The Cambridge Companion to American Gay and Lesbian Literature
by
This Companion examines the connections between LGBTQ populations and American literature from the late eighteenth to twenty-first centuries. It surveys primary and secondary writings under the evolving category of gay and lesbian authorship, and incorporates current thinking in US-based LGBTQ studies as well as critical practices within the field of American literary studies. This Companion also addresses the ways in which queerness pervades persons, texts, bodies, and reading, while paying attention to the transnational component of such literatures. In so doing, it details the chief genres, conventional historical backgrounds, and influential interpretive practices that support the analysis of LGBTQ literatures in the United States.
The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature
by
Fantasy is a creation of the Enlightenment, and the recognition that excitement and wonder can be found in imagining impossible things. From the ghost stories of the Gothic to the zombies and vampires of twenty-first-century popular literature, from Mrs Radcliffe to Ms Rowling, the fantastic has been popular with readers. Since Tolkien and his many imitators, however, it has become a major publishing phenomenon. In this volume, critics and authors of fantasy look at its history since the Enlightenment, introduce readers to some of the different codes for the reading and understanding of fantasy, and examine some of the many varieties and subgenres of fantasy; from magical realism at the more literary end of the genre, to paranormal romance at the more popular end. The book is edited by the same pair who produced The Cambridge Companion to Science Fiction (winner of a Hugo Award in 2005).
A Handbook to Literature
by
The definitive reference on literature in English, this handbook provides an alphabetical listing of more than 2,000 important terms and facts in literature, linguistics, rhetoric, criticism, printing, bookselling, and information technology. The Web site ( www.prenhall.com/harmon) offers a handy glossary of key terms, a pronunciation key for select terms, pre- and post-tests on the terms, flash cards for key terms, and a literary timeline.
Literature
by
Features student-centered approaches to literature--from experience to interpretation to evaluation--and an emphasis on making connections between texts and thinking critically about literature. Known for its clear presentation of the formal elements of literature and literary analysis, this compact anthology effectively balances classic, modern, and contemporary works across the three major genres, blending well-known writers with a diverse gathering of newer, international figures. This literary breadth is supplemented by extensive coverage of writing about literature, making this book an excellent text for introduction to literature courses as well as literature-based composition courses.
Literature
by
The great themes of humanity--innocence and experience, conformity and rebellion, culture and identity, love and hate, and the presence of death--are represented and explored. The editors have provided advice on how to read and write about the literature in this thematic anthology. Throughout the anthology they raise questions--about style, meaning, and method in the stories, poems, plays, and essays--for consideration as one reads and writes.
Literature
by
Literature, Compact Fourth Edition, a concise version of the most popular introduction of its kind, is organized into three genres--Fiction, Poetry, and Drama. As in past editions, the authors' collective poetic voice brings personal warmth and a human perspective to the discussion of literature, adding to students' interest in the readings.
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
by
The bestselling Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms provides clear and concise definitions of the most troublesome literary terms, from abjection to zeugma. It is an essential reference tool for students of literature in any language. Now expanded and in its fourth edition, it includes increased coverage of new terms from modern critical and theoretical movements, such as feminism, schools of American poetry, Spanish verse forms, life writing, and crime fiction.
The Penguin Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory
by
The Penguin Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory is firmly established as a key work of reference in the complex and varied field of literary criticism. Now in its fifth edition, it remains the most comprehensive and accessible work of its kind, and is invaluable for students, teachers and general readers alike. - Gives definitions of technical terms (hamartia, iamb, zeugma) and critical jargon (aporia, binary opposition, intertextuality) - Explores literary movements (neoclassism, romanticism, vorticism) and schools of literary theory - Covers genres (elegy, fabliau, pastoral) and literary forms (haiku, ottava rima, sonnet)
Studying Literature
by
Examines what makes a piece of writing "literature" and discusses individual pieces in the context of students' experiences, beliefs, and values.
Teaching Literature
by
Teaching Literature is an inspirational guidebook for all teachers of English and American literature in higher education. Written by leading academic, prolific author and cultural journalist, Elaine Showalter. Original and provocative reflections on teaching literature in higher education. Encourages teachers to make their classroom practice intellectually exciting. Wide-ranging - covers the practical, theoretical, and methodological aspects of teaching literature. Highly practical - employs real examples from real classes and careers throughout.
African American Literature in Transition, 1865-1880: Volume 5, 1865-1880
by
This volume offers the most nuanced treatment available of Black engagement with print in the transitional years after the Civil War. It locates and studies materials that many literary historians leave out of narratives of American culture. But as important as such recovery work is, African American Literature in Transition, 1865-1880 also emphasizes innovative approaches, recognizing that such recovery inherently challenges methods dominant in American literary study. At the book's core is the recognition that many period texts - by writers from Frances Ellen Watkins Harper and William Wells Brown to Mattie Jackson and William Steward - are not only aesthetically striking but also central to understanding key socio-historical and cultural trends in the nineteenth century. Chapters by leading scholars are grouped in three sections - 'Citizenships, Textualities, and Domesticities', 'Persons and Bodies', and 'Memories, Materialities, and Locations' - and focus on debates over race, nation, personhood, and print that were central to Reconstruction.
