Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Conducting: Home

Selected Conducting Books in the Allen Library

Daniels' Orchestral Music

The gold standard for orchestral programming. Over 8500 entries with duration, instrumentation, and composition date. Includes appendices for browsing by ensemble type, instrumentation, duration, composer anniversaries, and more.

Choral Repertoire

Covers the full canon of Western choral tradition. Contains a general description of each historical era, styles of various countries, composer biographies, and performance annotations of more than 5,000 works.

The Beat Stops Here

Addresses the technique of conducting as an extension of intimate knowledge of the score to the hands and arms. Also explores the various roles a conductor plays, as a teacher, scholar, and member of the musical community.

The Elements of Expressive Conducting

Describes movement theories, discusses strategies for musical expression and coordination, and provides suggestions for building to a professional level of success.

A Conductor's Repertory of Chamber Music

Lists over 1000 works for chamber ensembles with 9-15 solo instruments. Includes instrumentation, publisher, composer's birth date, and number of musicians.

Visit/Contact Us!

Related Guides

Top Databases for Conductors

Explore this guide to learn about more resources, or use our Database Locator to browse all library databases.

 

A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help

University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264