The 5-Minute Linguist
by
The 5-Minute Linguist provides a lively, reader-friendly introduction to the subject of language suitable for the general reader and beginning students. The book offers brief essays on more than 60 intriguing questions such as "What's the difference between a language and a dialect?" Can animals understand us?" "What causes foreign accents?" and "How is language used on social media?" These are conveniently organized into 12 topical areas that include What is Linguistics, Language and Thought, Language and Society, and Language and Technology, among others. Each essay is written by a leading authority in the specialization who offers succinct, insightful answers to questions that most of us have wondered about, with follow-up references to more in-depth reading on each question. The third edition adds new topics now at the forefront of linguistics and updates others, serving as an unrivaled introduction to the mysteries and intrigue of language. The third edition of this book was produced under the sponsorship of the Linguistic Society of America.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language
by
This new, thoroughly revised edition of the acclaimed Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language incorporates the major developments in language study which have taken place since the mid 1990s. Two main new areas have been added: the rise of electronic communication in all its current forms from email to texting, and the crisis affecting the world's languages, of which half are thought to be so seriously endangered that they will die out this century. * All language statistics have been updated, and additional information provided about their linguistic affiliation * All topics involving technology have been revised to take account of recent developments, notably in phonetics, language disability, and computing * Maps have been revised to include new countries or country names * Special attention has been paid to fast-moving areas such as language teaching and learning * The text design has been completely updated with many new illustrations throughout
The Cambridge Guide to Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
by
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
by
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America contains 175 essays (that's 25 more than the previous edition) on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The Encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish. Each essay has been completely updated and contains a listing of organizations and research centers; names addresses and contact information for periodicals, radio and television stations; and a list of suggestions for further reading. Also featured are more than 350 photographs and illustrations, sources for further study and a general annotated bibliography.
Handbook of Language and Ethnic Identity
by
This volume presents a comprehensive introduction to the connection between language and ethnicity. Since the "ethnic revival" of the last twenty years, there has been a substantial and interdisciplinary change in our understanding of the connection between these fundamental aspects of ouridentity. Joshua Fishman has commissioned over 25 previously unpublished papers on every facet of the subject. This volume is interdisciplinary and the contributors are all distinguished figures in their fields. After each chapter Fishman pulls together the various views that have been expressed andshows how they differ and how they are alike. The volume is useful as a scholarly reference, a resource for the lay reader, and can also be used as a text in ethnicity courses.
Key Ideas in Linguistics and the Philosophy of Language
by
Languages in a Globalising World
by
Throughout human history, the fate of languages has been closely linked to political power relationships. Political shifts in the international system continue to affect linguistic patterns, which today are still in a state of flux following the end of the Cold War. This book considers the effects of present-day trends in global politics on the relative status of languages, and the directions in which the linguistic hierarchy might develop in the future. What are the prospects for the continuing spread of English? Will other traditionally prominent languages such as French and German gain or lose influence? Will languages such as Arabic and Japanese increase in international status? Will minority languages continue to lose ground and disappear? The book assesses these prospects, looking at the major world regions, and with its interdisciplinary approach it will appeal to researchers and students of sociolinguistics and language planning as well as of international relations.
The Social Origins of Language
by
This book offers an exciting new perspective on the origins of language. Language is conceptualized as a collective invention, on the model of writing or the wheel, and the book places social and cultural dynamics at the centre of its evolution: language emerged and further developed in humancommunities already suffused with meaning and communication, mimesis, ritual, song and dance, alloparenting, new divisions of labour and revolutionary changes in social relations. The book thus challenges assumptions about the causal relations between genes, capacities, social communication andinnovation: the biological capacities are taken to evolve incrementally on the basis of cognitive plasticity, in a process that recruits previous adaptations and fine-tunes them to serve novel communicative ends.Topics include the ability brought about by language to tell lies, that must have confronted our ancestors with new problems of public trust; the dynamics of social-cognitive co-evolution; the role of gesture and mimesis in linguistic communication; studies of how monkeys and apes express theirfeelings or thoughts; play, laughter, dance, song, ritual and other social displays among extant hunter-gatherers; the social nature of language acquisition and innovation; normativity and the emergence of linguistic norms; the interaction of language and emotions; and novel perspectives on thetime-frame for language evolution. The contributors are leading international scholars from linguistics, anthropology, palaeontology, primatology, psychology, evolutionary biology, artificial intelligence, archaeology, and cognitive science.