The Cambridge Companion to American Gay and Lesbian Literature
by
This Companion examines the connections between LGBTQ populations and American literature from the late eighteenth to twenty-first centuries. It surveys primary and secondary writings under the evolving category of gay and lesbian authorship, and incorporates current thinking in US-based LGBTQ studies as well as critical practices within the field of American literary studies. Additionally, the content details the chief genres, conventional historical backgrounds, and influential interpretive practices that support the analysis of LGBTQ literatures in the United States. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
The Cambridge Companion to Native American Literature
by
This Companion chronicles and celebrates path of American Indian literature by defining relevant institutional, historical, cultural, and gender contexts, by outlining the variety of genres written since the 1770s, and also by focusing on significant authors who established a place for Native literature in literary canons in the 1970s, achieved international recognition in the 1980s, and performance-celebrity status in the 1990s. Includes bio-bibliographies of forty authors, maps, suggestions for further reading, and a timeline which details major works of Native American literature and mainstream American literature, as well as significant social, cultural and historical events.
Encyclopedia of African-American Literature
by
This updated and comprehensive encyclopedia presents a reference guide to African American literature providing profiles of notable and little-known writers and their works, literary forms and genres, critics and scholars, themes and terminology, and more. Includes coverage of authors central to the "Survey of African American Literature," course. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
Encyclopedia of African-American writing: five centuries of contribution: trials & triumphs of writers, poets, publications and organizations
by
A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, The Encyclopedia of African-American Writing covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present. Readers will explore what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how those writings contributed to culture in America today. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
Encyclopedia of American Literature
by
This updated and comprehensive encyclopedia includes entries on writers, works, literary movements, and a variety of other topics. Regionally and culturally inclusive, entries on writers describe key life events, provide thumbnail descriptions of and critical reactions to their works, and discuss the writer's significance in the literary period. Four volumes present a comprehensive reference guide to American literature from the colonial period through the present and includes authors central to the “Survey of American Literature I & II” courses. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
A History of American Civil War Literature
by
This book is the first omnibus history of the literature of the American Civil War, the deadliest conflict in US history. A History of American Civil War Literature examines the way in which the war has been remembered and rewritten over time in prose, poems, and other narratives. This history incorporates new directions in Civil War historiography and cultural studies while giving equal attention to writings from both northern and southern states. It redresses the traditional neglect of southern literary cultures by moving between the North and the South, thus finding a balance between Union and Confederate texts. Written by leading scholars in the field, this book works to redefine the boundaries of American Civil War literature while posing a fundamental question: why does this 150-year-old conflict continue to capture the American imagination?
The Makings and Unmakings of Americans
by
Challenges the myth of the United States as a nation of immigrants by bringing together two groups rarely read together: Native Americans and Eastern European immigrants In this cultural history of Americanization during the Progressive Era, Cristina Stanciu argues that new immigrants and Native Americans shaped the intellectual and cultural debates over inclusion and exclusion, challenging ideas of national belonging, citizenship, and literary and cultural production. Deeply grounded in a wide-ranging archive of Indigenous and new immigrant writing and visual culture--including congressional acts, testimonies, news reports, cartoons, poetry, fiction, and silent film--this book brings together voices of Native and immigrant America. Stanciu shows that, although Native Americans and new immigrants faced different legal and cultural obstacles to citizenship, the challenges they faced and their resistance to assimilation and Americanization often ran along parallel paths. Both struggled against idealized models of American citizenship that dominated public spaces. Both participated in government-sponsored Americanization efforts and worked to gain agency and sovereignty while negotiating naturalization. Rethinking popular understandings of Americanization, Stanciu argues that the new immigrants and Native Americans at the heart of this book expanded the narrow definitions of American identity.
The Norton Anthology of American Literature
by
The most trusted anthology for complete works, balanced selections, and helpful editorial apparatus, The Norton Anthology of American Literature, Shorter Ninth Edition, features a cover-to-cover revision. Fresh scholarship, new authors and topical clusters, a new eBook, and an enriched instructor site make the Norton Anthology an even better teaching tool for instructors and an unmatched value for students.
The Vintage Book of American Women Writers
by
For centuries women have been marginalized and overlooked in American literary history. That injustice is corrected in this entertaining and provocative collection of 350 years of poetry and fiction by American women. From Puritan poet Anne Bradstreet to Margaret Fuller and Harriet Beecher Stowe, to contemporary stars like Annie Proux and Jhumpa Lahiri, readers will encounter scores of lesser-known and forgotten writers who fully deserve to be rediscovered and enjoyed by new generations. This landmark anthology offers an epic overview of the canon.
British and Irish Novelists
by
This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods. For a listing of Dictionary of Literary Biography volumes sorted by genre click here. 01
British Women Writers
by
An anthology of poems, plays, short stories, extracts from novels, diaries, letters, and journalism by over 60 women authors over the last 600 years.
