Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English language reporting of Arab and world news, including both objective news reporting and opinion. Companion to Arabic satellite news channel.
Provides comprehensive business, political, and cultural information on Arab countries in the Middle East and North Africa. Impressive Quick Search capability by concept or keywords in each country link.
Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Illuminates the lives of the most influential and controversial figures in the Middle East and North Africa who came to prominence during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. University of Hartford only.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. University of Hartford only.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Search the complete text of this 4 volume encyclopedia on the nations, cultures and peoples of the Middle East and North Africa. University of Hartford only.
Internet Islamic History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
Wide-ranging resource on Islamic history and culture with a wealth of primary documents and extensive supporting links.
Islamic Heritage Project (Harvard University)
Harvard University has cataloged, conserved, and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from Harvard's renowned library and museum collections.
Power and Succession in Arab Monarchies
Provides an essential compendium of information regarding the politically charged issue of succession in Bahrain, Jordan, Kuwait, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates. University of Hartford only.
The Qur'an (Quran, Koran)
The Koran, the holy scripture of Islam, is the record of Muhammad's oral teaching delivered between the years immediately preceding the Hegira in AD 622 and the Prophet's death in AD 632. This is a searchable English translation. University of Hartford only.
Reformist Voices of Islam: Mediating Islam and Modernity
Introduces the current generation of moderate reformist thinkers and activists within Islam, the intellectual traditions they carry on, and the reasons why reformist movements have been overshadowed by fundamentalist, revolutionary, and jihadist movements in the Islamic world today. University of Hartford only.
Not sure if you should trust a website?
Go to our research tutorial to get tips on finding and evaluating websites
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264