The World's Major Languages
by
This volume features over 50 of the world's languages and language families. The featured languages have been chosen based on the number of speakers, their role as official languages and their cultural and historical importance. Each language is looked at in depth, and the chapters provide information on both grammatical features and on salient features of the language's history and cultural role. This second edition has been updated and revised. Two new languages, Amharic and Javanese, have been included. This accessible volume will appeal to anyone with an interest in linguistics. Key features: Attention is paid to both grammatical and sociolinguistic features Attention is concentrated on the world's major languages Designed to be accessible to all readers with an interest in language.
Arabic-English/English-Arabic Practical Dictionary
by
An essential resource for students of Arabic and English alike, this dictionary contains the most up-to- date vocabulary in handy reference form! With more than 18,000 entries, it is especially useful in navigating the growing terminology of politics, telecommunications, technology, the internet, tourism, business and travel. Ideal for students, scholars, businesspeople, journalists, aid workers, and the military in both English-speaking and Arabic-speaking countries. Features include: : More than 18,000 total entries Clear language, pronunciation, and grammar for both sides Easy-to-read format and practical arrangement of Arabic and English entries Arabic provided with Romanized transliterations English provided with phonetic transliterations
Easy Arabic Grammar
by
An exceptionally clear and accessible reference and workbook for anyone who wants to learn Arabic Easy Arabic Grammar is both a handy grammar reference and a primer/workbook for beginning to intermediate-level students of Arabic. Clear structural explanations and practice activities make it a perfect companion for formal language classes as well as any self-teaching course.
Oxford Arabic Dictionary
by
Endorsed by academics worldwide, the Oxford Arabic Dictionary is the most authoritative English-Arabic / Arabic-English dictionary ever published. Based on real modern evidence and computational analysis of hundreds of millions of words of both English and Modern Standard Arabic (thestandardized variety of Arabic used in writing and in most formal speech), the dictionary boasts more than 130,000 words and phrases and 200,000 translations. This up-to-date resource has been designed for both Arabic and English native speakers and includes the latest vocabulary from computing,business, the media, and the arts, across both languages.The organization and layout have been designed for maximum clarity and ease of use. The most commonly used sense of each word is shown first, helping you to identify and understand the correct meaning, and more than 70,000 real-life example phrases help you interpret meaning and usage accurately.All Arabic text is shown with vowels to aid the learner of Arabic in pronunciation and comprehension and the Arabic-English section of the dictionary is usefully organised by root, which are listed alphabetically. The dictionary is also packed with extra features including tables of Arabic verbs,Arabic numbers, dates, and years, and irregular English verbs.Produced using the unique dictionary resources of Oxford University Press with an international team of expert advisors, the Oxford Arabic Dictionary is a ground-breaking work, essential for any serious student of Arabic and English, as well as academics, professionals, business people, teachers,and translators.
Popular Culture in the Arab World
by
Over the last fifty years the Arab world has witnessed two seemingly contradictory trends: governments have failed to unite the region politically but at the same time a vibrant popular culture has blossomed, strengthening the sense of a shared Arab identity. Egyptian soap operas, Arab pop stars, al-Jazeera television, Islamic televangelists, and a raging debate over the "war on terror" and the future of the Arabs are just some of the phenomena that comprise the immensely rich and diverse world of the Arab mass media. Looking at such diverse cultural forms as commercial cinema, pop music, television, sport, theatre, and popular religion, journalist Andrew Hammond portrays the lively popular culture of the region, offering a refreshing antidote to stereotypical views about the Middle East. Popular Culture in the Arab World covers the entire spectrum of pop culture in the Arab world today, from reality TV shows to the power of modern advertising. From Lebanese pop sensation Nancy Ajram to Shaaban Abdel-Rahim, an illiterate ironer in Cairo who rose to stardom singing of his support for Palestinians against Israel, this unique book highlights the unlikely heroes of Arab popular culture.