The Cambridge Companion to Fiction in the Romantic Period
by
While poetry has been the genre most closely associated with the Romantic period, the novel of the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries has attracted many more readers and students in recent years. Its canon has been widened to include less well known authors alongside Jane Austen, Walter Scott, Maria Edgeworth and Thomas Love Peacock. Over the last generation, especially, a remarkable range of popular works from the period have been re-discovered and reread intensively. This Companion offers an overview of British fiction written between roughly the mid-1760s and the early 1830s and is an ideal guide to the major authors, historical and cultural contexts, and later critical reception. The contributors to this volume represent the most up-to-date directions in scholarship, charting the ways in which the period's social, political and intellectual redefinitions created new fictional subjects, forms and audiences.
The Cambridge History of English Literature, 1660-1780
by
The Cambridge History of English Literature, 1660-1780 offers readers discussions of the entire range of literary expression from the Restoration to the end of the eighteenth century. In essays by thirty distinguished scholars, recent historical perspectives and new critical approaches and methods are brought to bear on the classic authors and texts of the period. The volume's guiding purpose is to examine the social and historical circumstances within which literary production and imaginative writing take place in the period and to evaluate the enduring verbal complexity and cultural insights they articulate so powerfully.
A Chronological Outline of British Literature
by
Product information not available.
Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature
by
The Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature is an essential companion to a literary tradition of extraordinary depth. Includes entries by more than 200 authorities covering all of British literature. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
by
This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods. For a listing of Dictionary of Literary Biography volumes sorted by genre click here. 01
English Literature in the Sixteenth Century (Excluding Drama)
by
C. S. Lewis offers a magisterial take on the literature and poetry of one of the most consequential periods in world history, providing deep insight into some of the greatest writers of the age, including Edmund Spenser, William Shakespeare, William Tyndale, John Knox, Dr. Johnson, Richard Hooker, Hugh Latimer, Christopher Marlowe, John Donne, and Thomas Cranmer. English Literature in the Sixteenth Century is an invigorating overview of English literature from the Norman Conquest through the mid-seventeenth century from one of the greatest public intellectuals of the modern age. In this wise, distinctive collection, C. S. Lewis expounds on the profound impact prose and poetry had on both British intellectual life and his own critical thinking and writing, demonstrated in his deep reflections and essays. This incisive work is essential for any serious literature scholar, intellectual Anglophile, or C. S. Lewis fan.
A Literature of Their Own
by
When first published in 1977, A Literature of Their Own quickly set the stage for the creative explosion of feminist literary studies that transformed the field in the 1980s. Launching a major new area for literary investigation, the book uncovered the long but neglected tradition of women writers in England. This revised and expanded edition contains a new introductory chapter surveying the book's reception and a new postscript chapter celebrating the legacy of feminism and feminist criticism in the efflorescence of contemporary British fiction by women.
The Longman Anthology of British Literature
by
"The Longman Compact Anthology of British Literature" is a concise and thoughtfully arranged survey of British literature for the one semester course. Volume one covers: The Middle Ages; The early modern period; The Restoration and the 18th century. Volume two covers: The Romantics and their contemporaries; The Victorian age; The twentieth century.
Twenty-First-Century Black British Writers
by
This volume complements the work of earlier literary historians and of the featured writers themselves by enlarging the reader's knowledge about the cultural ferment going on in Britain at the beginning of the third millennium. The writers included all seek to transform British society by casting a light on cultural realities that can no longer be overlooked. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
Twenty-First-Century British and Irish Novelists
by
This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods. For a listing of Dictionary of Literary Biography volumes sorted by genre click here. 01
Anthology of Classical Myth
by
This volume is designed as a companion to the standard undergraduate mythology textbooks or, when assigned alongside the central Greek and Roman works, as a source-based alternative to those textbooks. In addition to the complete texts of the Homeric Hymns and Hesiod's Theogony, this collection provides generous selections from over 50 texts composed between the Archaic Age and the fourth century A.D. Ancient interpretation of myth is represented here in selections from the allegorists Heraclitus, Cornutus and Fulgentius, the rationalists Palaephatus and Diodorus of Sicily, and the philosophers and historians Plato, Herodotus and Thucydides. Appendices treat evidence from inscriptions, papyri and Linear B tablets and include a thematic index, a mythological dictionary, and genealogies. A thoughtful Introduction supports students working with the primary sources and the other resources offered here; an extensive note to instructors offers suggestions on how to incorporate this book into their courses.
The Cambridge Companion to Medieval English Literature, 1100-1500
by
The medieval period was one of extraordinary literary achievement sustained over centuries of great change, anchored by the Norman invasion and its aftermath, the re-emergence of English as the nation's leading literary language in the fourteenth century and the advent of print in the fifteenth. This Companion spans four full centuries to survey this most formative and turbulent era in the history of literature in English. Exploring the period's key authors - Chaucer, Langland, the Gawain-Poet, Margery Kempe, among many - and genres - plays, romances, poems and epics - the book offers an overview of the riches of medieval writing.
