Engineering Design
by
Dieter's Engineering Design represents a major update of this classic textbook for senior design courses. As in previous editions, Engineering Design provides a broader overview of topics than most design texts and contains much more prescriptive guidance on how to carry out design. Dieter focuses on material selection as well as how to implement the design process. Engineering Design provides students with a realistic understanding of the design process. It is written from the viewpoint that design is the central activity of the engineering profession, and it is more concerned with developing attitudes and approaches than in presenting design techniques and tools.
Engineering Ethics
by
How do you handle conflicts of interest? Have you ever been offered a kickback or asked for a "voluntary" contribution to a cause? Are there cases where we can - and should - act against an important principle to achieve an even-more-important benefit? To tweet or not to tweet? In Pursuing Engineering Ethics through Real-World Case Studies, Starrett, Lara, and Bertha provide in-depth analysis with extended discussions and study questions of case studies that are based on real work situations. Important concepts such as rights and obligations; conflict of interest; professionalism and mentoring; confidentiality; whistleblowing; bribery, fraud, and corruption; and ethical communication with the public in a social media world are discussed in practical and approachable terms. Organized by the canons of the ASCE Code of Ethics, this book is intended for practitioners, consultants, government engineers, engineering educators, and students in all engineering disciplines.
Flexibility in Engineering Design
by
A guide to using the power of design flexibility to improve the performance of complex technological projects, for designers, managers, users, and analysts. Project teams can improve results by recognizing that the future is inevitably uncertain and that by creating flexible designs they can adapt to eventualities. Designers of complex, long-lasting projects-such as communication networks, power plants, or hospitals-must learn to abandon fixed specifications and narrow forecasts. They need to avoid the "flaw of averages," the conceptual pitfall that traps so many designs in underperformance. Failure to allow for changing circumstances risks leaving significant value untapped. This book is a guide for creating and implementing value-enhancing flexibility in design. It will be an essential resource for all participants in the development and operation of technological systems- designers, managers, financial analysts, investors, regulators, and academics.
Inventive Engineering
by
Inventive Engineering: Knowledge and Skills for Creative Engineers has its roots in engineering, psychology, history, systems engineering, political science, and computer science. It presents a body of knowledge integrated from these fields. It provides: Background knowledge, which will motivate and prepare readers for learning inventive engineering. A general outline of Inventive Engineering, with an understanding of the conceptual designing process and its various stages. Guidance on several inventive designing methods set in their cultural context to encourage students to develop practical skills for their use.
Autonomous Vehicles
by
Earthquake Science and Engineering
by
Architectural Acoustics
by
In this book, the illustrations are the core of the coverage of basic principles of sound and hearing, sound absorption and noise reduction, sound isolation and criteria for noise, control of HVAC systems noise and vibrations, auditorium acoustics design, and electronic sound systems. The book is written for architects, interior designers, engineers, and all others concerned with the design and construction of buildings who need to know the basics of architectural acoustics, but who do not have the time to digest wordy presentations. Designers who understand the basic principles of acoustics will possess an important new tool for shaping the built environment.
Engineering Vibroacoustic Analysis
by
The book describes analytical methods (based primarily on classical modal synthesis), the Finite Element Method (FEM), Boundary Element Method (BEM), Statistical Energy Analysis (SEA), Energy Finite Element Analysis (EFEA), Hybrid Methods (FEM-SEA and Transfer Path Analysis), and Wave-Based Methods. The book also includes procedures for designing noise and vibration control treatments, optimizing structures for reduced vibration and noise, and estimating the uncertainties in analysis results.
Handbook for Sound Engineers
by
Handbook for Sound Engineers is the most comprehensive reference available for audio engineers, and is a must read for all who work in audio. The fifth edition has been updated to reflect changes in the industry, including added emphasis on increasingly prevalent technologies such as software-based recording systems, digital recording using MP3, WAV files, and mobile devices.
