Skip to Main Content
Articles are great for research because they generally cover a very narrow topic in great detail. In addition, scholarly journal articles generally include a bibliography where you can find more resources on the same topic.
Browse Professional Journals
Professional journals are a great place to learn from experts about the most recent developments in your field.
Search articles online or browse the Allen Library current periodicals (near the Allen entrance). See especially:
Journal Article Databases
Library databases provide citations for articles, book chapters, and more. Most articles/chapters focus on a narrow and specific topic, so they are great for deeper research. To get started:
- Choose a database.
- Search for keywords such as genres, topics, names of people, etc.
- Limit your results by date, language, and more with the the left-hand menu on the results page.
Need more help?
See our Article help page for step-by-step instructions and videos to help you search databases and find full-text articles. And you can always ask a librarian for individual help.
Music Article Databases
Music Index Online This link opens in a new window
Article citations from over 700 music journals.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Article citations from over 400 music journals.
RILM This link opens in a new window
Citations for scholarly music and dance books, articles, dissertations, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from almost 100 scholarly music, dance, and theatre journals, plus other subjects. Excludes recent years.
History Books in the Allen Library (selections)
The Bassoon by
Call Number: ML950 K66 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2012
Discusses the makers, players, repertory, myths, and audiences of the bassoon, plus contrabassoons and smaller bassoons.
The New Winds of Change by
Call Number: ML1311 B37 2018 [Allen shelves]
A thorough history of wind bands and ensembles, expanded with new information about literature, conferences, concerts and events from the 19th century through 2015.
Find more history books
Browse by subject in the catalog, for example:
Browse the shelves by call number:
||Wind instrument history
||Woodwind instrument history
|ML950 – ML953
|ML1100 – ML1165
||Chamber music history
|ML1200 – 1270
|ML1300 – ML1354
Reference resources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more.
They often provide a short overview of a topic, then point to more resources you can use for further research.
Music Reference Databases
Books in the Allen Library (selections)
Musical Instruments of the World by
Call Number: ML102 I5 D [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 1976
Details the forms, decoration, evolutions, methods of sounding past and present, and mechanical and electrical instruments from around the world, ranging through folk, popular, orchestral, and national instruments of every kind.
Wind Ensemble Sourcebook and Biographical Guide by
Call Number: ML128 W5 S76 [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 1997
Discusses many wind ensemble composers and works, and places the music in context: why it was written, where it was played, and how it influenced other genres.
Find more reference books
See all bassoon/wind reference books in the catalog:
Browse the Reference shelves by call number:
Suggest a Resource
Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!
Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (firstname.lastname@example.org).
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264