The Cambridge Companion to Medieval Women's Writing
by
The Cambridge Companion to Medieval Women's Writing seeks to recover the lives and particular experiences of medieval women by concentrating on various kinds of texts: the texts they wrote themselves as well as texts that attempted to shape, limit, or expand their lives. The first section investigates the roles traditionally assigned to medieval women (as virgins, widows, and wives); it also considers female childhood and relations between women. The second section explores social spaces, including textuality itself: for every surviving medieval manuscript bespeaks collaborative effort. It considers women as authors, as anchoresses 'dead to the world', and as preachers and teachers in the world staking claims to authority without entering a pulpit. The final section considers the lives and writings of remarkable women, including Marie de France, Heloise, Joan of Arc, Julian of Norwich, Margery Kempe, and female lyricists and romancers whose names are lost, but whose texts survive.
The Cambridge History of Medieval English Literature
by
Thirty-three distinguished contributors offer a collaborative account of literature composed or transmitted in England, Wales, Ireland and Scotland between the Norman conquest and the death of Henry VIII in 1547. It provides information on a vast range of literary texts and the conditions of their production and reception, which will serve both specialists and general readers, and also contains a chronology, full bibliography and a detailed index. This book offers an extensive and vibrant account of the medieval literatures so drastically reconfigured in Tudor England. It will thus prove essential reading for scholars of the Renaissance as well as medievalists, and for historians as well as literary specialists.
Classical Literary Criticism
by
This excellent and accessible work includes many major texts in translation: Aristotle's Poetics, Longinus' On Sublimity, Horace's Art of Poetry, Tacitus' Dialogues, and extracts from Plato and Plutarch. Based on the highly praised Ancient Literary Criticism (OUP, 1972), it contains a newintroduction and explanatory notes, and will be of enormous value to students both of Latin and Greek and of literary criticism and theory.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Literature
by
style=color: #333333; font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 11 ;>Encyclopedia of Ancient Literature, Second Edition features more than 500 entries covering the literary works, writers, and concepts of the ancient world, from the beginnings to approximately 500 . Ranging from ancient Greece and Rome to China, Egypt, Japan, India, Persia, Babylonia, the Hebrew world, and more, this accessible A-to-Z encyclopedia provides students with an extensive overview of this period of literature Updates to this new edition include expanded critical commentary sections on 19 widely studied works of literature, including the great Greek epics and tragedies and the Aeneid, the greatest of the Roman epics. This edition also contains important revisions to a number of other entries throughout the book, mainly reflecting new currents in scholarly thought. Coverage includes: ul style=color: #333333; font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 11 Writers, such as Aeschylus, Aesop, Aristophanes, Aristotle, Julius Caesar, Cicero, Confucius, Demosthenes, Euclid, Flavius Josephus, Hammurabi, Herodotus, Homer, Horace, Menander, Plato, Princess Nukata, Sappho, Sima Qian, Sophocles, Thucydides, Virgil, Yamanoue no Okura, Zoroaster, and moreFamous works, such as the Aeneid, Antigone, the Egyptian Book of the Dead, The Gilgamesh Epic, the Hebrew Bible, the History of the Peloponnesian War, the Iliad, Medea, the Metamorphoses, the Nart Sagas, the New Testament, the Odyssey, the Oresteia, the Ramayana, the Rig-Veda, the Trojan Women, and moreLiterary and historical terms, such as alphabet, hubris, epic, quipu, Rosetta Stone, and more.
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
by
Medieval literature encompasses a broad sweep of people, cultures, and styles, offering a comprehensive account of the literary works, writers, and concepts of the Middle Ages, from 500 to 1500. Covering not only European literature but also that of India, the Far East, and the Muslim world, this invaluable A-to-Z guide contains approximately 700 entries, making it one of the most inclusive single-volume references of its kind. This new edition contains a number of important updates reflecting recent scholarship. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
A Loeb Classical Library Reader
by
This selection of lapidary nuggets drawn from 33 of antiquity's major authors includes poetry, dialogue, philosophical writing, history, descriptive reporting, satire, and fiction--giving a glimpse at the wide range of arts and sciences, thought and styles, of Greco-Roman culture.The selections span twelve centuries, from Homer to Saint Jerome. The texts and translations are reproduced as they appear in Loeb volumes.The Loeb Classical Library® is the only existing series of books which, through original text and facing English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. A Loeb Classical Library Reader offers a unique sampling of this treasure trove. In these pages you will find:Odysseus tricking the Cyclops in order to escape from the giant's cave; Zeus creating the first woman, Pandora, cause of mortals' hardships ever after; the Athenian general Nicias dissuading his countrymen from invading Sicily; Socrates, condemned to die, saying farewell; a description of Herod's fortified palace at Masada; Cicero's thoughts on what we owe our fellow men; Livy's description of the rape of the Sabine women; Manilius on the signs of the zodiac; and Pliny's observation of the eruption of Vesuvius in 79 CE.Here you can enjoy looking in on people, real and imaginary, who figure prominently in ancient history, and on notable events. Here, too, you can relish classical poetry and comedy, and get a taste of the ideas characteristic of the splendid culture to which we are heir.