Master Handbook of Acoustics, Sixth Edition
by
The most complete and current guide to architectural acoustics principles and practices. Design and construct audiophile-quality sonic environments of all sizes--from home theaters and project studios to large-scale recording studios. Thoroughly revised to include new acoustical design techniques, Master Handbook of Acoustics, Sixth Edition, explains the art and science of room acoustics and architecture by combining theoretical instruction with matter-of-fact engineering advice. Written by renowned experts in the field and refined through several editions, this fully updated classic describes the fundamentals of acoustical properties, as well as the latest solutions to acoustical problems. Throughout, this authoritative text provides clear explanations, describes hands-on techniques, and features numerous room designs that can be built as presented, or adapted to your particular needs.
Audio in Media
by
In this market-leading text, Stanley Alten, an internationally recognized scholar and expert in the area of audio production, provides students with an introduction to the basic techniques and principles needed for audio production in media. The text has helped professors effectively teach this technically based course to the introductory audio production student through its clear and current illustrations and photos and student-friendly writing. Comprehensive, technically accurate, and up-to-date, the text covers informational, perceptual, and aesthetic aspects of sound as they apply to each stage of the production process -- from planning to post-production.
Audio Production Principles
by
With this all-in-one manual, students and teachers have an easy-to-read reference that provides a reliable and current rundown of the world of sound production, from planning a recording session to mastering the final product. Organized by four main topics - pre-production, recording various instruments, mixing theories and tools, and mastering - Audio Production Principles follows the actual flow of instruction given over the course of a student's tenure.
The Business of Audio Engineering
by
The Business of Audio Engineering shares modern-day approaches that will dramatically increase your chances for success in the audio business. This book teaches you what you need to know about the life of a professional audio engineer with effective business strategies presented by an award-winning and highly-esteemed engineer/business pro. From attracting clients to keeping them; to hiring studios to working on your own, dealing with problem artists, producers, and labels; to handling a crisis (or keeping one from happening); to getting paid what you're worth and being worth what you're paid, Dave Hampton has the advice you need to manage your audio engineering career like the successful business it truly can be.
Handbook for Sound Engineers
by
Handbook for Sound Engineers is the most comprehensive reference available for audio engineers, and is a must read for all who work in audio. The fifth edition has been updated to reflect changes in the industry, including added emphasis on increasingly prevalent technologies such as software-based recording systems, digital recording using MP3, WAV files, and mobile devices. This edition has been honed to bring you the most up-to-date information in the many aspects of audio engineering.
Master Handbook of Acoustics, Sixth Edition
by
The most complete and current guide to architectural acoustics principles and practices. Design and construct audiophile-quality sonic environments of all sizes--from home theaters and project studios to large-scale recording studios. Thoroughly revised to include new acoustical design techniques, Master Handbook of Acoustics, Sixth Edition, explains the art and science of room acoustics and architecture by combining theoretical instruction with matter-of-fact engineering advice. Written by renowned experts in the field and refined through several editions, this fully updated classic describes the fundamentals of acoustical properties, as well as the latest solutions to acoustical problems. Throughout, this authoritative text provides clear explanations, describes hands-on techniques, and features numerous room designs that can be built as presented, or adapted to your particular needs.
Math Fundamentals for Audio
by
Math Fundamentals for Audio uniquely complements many popular textbooks on the recording arts and audio engineering with its fresh and thorough presentation of essential mathematical concepts. In this handbook Leslie Gaston-Bird applies principles from algebra, geometry, trigonometry and even calculus to concepts such as Ohm's law, delays, impedance, bandwidth and decibels. This concise book offers a foundation for connecting mathematics with modern software tools for digital audio.
The Recording Engineer's Handbook
by
This fully updated edition offers the most comprehensive and up-to-date introduction to the art of audio recording. Written with special emphasis on today's technology and the evolving marketplace, this edition, includes a complete overview of recording as it's done by most musicians and producers today--in the home studio. Learn the art of recording from renowned author, teacher, producer, and engineer Bobby Owsinski, and, in the interviews, explore the creative processes behind not only today's hits but also the classic cuts we've enjoyed for years.
The Age of Living Machines
by
Outlines the next technology revolution and how it will change human life, drawing on the latest discoveries in biology and engineering to profile such innovations as computer-engineered crops, protein-based water filters, and cancer-detecting nanoparticles.
