Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles are great for research because they generally cover a very narrow topic in great detail. In addition, scholarly journal articles generally include a bibliography where you can find more resources on the same topic.
Journal Article Databases
Library databases provide citations for articles, book chapters, and more. Most articles/chapters focus on a narrow and specific topic, so they are great for deeper research. To get started:
- Choose a database.
- Search for keywords such as genres, topics, names of people, etc.
- Limit your results by date, language, and more with the the left-hand menu on the results page.
Need more help?
See our Article help page for step-by-step instructions and videos to help you search databases and find full-text articles. And you can always ask a librarian for individual help.
History Books in the Allen Library (selections)
The Cambridge Companion to Brass Instruments by
Call Number: ML933 C36 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 1997
An overview of the technical and musical development of brass instruments. Includes sections on jazz, non-western, and popular musics.
The Trombone by
Call Number: ML965 H47 T76
Publication Date: 2006
Covers the instrument, its repertoire, the way it has been played, and the social, cultural, and aesthetic contexts within which it has developed across all styles of music.
Find more history books
Browse by subject in the catalog, for example:
Browse the shelves by call number:
||Brass instrument history
|ML965 – ML968
|ML1300 – ML1354
||Band music history
Performer Biographies in the Allen Library (selections)
The Musical World of J. J. Johnson by
Call Number: ML419 J64 B477
Publication Date: 2002
A comprehensive biography, filmography, catalog of compositions, and discography of the father of modern trombone.
Twentieth-Century Brass Soloists by
Call Number: ML399 M43 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 1994
Analyzes and celebrates nearly 100 brass soloists whose genius, technique, and style have combined to produce unforgettable moments in music.
Reference resources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more.
They often provide a short overview of a topic, then point to more resources you can use for further research.
Music Reference Databases
Books in the Allen Library (selections)
Brass Bibliography by
Call Number: ML128 B8 F3 [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 1990
Lists more than 6000 sources on the history, literature, pedagogy, performance, & acoustics of brass instruments.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Brass Instruments by
Call Number: ML128 B8 C35 2019 [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 2019
Guide to the design, manufacture, performance, and history of brass musical instruments in classical and popular music, sacred rituals, jazz, and military bands.
The Trombone by
Call Number: ML128 T84 L36 [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 1999
Resources about the trombone, its history, music, performers, performance practices (including jazz), and pedagogical topics.
See all tuba reference books in the catalog:
Browse the Reference shelves by call number:
Suggest a Resource
Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264