LibGuides: Conducting: Research

Articles

Articles are great for research because they generally cover a very narrow topic in great detail. In addition, scholarly journal articles generally include a bibliography where you can find more resources on the same topic.

Journal Article Databases

Library databases provide citations for articles, book chapters, and more. Most articles/chapters focus on a narrow and specific topic, so they are great for deeper research. To get started:

Choose a database.
Search for keywords such as genres, topics, names of people, etc.
Limit your results by date, language, and more with the the left-hand menu on the results page.

Need more help?

See our Article help page for step-by-step instructions and videos to help you search databases and find full-text articles. And you can always ask a librarian for individual help.

Music Article Databases

Music Index Online This link opens in a new window
Article citations from over 700 music journals.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Article citations from over 400 music journals.
RILM This link opens in a new window
Citations for scholarly music and dance books, articles, dissertations, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from almost 100 scholarly music, dance, and theatre journals, plus other subjects. Excludes recent years.

Books

History Books in the Allen Library (selections)

The Cambridge Companion to Conducting by José Antonio Bowen (Editor)
Call Number: ML458 C36 B6 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2003
Advice on how to conduct different types of groups plus a substantial history of conducting as a study of national traditions.
The History of Orchestral Conducting by Elliott W. Galkin
Call Number: ML457 G35 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 1988
Examines the role of the orchestral conductor and documents the evolution of their art from historical, technical, and aesthetic perspectives.

Find more history books

Browse by subject in the catalog, for example:
Conducting

Conductor Biographies in the Allen Library (selections)

Absolutely on Music by Haruki Murakami; Seiji Ozawa; Jay Rubin (Translator)
Call Number: ML422 O92 A28 2016 [Allen shelves]
An intimate conversation about music and writing between author Haruki Murakami and his friend Seiji Ozawa, former conductor of the Boston Symphony Orchestra.
Black Conductors by D. Antoinette Handy
Call Number: ML402 H31 1995 [Allen reference]
The first collective biography of Black American conductors of instrumental ensembles from the early 19th century to the present.
Charles Munch by D. Kern Holoman
Call Number: ML422 M96 H754 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2012
The first full biography of Munch, tracing his survival in occupied Paris, his arrival at the BSO, and his later years as a leading cultural figure in the United States.
Classical Music: Expect the Unexpected by Kent Nagano with Inge Kloepfer
Call Number: ML422 N34 N34 2019 [Allen shelves]
Nagano tells the story of his own engagement with classical music, his work with the world's major orchestras, and his tireless commitment to bringing his music to everybody.
The Virtuoso Conductors by Raymond Holden
Call Number: ML402 H65 V57 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2005
Traces nine conductors from apprenticeship to international acclaim, comparing rehearsal technique, the baton, eye contact, repertoire, tempo, recordings, vision, style, and performance practice.

Find more biographies

Search subjects or conductor names in the catalog, for example:
Conductors (music)

Bernstein, Leonard
Brico, Antonia
Furtwängler, Wilhelm
Toscanini, Arturo

Browse the shelves by call number:

Call Number	Topic
ML402	Collected conductor biographies
ML410	Single composer biographies (for composer-conductors)
ML422	Single conductor biographies

Reference

Reference resources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more.
They often provide a short overview of a topic, then point to more resources you can use for further research.

Music Reference Databases

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
Essays about music from all parts of the world.
Grove/Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Extensive music encyclopedia with articles, works lists, and citations.
Oxford Bibliographies - Music This link opens in a new window
Lists of resources for advanced research on many music subjects.

Books in the Allen Library (selections)

Concert and Opera Conductors by Robert H. Cowden
Call Number: ML105 C68 1987 [Allen reference]
Authoritative information on 1,249 major conductors of permanent orchestral ensembles since the time of von Weber and Berlioz.
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by Don Michael Randel
Call Number: ML100 H37 2003 [Allen reference]
A standard, desk-size comprehensive dictionary, indispensable for musicians.
Sourcebook for Research in Music, 3rd ed. by Allen Scott
Call Number: ML113 C73 S76 2015 [Allen reference]
Also available online.
Bibliographies covering the standard works in all fields of music research.

Suggest a Resource

Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!

Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (rudnick@hartford.edu).

Find Full Text Articles

Search eJournal Locator for the journal title:

Need help? See our article help page or ask a librarian.