Medieval Japanese Writers
by
This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods. For a listing of Dictionary of Literary Biography volumes sorted by genre click here. 01
Norton Book of Classical Literature
by
An anthology of classical literature features more than three hundred selections, including pieces on the origins of the Greek language, works by Homer, discussion on the fall of Rome and St. Augustine, and more. Contains more than 300 pieces of classical literature, primarily Greek but also some Roman.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
by
Regarded as the unrivalled one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. As an authoritative reference to all there is to know about the ancients, the third edition of the Dictionary has firmly maintained that position. The value of the Dictionary in terms of factual detail is immense. It provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world. In over 6,200 entries written by the very best of classical scholars from all over the world the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies, and late antiquity.
The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
by
The complete and authoritative reference guide to the classical world and its literary heritage. It not only presents the reader with all the essential facts about the authors, tales, and characters from ancient myth and literature, but it also places these details in the wider contexts of the history and society of the Greek and Roman worlds. With an extensive web of cross-references, a useful chronological table, and location maps, this volume traces the development of literary forms and the classical allusions which have become embedded in our Western culture.
The Routledge Research Companion to Shakespeare and Classical Literature
by
Essays exploring Shakespeare's debts to classical works and the qualities that make his works into classics of modern drama.
African Literature in the Digital Age
by
The first book-length study on the relationship between African literature and new media.The digital space provides a new avenue to move literature beyond the restrictions of book publishing on the continent. Arguing that writers are putting their work on cyberspace because communities are emerging from this space, and because increasing numbers of Africans use the internet as part of their day-to-day engagement with their societies and the world, Shola Adenekan explores this transformative development in Nigeria and Kenya, both significant countries in African literature and two of the continent's largest digital technology hubs. Queer Kenyans and Nigerians find new avenues for their work online where print publishers are refusing to publish short stories and poems on same-sex desire. Binyavanga Wainaina's rise to critical acclaim arguably started on the literary blog Generator 21. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's literary celebrity partly relies on her prolific use of social media to tell thestory of powerful Nigerian women. With further examples from the development of literature across the continent, this innovative book sheds new light on narratives about digital Africa. It will also be the first major work to provide a trajectory of class consciousness in Kenyan and Nigerian writing. Through this analysis, the book articulates the difference in attitudes towards queerness, sexuality, and hetero-normativity among successive generations of writers.erian women. With further examples from the development of literature across the continent, this innovative book sheds new light on narratives about digital Africa. It will also be the first major work to provide a trajectory of class consciousness in Kenyan and Nigerian writing. Through this analysis, the book articulates the difference in attitudes towards queerness, sexuality, and hetero-normativity among successive generations of writers.erian women. With further examples from the development of literature across the continent, this innovative book sheds new light on narratives about digital Africa. It will also be the first major work to provide a trajectory of class consciousness in Kenyan and Nigerian writing. Through this analysis, the book articulates the difference in attitudes towards queerness, sexuality, and hetero-normativity among successive generations of writers.erian women. With further examples from the development of literature across the continent, this innovative book sheds new light on narratives about digital Africa. It will also be the first major work to provide a trajectory of class consciousness in Kenyan and Nigerian writing. Through this analysis, the book articulates the difference in attitudes towards queerness, sexuality, and hetero-normativity among successive generations of writers.
The Cambridge History of African and Caribbean Literature
by
This work offers new perspectives on African and Caribbean literature. Chapters address the literature itself, the practices and conditions of its composition, and its complex relationship with African social and geopolitical history. The book provides an account of the entire body of productions that can be considered to comprise the field of African literature, defined both by imaginative expression in Africa itself and the black diaspora. The book accounts for the specific historical and cultural context in which this expression has been manifested in African and the Caribbean: the formal particularities of the literary corpus, both oral and written, that can be ascribed to the two areas, and the diversity of material and texts covered by the representative works.
Encyclopedia of German Literature
by
This authoritative two-volume set features in-depth treatment of German literary studies. Arranged in A-to-Z format, the articles are both definitive and critical. Includes more than 500 entries on writers, individual works, and topics essential to an understanding of the rich German literary tradition. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
A History of Modern French Literature
by
An accessible and authoritative new history of French literature, written by a highly distinguished transatlantic group of scholars This book provides an engaging, accessible, and exciting new history of French literature from the Renaissance through the twentieth century, from Rabelais and Marguerite de Navarre to Samuel Beckett and Assia Djebar. Christopher Prendergast, one of today's most distinguished authorities on French literature, has gathered a transatlantic group of more than thirty leading scholars who provide original essays on carefully selected writers, works, and topics that open a window onto key chapters of French literary history. The book begins in the sixteenth century with the formation of a modern national literary consciousness, and ends in the late twentieth century with the idea of the "national" coming increasingly into question as inherited meanings of "French" and "Frenchness" expand beyond the geographical limits of mainland France. Provides an exciting new account of French literary history from the Renaissance to the end of the twentieth century Features more than thirty original essays on key writers, works, and topics, written by a distinguished transatlantic group of scholars Includes an introduction and index The contributors include Etienne Beaulieu, Christopher Braider, Peter Brooks, Mary Ann Caws, David Coward, Nicholas Cronk, Edwin M. Duval, Mary Gallagher, Raymond Geuss, Timothy Hampton, Nicholas Harrison, Katherine Ibbett, Michael Lucey, Susan Maslan, Eric Méchoulan, Hassan Melehy, Larry F. Norman, Nicholas Paige, Roger Pearson, Christopher Prendergast, Jean-Michel Rabaté, Timothy J. Reiss, Sarah Rocheville, Pierre Saint-Amand, Clive Scott, Catriona Seth, Judith Sribnai, Joanna Stalnaker, Aleksandar Stević, Kate E. Tunstall, Steven Ungar, and Wes Williams.
