Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles are great for research because they generally cover a very narrow topic in great detail. In addition, scholarly journal articles generally include a bibliography where you can find more resources on the same topic.
Journal Article Databases
Library databases provide citations for articles, book chapters, and more. Most articles/chapters focus on a narrow and specific topic, so they are great for deeper research. To get started:
- Choose a database.
- Search for keywords such as genres, topics, names of people, etc.
- Limit your results by date, language, and more with the the left-hand menu on the results page.
Need more help?
See our Article help page for step-by-step instructions and videos to help you search databases and find full-text articles. And you can always ask a librarian for individual help.
History Books in the Allen Library (selections)
The Cambridge Companion to the Cello by
Call Number: ML910 C36 1999 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 1999
Covers the instrument's structure and development; distinguished cellists; the repertoire; and its technique, teaching methods, and performance practice.
One Hundred Years of Violoncello by
Call Number: ML915 W15 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 1998
Addresses cello performance issues including instrument and bow construction, fingering and bowing techniques, special effects and ornamentation, accompanying skills, and more.
Find more history books
Browse by subject in the catalog, for example:
Cello > History
Browse the shelves by call number:
||Cello history (general)
||Cello music and playing
Performer Biographies in the Allen Library (selections)
Jacqueline du Pre by
Call Number: ML418 D85 J33 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 1983
Biography of the exquisite life of famed English cellist, Jacqueline du Pre.
Joys and Sorrows; Reflections by
Call Number: ML418 C33 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 1970
Reflections on Pablo Casals career and life, as told from himself to Albert E. Kahn.
The World of Music According to Starker by
Call Number: ML418 S82 S82 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2004
A colorful autobiography spanning his musical education during WWII in Hungary, to his world tours, educational philosophy, and recording and pedagogical legacy
Find more biographies
Search performer names in the catalog, for example:
Browse the shelves by call number:
||Collected string performer biographies
(includes string ensembles)
||Single string performer biographies
Reference resources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more.
They often provide a short overview of a topic, then point to more resources you can use for further research.
Music Reference Databases
Books in the Allen Library (selections)
Chamber Music by
Call Number: ML128 C4 B37 2010 [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 2010
A guide to where to find answers to questions about chamber music of all types. Most of the literature is books, articles, dissertations and theses, and essays or chapters.
String Quartets by
Call Number: ML128 S9 P37 2011 [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 2011
An annotated bibliography of sources about the string quartet, including general references, histories, composers, performance, facsimiles and critical editions, and more.
Find more reference books
See all cello reference books in the catalog:
Browse the Reference shelves by call number:
||Cello dictionaries & encyclopedias
(including cello makers)
Suggest a Resource
Know of a resource we have you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!
Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (firstname.lastname@example.org).
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264