Understanding Arabs
by
Margaret Nydell introduces elements of Arab culture and Islam in an evenhanded, unbiased style and covers topics such as beliefs and values, religion and society, the role of the family, social formalities and etiquette and communication styles.
Business French Dictionary, Peter Collin Publishing
Horizons
by
HORIZONS is a complete elementary French program that makes learning French easier through its step-by-step skill-building methodology, flexible and accessible approach to grammar and new vocabulary, and creative and sophisticated coverage of Francophone culture. Through varied interactive activities and clear grammar explanations, the text helps students communicate effectively in French while culturally connecting them to the Francophone world. HORIZONS features a clear, easy-to-follow structure that is ideal for instructors with any level of teaching experience. HORIZONS carefully guides students Competence by Competence, through their first year of elementary French.
Larousse Advanced Dictionary
by
Completely updated! The ultimate reference for advanced students of French--or anyone wishing to master the French language. Modern and comprehensive, the "Larousse Advanced Dictionary" is aimed at people who want to take their learning of French to the highest level. It stands apart from other dictionaries of its size thanks to its user-friendly and educational design. Included are 250,000 terms and references and over 400,000 translations. This dictionary contains boxed notes help clarify the most common expressions,insuring the correct usage every time. Every advanced learner of French will find that this is THE dictionary of French language and culture.
Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary
by
Acclaimed by language professionals the world over, the Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary leads the field. The dictionary is based on the statistical evidence of vast electronic databanks of real language, both written and spoken, making it the most comprehensive, reliable, and up-to-datedictionary of French and English available today. And now, it has even better coverage of the language, with improved treatment of acronyms and EU terminology, as well as thousands of new words in both English and French.The dictionary is a must for any serious student of the French language. It is tailored to the needs of the market in consultation with key academic advisors. This edition contains even more useful information for the language student abroad - sample bills and rent agreements help you orientateyourself in a new culture.The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary is the most complete and up-to-date dictionary of its size.
The Oxford French Cartoon-Strip Vocabulary Builder
by
[SERIES COPY:] This informative, colorful, and fun-to-use series of guides is perfect for anyone who wants to learn a second language quickly and easily. Each volume employs the amusing and always true-to-life cartoon strips of Claire Bretécher--an artist renowned in Europe for her witty and controversial cartoons--to not simply explain but illustrate the words and wording of a given foreign language in its common, everyday use. While there are other cartoon dictionaries on the market, most of them provide only single cartoons. This attractive series, on the other hand, provides whole strips which tell a story and effectively bring context and other memorable features to one's learning. And only this series offers cartoons done in full color, and written by a popular cartoonist. These vocabulary-builders are the perfect starting place for people who want to begin, or else strengthen, their acquisition of French, German, or Spanish.
The Routledge Dictionary of Cultural References in Modern French
by
Now in its second edition, The Routledge Dictionary of Cultural References in Modern French reveals the hidden cultural dimension of contemporary French, as used in the press, going beyond the limited and purely lexical approach of traditional bilingual dictionaries. Even foreign learners of French who possess a good level of French often have difficulty in fully understanding French articles, not because of any linguistic shortcomings on their part but because of their inadequate knowledge of the cultural references. This cultural dictionary of French provides the reader with clear and concise explanations of the crucial cultural dimension behind the most frequently used words and phrases found in the contemporary French press. This vital background information, gathered here in this innovative and entertaining dictionary, will allow readers to go beyond a superficial understanding of the French press and the French language in general to see the hidden yet implied cultural significance that is so transparent to the native speaker. This fully revised second edition includes: a broad range of cultural references from the historical and literary to the popular and classical; an enhanced analysis of punning mechanisms used in the press; over 3,000 cultural references explained with updated examples; a three-level indicator of frequency; new and expanded chapters on the French of Quebec, institutional and academic references, and English borrowings in the areas of IT and medical science; over 600 online questions to test knowledge before and after reading. The Routledge Dictionary of Cultural References in Modern French is the ideal reference for all undergraduate and postgraduate students of French seeking to enhance their understanding of the French language. It will also be of interest to teachers, translators and Francophiles alike. French students in khâgne, Sciences-Po and schools of journalism will also find this book valuable and relevant for their studies. Test questions and solutions are available at www.routledge.com/9780367376758, in addition to three online chapters. These bonus chapters explore figurative expressions involving the names of animals, the language of the law and slang terms.
