Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These resources cover a wide range of time periods, genres, styles, and instruments.
Naxos Music Library
More than 150,000 albums of primarily classical music. Sign up for a free account to create playlists and access the mobile NML app
Classical Music Library
Streaming tracks from all major genres and time periods: medieval to contemporary, choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde.
Over 4,000 albums by primarily American composers and artists, from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, nineteenth-century classical to early rock, music theater, and contemporary music. It includes the complete catalog of New World Records; repertoire from CRI, Albany Records, Innova Recordings; and liner notes and essays from these labels.
Open Web Resources
Dallas Symphony Orchestra Recordings
Audio and video recordings of Dallas Symphony Orchestra performances.
A collaborative library containing tens of thousands of scores and recordings in the public domain.
Provides recordings, sheet music, and other educational materials to the public for free, without copyright restrictions.
Philharmonie de Paris Concerts
Selected jazz and classical performances, made available for specific time periods.
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Videos
Recordings of many Concertgebouw performances, conducting masterclasses, and documentaries.
Contemporary & Avant Garde
New Music USA Online Library
Focuses on contemporary American music, providing thousands of recordings and scores. Includes both previews and full recordings.
"The unlikely definitive source for all things avant-garde on the internet." Includes sound, video, writings, and more.
These resources include digitized recordings of historical discs and cylinders.
AHRC Research Centre for the History and Analysis of Recorded Music
About 5000 recordings from the archives at King's College London, digitized from 78 rpm discs of classical repertoire, with a particular focus on Schubert songs.
Association for Cultural Equity: Global Jukebox
Over 6,000 music and dance recordings from over 1,000 cultures. Explore by culture, geographical region, and more.
Belfer Cylinders Digital Connection
Over 1,600 digitized cylinders from many genres, especially music of the early 20th century. Work is ongoing to digitize more of the 20,000 cylinders in the collection.
Over 10,000 recordings from 1901 to 1925, on labels now owned by Sony Music Entertainment. Includes classical, popular, and other music.
UCSB Cylinder Audio Archive
Thousands of cylinder recordings from the late 19th and early 20th centuries, made available through UC Santa Barbara Library's Department of Special Collections.
Suggest a Resource
Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264