Masterworks of Asian Literature in Comparative Perspective: a Guide for Teaching
by
This is a collection of 46 essays by specialists in Asian literature, who offer a wide range of possibilities for introducing Asian literature to English-speaking students. It is intended to help in promoting multicultural education.
Modern Latin American Literature
by
This text provides an overview of Latin American literature from the late eighteenth century to the present. It covers a wide range of topics, large and small, highlighting how Latin American literature became conscious of its continental scope and international reach in moments of political crisis, such as independence from Spain, the Spanish-American War, and the Mexican and Cuban revolutions. Within this narrative, the author discusses the major writers of Latin American literature. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature
by
This is the first comprehensive reference work on Italian literature to be published in English. With 2,400 entries from an international team of scholars, it provides a wealth of clear, up-to-date assessments of Italy's writers, famous and not so famous, from 1200 to 2000, whether they wrote in Italian, dialect, or Latin, together with vital background information on historical events, regional culture, and the other arts.
The Routledge Companion to World Literature
by
In the age of globalization, the category of "World Literature" is increasingly important to academic teaching and research. The Routledge Companion to World Literature offers a comprehensive pathway into this burgeoning and popular field. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
Beasts at Bedtime
by
Talking lions, philosophical bears, very hungry caterpillars, wise spiders, altruistic trees, companionable moles, urbane elephants: this is the magnificent menagerie that delights our children at bedtime. Within the entertaining pages of many children's books, however, also lie profound teachings about the natural world that can help children develop an educated and engaged appreciation of the dynamic environment they inhabit. In Beasts at Bedtime, scientist (and father) Liam Heneghan examines the environmental underpinnings of children's stories. From Beatrix Potter to Harry Potter, Heneghan unearths the universal insights into our inextricable relationship with nature that underlie so many classic children's stories. Some of the largest environmental challenges in coming years--from climate instability, the extinction crisis, freshwater depletion, and deforestation--are likely to become even more severe as this generation of children grows up. Though today's young readers will bear the brunt of these environmental calamities, they will also be able to contribute to environmental solutions if prepared properly. And all it takes is an attentive eye: Heneghan shows how the nature curriculum is already embedded in bedtime stories, from the earliest board books like The Rainbow Fish to contemporary young adult classics like The Hunger Games. Beasts at Bedtime is an awakening to the vital environmental education children's stories can provide--from the misadventures of The Runaway Bunny to more overt tales like The Lorax. Heneghan serves as our guide, drawing richly upon his own adolescent and parental experiences, as well as his travels in landscapes both experienced and imagined. Organized into thematic sections, the work winds its way through literary forests, colorful characters, and global environments. This book enthralls as it engages. Heneghan as a guide is as charming as he is insightful, showing how kids (and adults) can start to experience the natural world in incredible ways from the comfort of their own rooms. Beasts at Bedtime will help parents, teachers, and guardians extend those cozy times curled up together with a good book into a lifetime of caring for our planet.
Children's Core Collection
by
The Children's Core Collection, (25th Edition, 2022) is a guide of approximately 12,000 books, covering fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, picture books, graphic novels and magazines recommended for readers from preschool through grade six. It is a comprehensive list of recommended books for children, together with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists.
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
by
This Encyclopedia contains over 1,100 biographical-critical entries and 100 topical articles, written by some 150 contributors. It covers 150 years of children's literature in many cultures. Biographical-critical entries include authors as well as illustrators and artists. The board of advisers, made up of scholars, editors, librarians, authors, and artists, has helped to make this encyclopedia even more user-friendly. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
A Critical Handbook of Children's Literature
by
Critical principles and standards are demonstrated using actual examples of quality children's literature to help future teachers, practicing teachers, librarians, and parents select the best books for the classroom, library, or home. Neither a typical classroom textbook nor an anthology of selected stories and book summaries, this thorough resource demonstrates how to select quality children's literature. Specific examples from numerous children's books illuminate each point the authors present.
From Literature to Literacy: bridging learning in the library and the primary grade classroom
by
A discussion of how elementary school teachers and librarians can collaborate to provide rich and fulfilling literary and literacy experiences for the children they teach. It includes The Magic Library, a story that students wrote collaboratively based on what they learned from this method.