The Story of French
by
Why does everything sound better if it's said in French? That fascination is at the heart of The Story of French, the first history of one of the most beautiful languages in the world that was, at one time, the pre-eminent language of literature, science and diplomacy. Nadeau and Barlow chart the history of a language spoken as a native tongue by 130 million people around the globe. The first document written in the French was signed by the sons of Charlemagne in 832. After this, Latin was purged from the courts of France by Francois 1st, giving root to French speakers' 21st century obsession with language protection. The obsession progressed as Cardinal Richelieu established the French Academy, a group entrusted with the responsibility of keeping the language pure and eloquent. As French circled the globe, the international cast of characters included Montaigne, Catherine the Great, Frederic II of Prussia, the guides of the Lewis and Clark expedition, Jules Verne, and others. Let Nadeau and Barlow guide you through the story of a language used to write some of the world's great masterpieces of literature, construct some of the most important documents of diplomacy, bedevil millions with its vagaries of pronunciation and beguile everyone with its beauty.
The Cambridge Companion to Modern German Culture
by
One of the most intriguing questions of our time is how some of the masterpieces of modernity originated in a country in which personal liberty and democracy were slow to emerge. This Companion provides an authoritative account of modern German culture since the onset of industrialisation, the rise of mass society and the nation state. Newly written and researched by experts in their respective fields, individual chapters trace developments in German culture - including national identity, class, Jews in German society, minorities and women, the functions of folk and mass culture, poetry, drama, theatre, dance, music, art, architecture, cinema and mass media - from the nineteenth century to the present. Guidance is given for further reading and a chronology is provided. In its totality the Companion shows how the political and social processes that shaped modern Germany are intertwined with cultural genres and their agendas of creative expression.
Caspar's Technical Dictionary, English-German and German-English
by
As outspoken in his day as Richard Dawkins or Christopher Hitchens are today, American freethinker and author ROBERT GREEN INGERSOLL (1833-1899) was a notorious radical whose uncompromising views on religion and slavery (they were bad, in his opinion), women's suffrage (a good idea, he believed), and other contentious matters of his era made him a wildly popular orator and critic of 19th-century American culture and public life. As a speaker dedicated to expanding intellectual horizons and celebrating the value of skepticism, Ingersoll spoke frequently on such topics as atheism, freedom from the pressures of conformity, and the lives of philosophers who espoused such concepts. This collection of his most famous speeches includes the lectures: [ "The Gods" (1872) [ "Humboldt" (1869) [ "Thomas Paine" (1870) [ "Individuality" (1873) [ "Heretics and Heresies" (1874)
German: Biography of a Language
by
Nearly six thousand years ago, seafront clans in Denmark likely began speaking the earliest form of Germanic language - the first of six "signal events" that Ruth Sanders highlights in this marvelous tour of the German language. Blending linguistic, anthropological, and historical research,Sanders presents a brilliant biography of the language as it evolved across the millennia. She sheds light on the influence of such events as the Battle of Kalkriese, which permanently halted the incursion of both the Romans and the Latin language into northern Europe, and the publication of MartinLuther's German Bible translation, which in effect forged from many regional dialects a single German language. The narrative ranges through the turbulent Middle Ages, the spread of the printing press, the formation of the nineteenth-century German Empire, and Germany's twentieth-century militaryand cultural horrors. The book includes fascinating sidebars on topics such as the Gothic language (now extinct), the branching off of Yiddish, and the revolution of 1848. The first book on this topic for general readers, this engaging volume will appeal to everyone interested in German language,culture, or history.
