Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Google Research Tools: Home

Google Books

Google Book Search  

Contains scanned books which are full-text searchable.

Helpful for: Discovering additional books or searching inside a book.

Viewing levels: 

  • Full text: Mostly older books.
  • Limited: Selected pages or snippets available.
  • None: Book information only, no text.

Need to read the whole book?

Search the library catalog to see if we have a copy.
Not available in our library? Find it in WorldCat, then request a copy through ILL (Interlibrary Loan).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search  

Contains citations to scholarly articles, dissertations, and more. Some are full-text searchable.

Helpful for: Discovering additional resources on your topic.

Need to read the whole thing?

Articles: Search eJournal Locator for the journal title (not the article title!) to see if we have a print or electronic subscription. Not available from our library? Request a scan through ILL (Interlibrary Loan).

Books: Search the library catalog to see if we have a copy. If not, find it in WorldCat, then request a copy through ILL (Interlibrary Loan).

Dissertations: Check Proquest Dissertations & Theses or the open web. If not available online, request a copy through ILL (Interlibrary Loan).

Careful!

Both Google Books and Google Scholar provide incomplete results and citations. You still have to check library resources! Try:

Articles: Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, or a subject-specific database

Books: Library Catalog or WorldCat

Dissertations: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help

University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264