Girls' Series Fiction and American Popular Culture
by
Girls' Series Fiction and American Popular Culture examines the ways in which young female heroines in American series fiction have undergone dramatic changes in the past 150 years, changes which have both reflected and modeled standards of behavior for America's tweens and teen girls. Though series books are often derided for lacking in imagination and literary potency, that the majority of American girls have been exposed to girls' series in some form, whether through books, television, or other media, suggests that this genre needs to be studied further and that the development of the heroines that girls read about have created an impact that is worthy of a fresh critical lens. Thus, this collection explores how series books have influenced and shaped popular American culture and, in doing so, girls' everyday experiences from the mid nineteenth century until now. The collection interrogates the cultural work that is performed through the series genre, contemplating the messages these books relay about subjects including race, class, gender, education, family, romance, and friendship, and it examines the trajectory of girl fiction within such contexts as material culture, geopolitics, socioeconomics, and feminism.
Interpreting Literature with Children
by
Clearly organized and beautifully written, this is a remarkable book that stands on the edge of two textbook genres: the survey of literature text and the literary criticism text. Neither approach, however, says enough about how children respond to literature in everyday classroom situations. That is the mission of this book. It begins by providing a solid foundation in both approaches and then examines multiple ways of developing children's literary interpretation through talk, through culture, class, and gender, as well as through creative modes of expression, including writing, the visual arts, and drama. The result is a balanced resource for teachers who want to deepen their understanding of literature and literary engagement.
The Norton Anthology of Children's Literature
by
This groundbreaking anthology includes 170 authors and illustrators of alphabets and animal fables, fairy tales and fantasy, picture books and nursery verse, among many other genres. Over 40 longer complete works and over 400 illustrations, including 60 in color, enhance this comprehensive and visually rich anthology. With introductions that offer fresh insights into the cultural contexts of children's literature and childhood itself over four centuries, author headnotes, annotations, bibliographies, and a timeline, this anthology illuminates a literary tradition whose power to instruct and delight is both centuries old and startlingly new.
Oxford Companion to Children's Literature
by
The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature provides an indispensable and fascinating reference guide to the world of children's literature. Its 3,500 entries cover every genre from fairy tales to chapbooks; school stories to science fiction; comics to children's hymns. This accessible A to Z is the first place to look for information about the authors, illustrators, printers, publishers, educationalists, and others who have influenced the development of children's literature, as well as the stories and characters at their center. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
by
Unlike other references, the Encyclopedia not only documents but also interprets every work, major and minor, that has played a role in the history of children's literature in the world. In addition, the Encyclopedia provides biographies of important writers, as well as extensive coverage of illustrators with numerous examples of their work. A-Z organization, accessible writing, plentiful illustrations, cross-references, bibliographies, a comprehensive index and a systematic outline make the Encyclopedia an invaluable and easy-to-use research reference.
A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books, 10th Edition
by
Generations of savvy librarians and educators have relied on this detailed subject guide to children's picture books for all aspects of children's services, and this new edition does not disappoint. Covering more than 18,000 books published through 2017, it empowers users to identify current and classic titles on topics ranging from apples to zebras. Organized simply, with a subject guide that categorizes subjects by theme and topic and subject headings arranged alphabetically, this reference applies more than 1,200 intuitive (as opposed to formal catalog) subject terms to children's picture books, making it both a comprehensive and user-friendly resource that is accessible to parents and teachers as well as librarians. It can be used to identify titles to fill in gaps in library collections, to find books on particular topics for young readers, to help teachers locate titles to support lessons, or to design thematic programs and story times. Title and illustrator indexes, in addition to a bibliographic guide arranged alphabetically by author name, further extend access to titles.
Was the Cat in the Hat Black?
by
Racism is resilient, duplicitous, and endlessly adaptable, so it is no surprise that America is again in a period of civil rights activism. A significant reason racism endures is because it is structural: it's embedded in culture and in institutions. One of the places that racism hides - andthus perhaps the best place to oppose it - is books for young people.Was the Cat in the Hat Black? presents five serious critiques of the history and current state of children's literature tempestuous relationship with both implicit and explicit forms of racism. The book fearlessly examines topics both vivid-such as The Cat in the Hat's roots in blackface minstrelsy- and more opaque, like how the children's book industry can perpetuate structural racism via whitewashed covers even while making efforts to increase diversity. Rooted in research yet written with a lively, crackling touch, Nel delves into years of literary criticism and recent sociological data inorder to show a better way forward. Though much of what is proposed here could be endlessly argued, the knowledge that what we learn in childhood imparts both subtle and explicit lessons about whose lives matter is not debatable. The text concludes with a short and stark proposal of actionseveryone-reader, author, publisher, scholar, citizen - can take to fight the biases and prejudices that infect children's literature. While Was the Cat in the Hat Black? does not assume it has all the answers to such a deeply systemic problem, its audacity should stimulate discussion andactivism.