German Unabridged Dictionary
by
The Collins German Unabridged Dictionary is simply the best German dictionary you can buy. Here's why: Hundreds of thousands of entries and translations: The Collins German Unabridged Dictionary contains the most comprehensive coverage of both German and English and the most up-to-date business, political, and technical terms. Most up-to-date: This edition has been extensively revised and updated to cover the recent worldwide German spelling reform. Its vocabulary of today's German, including thousands of new phrases and indicators, is complete and exhaustive. This edition also includes full coverage of key words and full treatment of irregular forms of verbs, nouns, and adjectives to create the most complete and accurate picture of the German language available today. More colloquial usage than any other German dictionary: With its emphasis on current German and English--both written and spoken--including all areas of modern life and featuring regional usage, this dictionary gives you the edge in understanding and choosing the most appropriate translation. New terms in this edition include: Billigjoblow-paid job Biokraftstofforganic fuel Chillento chill out Handyverbotcell phone ban Radikal-fundamentalistischradical fundamentalist
The Oxford German Cartoon-Strip Vocabulary Builder
by
[SERIES COPY:] This informative, colorful, and fun-to-use series of guides is perfect for anyone who wants to learn a second language quickly and easily. Each volume employs the amusing and always true-to-life cartoon strips of Claire Bretécher--an artist renowned in Europe for her witty and controversial cartoons--to not simply explain but illustrate the words and wording of a given foreign language in its common, everyday use. While there are other cartoon dictionaries on the market, most of them provide only single cartoons. This attractive series, on the other hand, provides whole strips which tell a story and effectively bring context and other memorable features to one's learning. And only this series offers cartoons done in full color, and written by a popular cartoonist. These vocabulary-builders are the perfect starting place for people who want to begin, or else strengthen, their acquisition of French, German, or Spanish.
Oxford German Dictionary
by
The Oxford German Dictionary provides authoritative coverage of German and English with over 320,000 words and phrases, and 520,000 translations. Essential grammatical information and language usage notes are provided for both languages. This edition of the Oxford German Dictionary includes cultural notes, providing interesting and helpful information on life in the German- and English-speaking world. In addition, there areboxed notes offering help with language usage and construction, and a centre section covering essential correspondence with sample letters, emails, CVs and résumés, and sections on using the telephone and writing textmessages. The colour design and ultra-clear layout make it even easier to find the translation you are looking for. This is an essential reference tool for all serious students of German at university level and beyond, and for those who need an authoritative and comprehensive guide to German.
The Structure of German
by
The Structure of German is a description of the major features of German according to the principles of modern linguistics. This second edition represents full updates of aspects of German phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Wie Geht's?
by
Focused on building linguistic skills and comprehension through creative introductions to contemporary life and cultures in Germn-speaking countries, WIE GEHT'S? Eighth Edition is the clear choice to prepare your students to communicate in German-in and beyond your classroom! Now in its Eighth Edition, WIE GEHT'S? remains one of the most popular introductory German programs in the country. As the authors-both native Germans-show students how the German language actually works, they encourage cultural awareness and the acquisition of a functional vocabulary that effectively prepares students to continue their study of German.
HarperCollins Sansoni Italian Unabridged Dictionary, Second Edition
by
The HarperCollins Sansoni is simply the best Italian dictionary you can buy. Here's why: More than 900,000 entries and translations. The HarperCollins Sansoni goes with you into the twenty-first century. With complete coverage of contemporary terms in business, technology, politics, culture, and medicine, the HarperCollins Sansoni is the most authoritative single-volume Italian-English dictionary available. More in-depth. The HarperCollins Sansoni is a significant advance in Italian-English dictionary making. Produced by one of the leading dictionary publishers in Italy, this dictionary demonstrates usage, idioms, and grammatical constructions in thousands of examples, enhancing your ability to make accurate translations. More colloquial usage than any other Italian dictionary. With its emphasis on the language as it is used today, and full treatment of irregular forms of verbs, nouns, and adjectives, the HarperCollins Sansoni is the best book for translation and finding the right word.
