News: Databases & Articles

Academic Search includes up to date searches in the major US newspapers and weekly and monthly magazines including Newsweek, Time, US News and World Reports, Rolling Stone, etc.

Fully searchable news from Hartford's oldest continuously published newspaper, covering 1764-present.

The Newspapers of Connecticut collection is a sample collection of historical newspapers covering the various regions, perspectives and topics of the Civil War era in Connecticut.

Newspaper Source Plus includes full-text newspapers, providing a wide range of articles. In addition, the database features television and radio news transcripts.

Newspaper Source Plus includes full-text newspapers, providing a wide range of articles. In addition, the database features television and radio news transcripts.

EBSCO's Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news on a continuous basis. This collection includes news from the Associated Press, United Press International, CNN Wire, Business Wire and more.

Full text coverage of New York Times to 1851 with access to New York Times Online Edition. You must create your own account with a valid University of Hartford email address.

To create an account, go to https://hartford.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir and follow the instructions. 

Please note: Your account must be renewed annually.

Search the text of major newspapers including the Boston Globe (1980- ), Christian Science Monitor (1990- ), Hartford Courant (1992- ), Los Angeles Times (1985- ), New York Times (1999- , including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition (1984- ), and Washington Post (1987- ).

The uncontested authority in reliable, unbiased information, Value Line puts you in the driver’s seat with accurate and insightful investment research on companies, industries, markets and economies.

Detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information from the WSJ covering 1984-present.