Biodesign
by
This step-by-step guide to medical technology innovation, now in full color, has been rewritten to reflect recent trends of industry globalization and value-conscious healthcare. Written by a team of medical, engineering, and business experts, the authors provide a comprehensive resource that leads students, researchers, and entrepreneurs through a proven process for the identification, invention, and implementation of new solutions. Case studies on innovative products from around the world, successes and failures, practical advice, and end-of-chapter 'Getting Started' sections encourage readers to learn from real projects and apply important lessons to their own work.
Bioinspired Devices
by
Robotic exoskeletons that allow stroke survivors to regain use of their limbs, 3D-printed replacement body parts, and dozens of other innovations still in schematic design are revolutionizing the treatment of debilitating injuries and nervous system disorders. What all these technologies have in common is that they are modeled after engineering strategies found in nature, strategies developed by a vast array of organisms over eons of evolutionary trial and error. Eugene Goldfield lays out many principles of engineering found in the natural world, with a focus on how evolutionary and developmental adaptations, such as sensory organs and spinal cords, function within complex organisms. Goldfield offers an insider's view of cutting-edge research, and envisions a future in which synthetic and biological devices share energy sources and control, blurring the boundary between nature and medicine.
Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals
by
This is a continuation of the Third Edition published in 2006. This work has become the definitive "Bible" of the field of Biomedical Engineering. As such, it has served as a major reference for all practicing biomedical engineers and students. This book has updated material within all Sections. In addition, this new book will contain the majority of totally new sections such as Stem Cell Engineering and Personalized Medicine
Biomedical Physics & Engineering Express
by
This is a continuously updated eJournal published through PubMed, sponsored by the Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine (Great Britain).
Computational Biomechanics for Medicine
by
The Computational Biomechanics (eBook) for Medicine titles provide an opportunity for specialists in computational biomechanics to present their latest methodologies and advancements. Some of the interesting topics discussed are: real-time simulations; growth and remodeling of soft tissues; inverse and meshless solutions; medical image analysis; and patient-specific solid mechanics simulations. One of the greatest challenges facing the computational engineering community is to extend the success of computational mechanics to fields outside traditional engineering, in particular to biology, the biomedical sciences, and medicine.
Neural Engineering
by
This book covers the principles of advanced 3D fabrication techniques, stem cells and biomaterials for neural engineering. Renowned contributors cover topics such as neural tissue regeneration, peripheral and central nervous system repair, brain-machine interfaces and in vitro nervous system modeling. Within these areas, focus remains on exciting and emerging technologies such as highly developed neuroprostheses and the communication channels between the brain and prostheses, enabling technologies that are beneficial for development of therapeutic interventions, advanced fabrication techniques such as 3D bioprinting, photolithography, microfluidics, and subtractive fabrication, and the engineering of implantable neural grafts.
Civil Engineering All-In-One PE Exam Guide: Breadth and Depth
by
The most complete, current civil engineering PE exam guide. Thoroughly revised to comply with the new PE Civil syllabus, effective April 2015, and the latest specifications and design standards; covers all the topics on the Principles and Practice of Civil Engineering exam, given by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). This edition features two new chapters on building analysis and design and quantity estimating, as well as new and updated material throughout. Presented in the Breadth and Depth format of the actual exam, this authoritative volume provides equations, diagrams, exam preparation strategies, and more than 190 end-of-chapter practice questions with solutions. Designed to help you pass the exam with ease, this comprehensive resource also serves as an essential on-the-job reference.
The Civil Engineering Handbook
by
First published in 1995, the award-winning Civil Engineering Handbook soon became known as the field's definitive reference. To retain its standing as a complete, authoritative resource, the editors have incorporated into this edition the many changes in techniques, tools, and materials that over the last seven years have found their way into civil engineering research and practice. You'll find new, updated, and expanded coverage in every section. In particular you'll find increased focus on computing reflecting the rapid advances in computer technology that has revolutionized many aspects of civil engineering.
Civil Engineering Materials
by
Civil Engineering Materials explains why construction materials behave the way they do. It covers the construction materials content for undergraduate courses in civil engineering and related subjects and serves as a valuable reference for professionals working in the construction industry. The book concentrates on demonstrating methods to obtain, analyze and use information rather than focusing on presenting large amounts of data. Beginning with basic properties of materials, it moves on to more complex areas such as the theory of concrete durability and corrosion of steel.