Modern Italian Grammar
by
This new edition of the Modern Italian Grammaris an innovative reference guide to Italian, combining traditional and function-based grammar in a single volume. With a strong emphasis on contemporary usage, all grammar points and functions are richly illustrated with examples. Implementing feedback from users of the first edition, this text includes clearer explanations, as well as a greater emphasis on areas of particular difficulty for learners of Italian. Divided into two sections, the book covers: traditional grammatical categories such as word order, nouns, verbs and adjectives language functions and notions such as giving and seeking information, describing processes and results, and expressing likes, dislikes and preferences. This is the ideal reference grammar for learners of Italian at all levels, from beginner to advanced. No prior knowledge of grammatical terminology is needed and a glossary of grammatical terms is provided. This Grammar is complemented by theModern Italian Grammar Workbook Second Editionwhich features related exercises and activities.
New Approaches to Teaching Italian Language and Culture
by
New Approaches to Teaching Italian Language and Culture fills a major gap in existing scholarship and textbooks devoted to the teaching of Italian language and culture. A much-needed project in Italianistica, this collection of essays offers case studies that provide a coherent and organized overview of contemporary Italian pedagogy, incorporating the expertise of scholars in the field of language methodology and language acquisition from Italy and four major countries where the study of Italian has a long tradition: Australia, Canada, Great Britain and the United States. The twenty four essays, divided into six main parts, offer a tremendous variety of up-to-date approaches to the teaching of Italian as a foreign language and L2, ranging from theoretical to more practical, hands-on strategies with essays on curricular innovations, technology, study abroad programs, culture, film and song use as effective pedagogical tools. Each case study introduces a systematic approach with an overview of theory, activities and assessment suggestions, collection of research data and syllabi. The book addresses the needs of instructors and teacher trainers, putting in perspective different examples that can be used for more effective teaching techniques according to the ACTFL guidelines and the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages.
Percorsi
by
The first edition of Percorsi quickly became one of the best-selling elementary Italian texts. The new second edition features a new design, more focus on skills-development, updated cultural information Percorsi is an introductory program that promotes the acquisition of Italian language and culture through the integration of the "5 Cs" principles of the National Standards for Foreign Language Education. Percorsi is designed to provide beginning learners with a variety of tools to develop their communicative competence in the four major language skills--listening, speaking, reading, and writing--as they acquire familiarity with Italian culture. All of the features in Percorsi have been carefully thought out to support the two key aspects of the language acquisition process: language comprehension and language production. From the start, carefully structured communicative activities based on authentic materials and texts encourage students to use Italian in everyday situations. Generous use of authentic content also offers students a chance to develop reading skills while gaining cultural awareness and understanding of Italian communities and traditions throughout the world. In addition, each chapter explicitly promotes cultural exploration through illustrated presentations that are followed by activities facilitating comprehension and highlighting cultural comparisons. Students are encouraged to analyze and compare extremely varied aspects of Italian culture while making connections to their own experiences. Note: this is the standalone book, if you want the Book/Access Code order the ISBN below: 0205189393 / 9780205189397 Percorsi: L'Italia attraverso la lingua e la cultura with MyItalianLab and Pearson eText * Package consists of: 0205032915 / 9780205032914 MyItalianLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card -- for Percorsi: L'Italia attraverso la lingua e la cultura (24-month access) 0205784720 / 9780205784721 Percorsi: L'Italia attraverso la lingua e la cultura
Salve!
by
SALVE! is a complete, learner-friendly program for your introductory Italian course that provides you with all of the tools you will need to succeed! The manageable grammar and vocabulary presentations are easy to understand and study, helping you communicate more effectively from the first day of class. Rich cultural material and Sulla Strada video clips give you a taste of everyday life in Italy to provide real-world context, and a wealth of activities in the text and online make it easier to master the nuances of this remarkable language.