The Arden Research Handbook of Shakespeare and Adaptation
by
The Complete works: 37 Plays + 160 Sonnets + 5 Poetry Books + 150 Illustrations
by
This ebook contains William Shakespeare's complete works. This edition has been professionally formatted and contains several tables of contents. The first table of contents (at the very beginning of the ebook) lists the titles of all novels included in this volume. By clicking on one of those titles you will be redirected to the beginning of that work, where you'll find a new TOC that lists all the chapters and sub-chapters of that specific work. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
Living with Shakespeare
by
Why Shakespeare? What explains our continued fascination with his poems and plays? In Living with Shakespeare, Susannah Carson invites forty actors, directors, scholars, and writers to reflect on why his work is still such a vital part of our culture. Together these essays provide a fresh appreciation of Shakespeare's works as a living legacy to be read, seen, performed, adapted, revised, wrestled with, and embraced by creative professionals and lay enthusiasts alike.
Shakespeare's Language
by
Offers an overview of the rich and dynamic history of the reception and study of Shakespeare's language from his death right up to the present. Tracing a chronological history of Shakespeare's language, Keith Johnson also picks up on classic and contemporary themes, such as: lexical and digital studies original pronunciation rhetoric grammar. The historical approach provides a comprehensive overview, plotting the attitudes towards Shakespeare's language, as well as a history of its study. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
Shakespeare's Theatre: a History
by
This text examines the theatre spaces used by William Shakespeare, and explores these spaces in relation to the social and political framework of the Elizabethan era. It journeys from the performing spaces of the provincial inns, guild halls and houses of the gentry of the Bard's early career, to the purpose-built outdoor playhouses of London, including the Globe, the Theatre, and the Curtain, and the royal courts of Elizabeth and James I. The author also discusses the players for whom Shakespeare wrote, and the positioning--or dispositioning--of audience members in relation to the stage. Shakespeare's Theatre is ideal reading for undergraduates, postgraduates, and scholars of literature and theatre studies. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
Shakespeare: an Oxford Guide
by
This stimulating and comprehensive guide to Shakespeare is an ideal text for undergraduate students. It includes over forty specially commissioned essays by an outstanding team of scholars. Each essay is written in an accessible and engaging style and is followed by annotated suggestions for further reading.
Shakespeare and Gender
by
Shakespeare and Gender guides students, educators, practitioners and researchers through the complexities of the representation of gender and sexuality in Shakespeare's work. Informed by contemporary and early modern debates and insights into gender and sexuality, including intersectionality, feminist geography, queer and performance studies and fourth-wave feminism, this book provides a lucid and lively discussion of how gender and sexual identity are debated, contested and displayed in Shakespeare's plays and sonnets. Using close textual analysis hand-in- hand with diverse contextual materials, the book offers an accessible and intelligent introduction to how gender debates are integral to the plays and poems, and why we continue to read and perform them with this in mind. Topics and themes discussed include gendering madness, paternity and the patriarchy, sexuality, anxious masculinity, maternal bodies, gender transgression, and kingship and the male body politic.
Shakespeare for Students
by
Collection of essays by Shakespeare scholars that have been selected for students at the high school or undergraduate college level. Each entry includes an introduction; a plot synopsis; a character list; a discussion of the work's principal themes; information about the style and literary devices used; a conversation about the work's historical context; and a critical overview. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
Shakespeare in America
by
An anthology that traces how Shakespeare has shaped American history and culture-featuring pieces by Founding Fathers, Orson Welles, and other noteworthy figures. Shakespeare was a central, inescapable part of America's literary inheritance, and a prism through which crucial American issues-revolution, slavery, war, social justice-were refracted and understood. In tracing the many surprising forms this influence took, the author draws on many genres-poetry, fiction, essays, plays, memoirs, songs, speeches, letters, movie reviews, comedy routines-and on a remarkable range of American writers. The rich and tangled story of how Americans made Shakespeare their own is a literary and historical revelation.
Studying Shakespeare
by
This engaging book draws on all of Shakespeare's plays to show they can still be used as a guide to life. Introduces beginning students and general readers to Shakespeare's plays by highlighting the connections between the issues addressed by the plays and those of our own time. Focuses on the characters, situations and stories in Shakespeare which are still familiar today. Shows how Shakespeare's plays illustrate some of life's most familiar stories - love and obsession, parents and children, sex and politics, suffering and revenge. Makes Shakespeare's plays accessible to the widest possible audience.
Thinking about Shakespeare
by
This book reveals the rich inner lives of some of Shakespeare's most enigmatic characters and the ways in which their emotions and actions shape and are shaped by the social and political world around them. In addressing all genres in the Shakespeare canon, the authors explore the possibility of people being constant to each other in many different kinds of relationships: those of lovers, kings and subjects, friends, and business partners. While some bonds are irrevocably broken, many are reaffirmed. In all cases, the authors offer insight into what drives Shakespeare's characters to do what they do, what draws them together or pulls them apart, and the extent to which bonds can ever be eternal. Ultimately, the most durable bond may be between the playwright and the audience, whereby the playwright pleases and the audience approves. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad @ H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to the Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264