Civil Engineering PE Practice Exams: Breadth and Depth
by
Presented in the Breadth and Depth format of the actual exam, this comprehensive guide is filled with hundreds of realistic practice questions based on the Principles and Practice of Civil Engineering (PE-CIVIL) exam, given by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). Detailed solutions, including equations and diagrams, are provided for every question. Offers intensive test preparation and is the perfect companion to "Civil Engineering PE All-in-One Exam Guide." COVERS ALL EXAM TOPICS, INCLUDING: Structural: materials, member design, design criteria; Geotechnical: soil mechanics, foundations, excavation, seismic issues; Water resources and environmental: hydraulics, hydrology, water supply and quality, wastewater treatment; Transportation: capacity analysis, planning, freeways, multilane highways; Construction: scheduling, estimating, quality control, safety.
Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations, Third Edition
by
Perform complex design and construction calculations quickly and accurately with help from this thoroughly revised guide. Features more than 3,000 logically organized calculations that align with the latest practices, codes, and standards. You will get start-to-finish calculation procedures for Load Resistance Factor Design (LRFD), anti-terrorism components, enhanced building security, green construction, safe bridge design, and environmentally sound water treatment. All-new steps to improve indoor air quality and protect structures from hurricanes, tornadoes, floods, and waves are also discussed in this on-the-job resource.
Introduction to Civil Engineering Systems
by
This book presents an integrated systems approach to the evaluation, analysis, design, and maintenance of civil engineering systems. Addressing recent concerns about the world's aging civil infrastructure and its environmental impact, the author makes the case for why any civil infrastructure should be seen as part of a larger whole. He walks readers through all phases of a civil project, from feasibility assessment to construction to operations, explaining how to evaluate tasks and challenges at each phase using a holistic approach. Unique coverage of ethics, legal issues, and management is also included.
Introduction to Infrastructure
by
Introduction to Infrastructure: An Introduction to Civil and Environmental Engineering breaks new ground in preparing civil and environmental engineers to meet the challenges of the 21st century. The authors use the infrastructure that is all around us to introduce students to civil and environmental engineering, demonstrating how all the parts of civil and environmental engineering are interrelated to help students see the "big picture" in the first or second year of the curriculum. Readers learn the infrastructure is a system of interrelated physical components, and how those components affect, and are affected by, society, politics, economics, and the environment.
Computer Systems: an Embedded Approach
by
This comprehensive engineering textbook lays out foundational computer architecture principles and teaches, step by step, how to apply those concepts in cutting-edge embedded applications. The book includes everything you need to know about embedded computing from fundamentals and processor internals to networking and connectivity. Begins by thoroughly explaining constituent hardware components, including processors, storage devices, and accelerators. From there, the book shows how operating systems work and how they provide a layer of services between hardware and software. You will get coverage of foundational networking, pervasive computing concepts, and the Internet of Things (IoT). The book concludes with a look to the future of embedded computing systems.
Great Principles of Computing
by
A new framework for understanding computing- a coherent set of principles spanning technologies, domains, algorithms, architectures, and designs. Computing is usually viewed as a technology field that advances at the breakneck speed of Moore's Law. This book takes a different perspective, presenting computing as a science governed by fundamental principles that span all technologies. Computer science is a science of information processes. We need a new language to describe the science, and this book offers the great principles framework as just such a language. This is a book about the whole of computing-its algorithms, architectures, and designs. Denning and Martell divide the great principles of computing into six categories- communication, computation, coordination, recollection, evaluation, and design.
Numbers and Computers
by
This is a book about numbers and how those numbers are represented in and operated on by computers. It is crucial that developers understand this area because the numerical operations allowed by computers, and the limitations of those operations, especially in the area of floating point math, affect virtually everything people try to do with computers. This book aims to fill this gap by exploring, in sufficient but not overwhelming detail, just what it is that computers do with numbers. Divided into two parts, the first deals with standard representations of integers and floating point numbers, while the second details several other number representations. Each chapter ends with exercises to review the key points. Topics covered include interval arithmetic, fixed-point numbers, floating point numbers, big integers and rational arithmetic.