Business Spanish Dictionary, Peter Collin Publishing
by
Collins Spanish Concise Dictionary, 6th Edition
by
Revised and updated with a special emphasis on computing terms, this concise edition of the Collins Spanish Dictionary offers comprehensive coverage of today's language with over 190,000 entries and translations, and a comprehensive grammar supplement that teaches how to speak and write in fluent, natural Spanish. Compact, versatile, and practical, this edition includes all the information needed to write a paper, read a book, or tell a story.
Dictionary of Spanish Law, Peter Collin Publishing
by
McGraw Hill's Complete Medical Spanish, Premium Fourth Edition
by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Learn to communicate directly with your Spanish-speaking patients, with the most comprehensive Spanish medical language guide available--now updated and enhanced with more streaming audio of dialogues and specialized medical vocabulary McGraw-Hill's Complete Medical Spanish is the most comprehensive guide available for medical practitioners wishing to speak directly with Spanish-speaking patients--to interview, conduct exams, and provide follow-up instructions--and requires no prior knowledge of the Spanish language. Each chapter of this bestselling program features vocabulary, key phrases, dialogues based on common medical situations, and exercises that reinforce your understanding and build confidence. Upon completion, you'll be able to communicate about and address: chief complaints; giving instructions; common symptoms; qualifying and quantifying pain; emergency room issues; illnesses and medical history; neurological exams; tests for blood, urine, sputum, and skin; prenatal instructions and well-baby visits; emergency-room visits; abdominal pain; trips to the dentist's office; STDs; high blood pressure; diabetes; monthly breast self-examinations; myocardial infarction; cross-cultural communication, and much more. Proven to be effective in building language proficiency for a wide range of medical situations, this guide is ideal for helping you increase your patients' comfort and provide optimal care. McGraw-Hill's Complete Medical Spanish, Premium 4th Edition features: * Sets of flashcards for all the vocabulary lists in the book * More than 2,000 terms * Audio recordings of all the monologues and dialogues from the book, with hundreds of essential phrases and expressions * New sections on: bipolar disorder; behavioral health problems with children; ADHD, disability; pulmonary and respiratory information * New bilingual questionnaires on: women's health; oral health; sleep; CAGE alcohol and drugs
A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish
by
A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish is a comprehensive, cohesive and clear guide to the forms and structures of Spanish as it is written and spoken today in Spain and Latin-America. It includes clear descriptions of all the main grammatical phenomena of Spanish, and their use, illustrated by numerous examples of contemporary Spanish, both Peninsular and Latin-American, formal and informal. Fully revised and updated, the sixth edition is even more relevant to students and teachers of Spanish. The sixth edition includes: * new chapters, providing more detail and examples of key areas of Spanish grammar; * an increased number of Mexican examples to reflect the growing interest in this country's variety of Spanish; * new information for readers studying Spanish and French together; * a glossary of grammatical terms including English translations of Spanish terms. The combination of reference grammar and manual of current usage is invaluable for learners at level B2-C2 of the Common European Framework for Languages, and Intermediate High-Advanced High on the ACTFL proficiency scales.
Oxford Spanish Dictionary
by
A fully updated edition of the Oxford Spanish Dictionary. With over 300,000 words and phrases, and 500,000 translations. 2,000 new words for both English and Spanish. Lots of support for students and professionals using Spanish, with coverage of EU terminology, business and law terms, andupdated ecology vocabulary. Ideal for students spending their year in Spanish or English speaking countries, or for those buying a home abroad, with sample utility bills, bank statements, rental agreements, car documentation, correspondence and CV examples.Lots of cultural notes are included for information on life in Spanish and English speaking countries. A clear colour layout makes finding the translation you need quick and easy.
Vistas
by
Now in its fourth edition, Vistas has become the most successful new introductory Spanish Program in over a decade. Vistas helps students develop solid reading, speaking, and listening skills through frequently used vocabulary; grammar presentation; and t
Vorsprung 1.0
by
TheVorsprungCD-ROM offers additional language practice exercises.
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad @ H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to the Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264
