 [Allen shelves]
Relates individual exercises to dance techniques and provides movement solutions for dancers of all styles and at all stages of their career.

Find more books about conditioning & wellness

Search subjects in the catalog:

Dance > Physiological aspects
Dancers > Training of
Dancing injuries > Prevention
Physical fitness