Quantum Computing
by
A self-contained, reader-friendly introduction to the principles and applications of quantum computing. Especially valuable to those without a prior knowledge of quantum mechanics, this electrical engineering text presents the concepts and workings of quantum information processing systems in a clear, straightforward, and practical manner. The book is written in a style that helps readers who are not familiar with non-classical information processing more easily grasp the essential concepts; only prior exposure to classical physics, basic digital design, and introductory linear algebra is assumed. Presents each topic in a tutorial style with examples, illustrations, and diagrams to clarify the material. This is a self-contained resource, with all the necessary pre-requisite material included within the text.
Turing's Vision
by
In 1936, when he was just twenty-four years old, Alan Turing wrote a remarkable paper in which he outlined the theory of computation, laying out the ideas that underlie all modern computers. This groundbreaking and powerful theory now forms the basis of computer science. Bernhardt argues that the strength of Turing's theory is its simplicity, and that, explained in a straightforward manner, it is eminently understandable by the nonspecialist. Bernhardt begins with the foundation and systematically builds to the surprising conclusions. He also views Turing's theory in the context of mathematical history, other views of computation (including those of Alonzo Church), Turing's later work, and the birth of the modern computer.
Electrical Engineering
by
For undergraduate introductory or survey courses in electrical engineering. This title helps students learn electrical-engineering fundamentals with minimal frustration. Its goals are to present basic concepts in a general setting, to show students how the principles of electrical engineering apply to specific problems in their own fields, and to enhance the overall learning process. Circuit analysis, digital systems, electronics, and electromechanics are covered. A wide variety of pedagogical features stimulate student interest and engender awareness of the material & relevance to their chosen profession.
Electrical Safety Handbook
by
Written by experts in electrical operations, maintenance, engineering, construction, and safety, Electrical Safety Handbook, Fifth Edition provides the most up-to-date safety strategies in an easy-to-use format. This is a practical, illustrated source of life-saving information designed for specific work environments. The book has been fully revised and expanded to conform to every current major electrical standard, including NEC, NESC, NFPA70E, IEEE 1584, and OSHA, and delivers complete details on electrical hazards, safety equipment, management, training, regulatory and legal requirements, accident prevention, and much more. You will find new sections on electrical grounding, heat transfer theory as it relates to the human body, and the medical aspects of electrical trauma.
Green Electrical Energy Storage: Science and Finance for Total Fossil Fuel Substitution
by
Plan, fund, and successfully implement renewable energy storage projects using the expert information contained in this comprehensive guide. Green Electrical Energy Storage: Science and Finance for Total Fossil Fuel Substitution thoroughly explains the theories and technologies used in the many different kinds of electric energy storage along with pertinent economics, legal, and financing information. Written by a recognized expert in the field, the book offers detailed coverage of electrochemical, chemical, electrical, and flywheel mechanical energy storage devices, their integration in energy systems using renewable energy sources, the financial and legal tools to build them.
Handbook of Electric Power Calculations, Fourth Edition
by
Fully revised to include calculations needed for the latest technologies, the new edition of this essential guide provides the step-by-step procedures required to solve a wide array of electric power problems. This time-saving tool makes it easy to find and use the right calculation. New sections address power electronics, alternate energy, power quality, and smart grids.
Principles and Applications of Electrical Engineering
by
Principles and Applications of Electrical Engineering, 6th edition provides a solid overview of the electrical engineering discipline that is especially geared toward the many non-electrical engineering students who take this course. The hallmark feature of the text is its liberal use of practical applications to illustrate important principles. The applications come from every field of engineering and feature exciting technologies such as Ohio State's world-record setting electric car. The appeal to non-electrical engineering students is further heightened by special features, such as the book's Focus on Measurement sections, Focus on Methodology sections, and Make the Connection sidebars.
Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Seventeenth Edition
by
Up-to-date coverage of every facet of electric power in a single volume. This fully revised, industry-standard resource offers practical details on every aspect of electric power engineering. The book contains in-depth discussions from more than 100 internationally recognized experts. Generation, transmission, distribution, operation, system protection, and switchgear are thoroughly explained. This Seventeenth Edition, features brand-new sections on measurement and instrumentation, interconnected power grids, smart grids and microgrids, wind power, solar and photovoltaic power generation, electric machines and transformers, power system analysis, operations, stability and protection, and the electricity market.
Teach Yourself Electricity and Electronics, Sixth Edition
by
Learn electricity and electronics fundamentals and applications--all without taking a formal course. This fully updated guide offers practical, easy-to-follow instruction on electricity and electronics. Written by a pair of experienced instructors, Teach Yourself Electricity and Electronics, Sixth Edition, features plain language explanations and step-by-step lessons that make it easy to understand the material quickly. Throughout, detailed illustrations, practical examples, and self-tests reinforce key concepts. Inside, you'll find all-new coverage of switching power supplies, class-D amplifiers, lithium-polymer batteries, microcontrollers--even the Arduino electronics platform.
Control Systems Engineering
by
Control Systems Engineering, 7th Edition is highly regarded for its case studies and accessible writing. This text is a valuable resource for engineers. It takes a practical approach while presenting clear and complete explanations. Real world examples demonstrate the analysis and design process, while helpful skill assessment exercises, numerous in-chapter examples, questions and problems, and reviews, reinforce key concepts.
Electromechanical Devices and Components Illustrated Sourcebook
by
Ideal for all engineers and technicians who design, repair, and operate electromechanical equipment, Electromechanical Devices and Components Illustrated Sourcebook provides 2,000 illustrations of the most commonly used elements found in today's electromechanical machines and systems. This essential working tool contains detailed diagrams, drawn to scale, with relevant calculations and tabular information presented for easy reference. Packed with engineering examples and principles, this easy-to-use guide offers you a comprehensive overview of all the most important and fundamental electromechanical elements.
Electromechanical Motion Devices
by
This text provides a basic treatment of modern electric machine analysis that gives readers the necessary background for comprehending the traditional applications and operating characteristics of electric machines--as well as their emerging applications in modern power systems and electric drives, such as those used in hybrid and electric vehicles. Through the appropriate use of reference frame theory, Electromagnetic Motion Devices, Second Edition introduces readers to field-oriented control of induction machines, constant-torque, and constant-power control of dc, permanent-magnet ac machines, and brushless dc machines. It also discusses steady-state and transient performance in addition to their applications.
The Mechatronics Handbook
by
Mechatronics has evolved into a way of life in engineering practice, and indeed pervades virtually every aspect of the modern world. As the synergistic integration of mechanical, electrical, and computer systems, the successful implementation of mechatronic systems requires the integrated expertise of specialists from each of these areas. The Mechatronics Handbook provides a unique, detailed overview of this vibrant, dynamic field and sets forth its state of the art. More than 60 articles authored by a stellar panel of academics and practitioners explore every facet of the field, from an overview of its history, through the underlying theories, systems, processes, and practice to perspectives on the field's current and future trends.
Engineering Response to Climate Change
by
Engineering Response to Climate Change takes on the tough questions of what to do and offers real solutions to the practical problems caused by radical changes in the Earth's climate. From energy consumption and carbon dioxide emissions reduction, to climate-altering technologies, this new edition explores the latest concerns such as acidification of the ocean, energy efficiency, transportation, space solar power, and future and emerging possibilities. Each chapter concludes with discussion questions, calculations, and possible research topics.
Environmental Engineering Dictionary
by
This newly updated Dictionary provides a comprehensive reference for hundreds of environmental engineering terms used throughout the field. This fifth edition includes terms relating to pollution control technologies, monitoring, risk assessment, sampling and analysis, quality control, and permitting. Users of this dictionary will find exact and official Environmental Protection Agency definitions for environmental terms that are statute-related, regulation-related, science-related, and engineering-related, including terms from the following legal documents: Clean Air Act; Clean Water Act; CERCLA; EPCRA; Federal Facility Compliance Act; Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act; FIFRA; Hazardous and Solid Waste Amendment; OSHA; Pollution Prevention Act; RCRA; Safe Drinking Water Act; Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act; and TSCA.
