Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Catalog
Mortensen Library Catalog
African American Philosophers and Philosophy by
Call Number: B944.A37 M33 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-13
This book presents the first introduction to African American academic philosophers, exploring their concepts and ideas and revealing the critical part they have played in the formation of philosophy in the USA. The book begins with the early years of educational attainment by African American philosophers in the 1860s. To demonstrate the impact of their philosophical work on general problems in the discipline, chapters are broken down into four major areas of study: Axiology, Social Science, Philosophy of Religion and Philosophy of Science. The book challenges the myth that philosophy is exclusively a white academic discipline. Packed with examples of struggles and triumphs, this engaging introduction is a much-needed approach to studying philosophy today.
African Americans and the First Amendment by
Call Number: KF4757 .S525 2019
Publication Date: 2019-09-01
This book explores in detail the relationship between African Americans and our 'first freedoms, ' especially freedom of speech. The author utilizes an interdisciplinary approach to demonstrate that a strong commitment to civil liberty and to racial equality are mutually supportive, as they share an opposition to orthodoxy and a commitment to greater inclusion and participation. This crucial connection is evidenced throughout US history, from the days of colonial and antebellum slavery to Jim Crow and through to the present.
African American Student's Guide to College Success by
Call Number: LC2781.7 .B75 2015
Publication Date: 2015-10-21
This encouraging guide coaches African American and first-generation college students on strategies for maximizing their experiences and success on university campuses. Marked gaps in academic achievements continue to exist between white and black students on college campuses in America. This motivational book, with contributions from academic role models from within the African American community, provides tools to help ethnically diverse students choose the best college, improve their study skills, and cope with academic anxiety. From college selection to graduation, this practical resource provides firsthand accounts of successful college experiences and the strategies used by former students to obtain their degrees.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by
Call Number: E185 .E5453 2009 v.1-5
Publication Date: 2009-02-02
Covering African American history in all areas of U.S. history and culture from 1896 to the present, the Encyclopedia contains approximately 1,200 fully cross-referenced entries that are all signed by leading scholars and experts. The set also contains 500 images and roughly 640 biographies, as well as an entry on each of the fifty states. In addition to its comprehensive coverage of African Americans, the Encyclopedia also contains entries about key figures who affected the lives of African Americans in particular and Americans in general.
Encyclopedia of African American Politics by
Call Number: E185 .S58155 2014eb
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
This A-to-Z volume examines the role of African Americans in the political process from the early days of the American Revolution to the present. Focusing on basic political ideas, court cases, laws, concepts, ideologies, institutions, and political processes, this book covers all facets of African Americans in American government. Written by a nationally renowned scholar in the field, the Encyclopedia of African-American Politics, Second Edition will enlighten readers to the struggles and triumphs of African Americans in the American political system. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
Keywords for African American Studies by
Call Number: E184.7 .K49 2018eb
Publication Date: 2018-11-27
Introduces key terms, interdisciplinary research, debates, and histories for African American Studies. As the longest-standing interdisciplinary field, African American Studies has laid the foundation for critically analyzing issues of race, ethnicity, and culture within the academy and beyond. This volume assembles the keywords of this field for the first time, exploring not only the history of those categories but their continued relevance in the contemporary moment. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
The Making of African America by
Call Number: E185 .B473 2010
Publication Date: 2010-01-21
Four great migrations defined the history of black people in America: the violent removal of Africans to the east coast of North America known as the Middle Passage; the relocation of one million slaves to the interior of the antebellum South; the movement of more than six million blacks to the industrial cities of the north and west a century later; and since the late 1960s, the arrival of black immigrants from Africa, the Caribbean, South America, and Europe. These epic migrations have made and remade African American life. Ira Berlin's magisterial new account of these passages evokes both the terrible price and the moving triumphs of a people forcibly and then willingly migrating to America.
Browse for Books
Want to browse the shelves? Here are some call number areas:
History of the Americas: E - F
United States: E151 - 889
Afro-Americans: E184.5 - 185.98
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad@H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
Log in to ILLiad@H
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264