A Dictionary of Biology
by
This edition is fully revised and updated, making it the perfect guide for anyone studying biology. With more than 5,500 clear and concise entries, it provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry.
The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology
by
The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology, Fifth Edition, provides definitions for thousands of terms used in the study of cell and molecular biology. Many of the additions were made to extend the scope in plant cell biology, microbiology, and bioinformatics.
Source Book of Biological Terms
by
This book covers the source of 12,000 elements from which biological terms are formed.
Comprehensive Organic Synthesis
by
The second edition of Comprehensive Organic Synthesis builds upon the highly respected first edition in drawing together the new common themes that underlie the many disparate areas of organic chemistry. Fully revised and updated, this new set forms an essential reference work for all those seeking information on the solution of synthetic problems, whether they are experienced practitioners or chemists whose major interests lie outside organic synthesis.
Laboratory Safety for Chemistry Students
by
Laboratory Safety for Chemistry students provides knowledge and models of good practice needed by students to work safely in the laboratory as they progress through four years of undergraduate laboratory work. This text covers a thorough exposure to chemical health and safety so that students will have the proper education and training when they enter the workforce or graduate school.
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, Seventeenth Edition
by
The Lange's Handbook of Chemistry is the standard reference for chemists, which covers every area of chemistry, including general information and conversion tables, spectroscopy, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, petroleum and petroleum products, biomass and biofuels, and environmental science. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
Animal Behavior Desk Reference
by
"Animal Behavior Desk Reference, A Dictionary of Behavior, Ecology, and Evolution, Third Edition contains more than 800 new terms and definitions, 48 new figures, and thousands of additions and improvements. Using a dictionary format to present definitions in a standard, easily accessible manner, the book's main body emphasizes conceptual terms, rather than anatomical parts or taxonomic terms, and focuses on nouns, rather than verbs or adjectives.
A Dictionary of Ecology
by
The fourth edition of the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of ecology available. Written in a clear, accessible style, it contains over 6,000 entries on all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography.
Ecology Basics
This guide covers the fundamental scientific concepts of ecology as taught in biology and environmental science courses. It offers essays on the levels of individual organisms and their interactions with the environment, and the levels of ecosystems and global ecology.
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology
by
This dictionary includes over 4000 in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental protection and resource management. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Environmental Science
by
Derived from the content of the respected McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 6th Edition, each title provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in a specific discipline. All include: * A pronunciation guide for every term * Acronyms, cross-references, and abbreviations * Appendices with conversion tables; listings of scientific, technical, and mathematical notation; tables of relevant data; and more * A convenient, quick-find format
AIP Physics Desk Reference
by
Originally published by the American Institute of Physics as the Physics Vade Mecum, this third edition has been completely updated to reflect contemporary modern physics. It is a concise compilation of the most frequently used physics data and formulae, and new chapters added on atmospheric physics, electricity and magnetism, elementary particle physics, fluid dynamics, geophysics, nonlinear physics, particle accelerators, polymer physics, and quantum theory.
A Dictionary of Physics
by
This is the most popular dictionary of physics available, and contains almost 4,000 entries covering all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts. It also defines many terms from the related fields of astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry. Recommended web links are also included to provide useful and relevant extra information, and are accessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Physicscompanion web page.
Encyclopedia of Physics
by
A comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia of physics, Encyclopedia of Physics presents a broad overview of the field at a level and in a format suitable for students and general readers. Complementing the coverage of pure physics topics, concise, general entries discuss interdisciplinary subjects, such as applied physics, astrophysics, biophysics, chemical physics, geophysics, and medical physics.
The Great Physicists from Galileo to Einstein
by
Each chapter is centered on a single great figure, or at most two, with other physicists of the era and their contributions forming a background. Major topics include the dawn of physics, the Dark Ages and the Renaissance, Newtonian physics, heat as energy, electricity, the relativistic revolution, quantum theory, and the atomic nucleus and elementary particles.
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad @ H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to the Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264