Environmental Nanotechnology: Applications and Impacts of Nanomaterials, Second Edition
by
Cowritten by leaders of two of the most prominent research groups in the world considering the effects of nanomaterials on the environment, this timely, advanced resource features 75% new material and offers comprehensive coverage of the impacts of nanomaterials on organisms and ecosystems and their applications within industry. This Second Edition features all-new chapters that include Ecotoxicology Principles for Manufactured Nanomaterials, Nanomaterials in Ecosystems, Risk Forecasting and Life-Cycle Considerations, and Nanotechnology Governance for Sustainable Science and Policy.
Environmental Sustainability for Engineers and Applied Scientists
by
This textbook presents key theoretical approaches to understanding issues of sustainability and environmental management, perfectly bridging the gap between engineering and environmental science. It begins with the fundamentals of environmental modelling and toxicology, which are then used to discuss qualitative and quantitative risk assessment methods, and environmental assessments of product design. Students will learn quantitative methods while also gaining an understanding of qualitative, legal, and ethical aspects of sustainability. This is the perfect textbook on environmental studies for engineering and applied science students.
Handbook of Environmental Engineering
by
A complete guide to environmental regulations and remediation. This practical resource offers thorough coverage of current environmental issues and policies along with step-by-step remediation procedures. Handbook of Environmental Engineering features information on all segments of the market--including water and air quality and hazardous waste--and enables you to ensure compliance with all applicable regulations. Includes details about sensors, monitoring, and toxicity treatment and controls as well as waste management and safe disposal. Real-world examples demonstrate how to apply techniques and achieve compliance, while environmental impact assessments and measurement data enhance the book's utility.
Introduction to Environmental Engineering
by
Introduction to Environmental Engineering contains the fundamental science and engineering principles needed for introductory courses and used as the basis for more advanced courses in environmental engineering. Updated with latest EPA regulations, Davis and Cornwell apply the concepts of sustainability and materials and energy balance as a means of understanding and solving environmental engineering issues.
Handbook of Hydraulic Geometry
by
A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering
by
In over 8,500 clear and concise A to Z entries, this reference book provides definitions and explanations for mechanical engineering terms in the core areas of design, stress analysis, dynamics and vibrations, thermodynamics, and fluid mechanics. Topics covered include heat transfer, combustion, control, lubrication, robotics, instrumentation, and measurement. Where relevant, the dictionary also touches on related subject areas such as acoustics, bioengineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, aeronautical engineering, environmental engineering, and materials science. Useful entry-level web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website to expand the coverage of the dictionary. Cross-referenced and including many line drawings, this excellent new volume is the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of its kind.
Engineering Mechanics: Dynamics
by
Based upon a great deal of classroom teaching experience, Gray, Costanzo, & Plesha provide a visually appealing learning framework. The presentation itself is relevant, with examples and exercises drawn from the world around us, not the world of sixty years ago. Examples are broken down in a consistent manner that promotes students' ability to setup a problem and easily solve problems of incrementally harder difficulty.
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers
by
Solve any mechanical engineering problem quickly and easily with the world's leading engineering handbook Nearly 1800 pages of mechanical engineering facts, figures, standards, and practices, 2000 illustrations, and 900 tables clarifying important mathematical and engineering principle, and the collective wisdom of 160 experts help you answer any analytical, design, and application question you will ever have.
Mechanical Engineering Principles
by
This book introduces mechanical principles and technology through examples and applications, enabling students to develop a sound understanding of both engineering principles and their use in practice. These theoretical concepts are supported by 400 fully worked problems, 700 further problems with answers, and 300 multiple-choice questions, all of which add up to give the reader a firm grounding on each topic. The new edition is up to date with the latest BTEC National specifications and can also be used on undergraduate courses in mechanical, civil, structural, aeronautical and marine engineering, together with naval architecture. A further chapter has been added on revisionary mathematics, since progress in engineering studies is not possible without some basic mathematics knowledge.
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook, Volumes 1 to 4
by
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook, Fourth Edition provides a quick guide to specialized areas you may encounter in your work, giving you access to the basics of each and pointing you toward trusted resources for further reading, if needed. The accessible information inside offers discussions, examples, and analyses of the topics covered. Volume 1. Materials and engineering mechanics -- Volume 2. Design, instrumentation, and controls -- Volume 3. Manufacturing and management -- Volume 4. Energy and power.
Shigley's Mechanical Engineering Design
by
Shigley's Mechanical Engineering Design is intended for students beginning the study of mechanical engineering design. Students will find that the text inherently directs them into familiarity with both the basics of design decisions and the standards of industrial components. It combines the straightforward focus on fundamentals that instructors have come to expect, with a modern emphasis on design and new applications. This edition maintains the well-designed approach that has made this book the standard in machine design for nearly 50 years.
Cognitive Robotics
by
Cognitive robotics is an approach to creating artificial intelligence in robots by enabling them to learn from and respond to real-world situations, as opposed to pre-programming the robot with specific responses to every conceivable stimulus. Presenting the contributions of international experts from various disciplines within the field, Cognitive Robotics provides novel material and discusses advanced approaches in the field of intelligent robotics. It explains the various aspects of the topic to provide readers with a solid foundation on the subject. It takes a multidisciplinary approach that considers the artificial intelligence, physical, chemical, philosophical, psychological, social, cultural, and ethical aspects of this rapidly emerging field.
Healthcare Robots Ethics Design and Implementation
by
This study deals with an underexplored area of the emerging technologies debate: robotics in the healthcare setting. The author explores the role of care and develops a value-sensitive ethical framework for the eventual employment of care robots. Highlighting the range of positive and negative aspects associated with the initiative to design and use care robots, it draws out essential content as a guide to future design both reinforcing this study's contemporary relevance, and giving weight to its prescriptions. The book speaks to, and is meant to be read by, a range of disciplines from science and engineering to philosophers and ethicists.
Machines That Think
by
You might not realize it, but you interact with AIs every day. They route your phone calls, approve your credit card transactions and help your doctor interpret results. Driverless cars will soon be on the roads with a decision-making computer in charge. But how do machines actually think and learn? In Machines That Think, AI experts and New Scientist explore how artificial intelligence helps us understand human intelligence, machines that compose music and write stories - and ask if AI is really a threat.
Practical Field Robotics
by
Practical Field Robotics: A Systems Approach is an introductory book in the area of field robotics. It approaches the subject with a systems design methodology, showing the reader every important decision made in the process of planning, designing, making and testing a field robot. Takes a practical approach to field robotics, presenting the design and implementation of a robot from start to end; provides multiple robot examples including those used in in nuclear service, underground coal mining and mowing; bridges the gap between existing mathematically based texts and the real work that goes on in research labs all over the world.
Robot Ethics 2. 0
by
As robots slip into more domains of human life - from the operating room to the bedroom - they take on our morally important tasks and decisions, as well as create new risks from psychological to physical. To help the robotics industry and broader society, we need to not only press ahead on a wide range of issues, but also identify new ones emerging as quickly as the field is evolving. For instance, where military robots had received much attention in the past (and are still controversial today), we look toward autonomous cars here as an important case study that cuts across diverse issues, from liability to psychology to trust and more. And because robotics feeds into and is fed by AI, Internet of Things, and other cognate fields, robot ethics must also reach into those domains, too. Expanding these discussions also means listening to new voices; robot ethics is no longer the concern of a handful of scholars. Experts from different academic disciplines and geographical areas are now playing vital roles in shaping ethical, legal, and policy discussions worldwide.
Robots and Robotics: Principles, Systems, and Industrial Applications
by
Master the principles and practices of industrial robotics. This comprehensive resource provides a solid foundation in applied industrial robotics and robot technology. You will get straightforward explanations of the latest components, techniques, and capabilities along with practical examples and detailed illustrations. The book takes a look at the entire field of robotics; from design and production to deployment, operation, and maintenance. Valuable appendices provide information on specific robot models, pendants, and controllers.
Bionic Gliding Underwater Robots
by
Want to browse the shelves? Here are some call number areas:
Technology: T
Engineering (General): TA
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad @ H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to the Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264