LibGuides: Diversity in Theatre: General Resources

Videos

Streaming Online

Search a specific play title, or browse by genre, theme, or person (author, actor, director, etc.).

Digital Theatre + This link opens in a new window
Streaming, full-length videos of plays and musicals, plus interviews, study guides, and more.

Research

Online

Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Essays on world literary figures. Search a person's name to find their essay.

Books in the Library (selections)

Bigotry on Broadway by Ishmael Reed, Carla Blank (Editors)
Call Number: PN2232 B546 2021 [Allen shelves]
A diverse group of 12 accomplished writers comment on the long-standing bigotry on Broadway towards different ethnic minorities.
The Methuen Drama Handbook of Interculturalism and Performance by Daphne Lei, Charlotte McIvor (Editors)
Call Number: PN2039 .M48 2023 [Mortensen shelves]
Explores critical discourse in the field of intercultural theatre, and offers an alternative view of what interculturalism might offer to the future of theatre.
Oriental, Black, and White by Josephine Lee
Call Number: PN2260.R33 L44 2022 [Mortensen shelves]
Examines blackface characterizations and oriental stereotypes in 19th- and early 20th-century American theater, and how they offer insights into habits of racial representation, inside and outside the theater.
World Theatre by E. J. Westlake
Publication Date: 2017
Available online.
Introduction to non-Western theatre and its issues of scholarship and global and postcolonial performance practices.

Find More

Search subjects in the catalog, for example:
Drama > History and criticism
Theater > History
Theater > Social aspects
Theater and society

Teaching

DEI Teaching Books in the Library (selections)

The Politics of American Actor Training by Lissa Tyler Renaud, Ellen Margolis (Editors)
Call Number: PN2075 .P65 2010 [Mortensen shelves]
Addresses the historical, social, and other contexts influencing U.S. actor training, plus identity politics, access, and marginalization.
Race Dialogues by Donna Rich Kaplowitz; Shayla Reese Griffin; Sheri Seyka
Call Number: LC1099.3 .K36 2019 [Mortensen shelves]
Helps develop skills to facilitate race dialogues in classrooms, professional learning communities, and beyond. Includes lesson plans and hands-on material.
Teaching Critical Performance Theory by Jeanmarie Higgins (Editor)
Call Number: PN2075 .T425 2020 [Mortensen shelves]
Explores situated learning, disability and inclusivity, feminist approaches, race, ethics, and more.
Western Theatre in Global Contexts by Yasmine Jahanmir; Jillian Campana
Call Number: PN2075 .W44 2021 [Mortensen shelves]
Explores teaching and directing Western theatrical practices in countries that do not share Western theatre histories.

Find More

Search subjects in the catalog, for example:
Critical pedagogy
Drama > Study and Teaching
Education > Social aspects
Feminism and higher education
Theater > Study and Teaching

Plays & Monologues

We have many more resources than those listed here! See the other pages in this guide for more more, or search an author's name directly in the catalog.

Play Anthologies in the Library (selections)

Contemporary Plays by Women of Color by Roberta Uno et al (Editors)
Call Number: PS627.M5 C66 [Mortensen shelves]
1st ed. in print; 2nd ed. in print and online.
Plays from renowned and emerging playwrights.
The Kilroys List, Vol. 1 by Annah Feinberg (Editor)
Call Number: PN2080 .K45 2017 [Mortensen shelves]
Also available online.
99 monologues from the 2014 and 2015 Kilroys Lists of plays by women and trans playwrights.
Reclaiming Greek Drama for Diverse Audiences by Melinda Powers (Editor)
Call Number: PS628.M56 R43 2021 [Mortensen shelves]
7 adaptations of ancient Greek source material, exploring social justice issues. Includes author interviews and information for study and performance.

Discover more plays

Tagpacker Plays (UC-Irvine)
Browse plays by genre, time period, character genders, playwright demographics, and more.
List includes plays owned by University of California Irvine. Search a title in UHart's catalog to see if we own a copy.

Monologues & Scenes

Anthologies in the Library (selections)

Audition Speeches for Black, South Asian and Middle Eastern Actors by Simeilia Hodge-Dallaway (Editor)
PN2080 .A93 2016 (men) and PN2080 .A935 2016 (women)
For actors and actresses of black, African American, South Asian and Middle Eastern heritage. Categorized by age.
Hear Me Now by Tamasha Theatre Company; Titilola Dawudu (Editors)
Call Number: PN2080 .H43 2018 (or 2022) [Mortensen shelves]
Volume 1 also available online.
Two volumes, with over 160 pieces written by and for actors of color to showcase their range. Volume 2 includes top tips for auditioning.
Monologues for Actors of Color by Roberta Uno (Editor)
2000 and 2016 editions.
PN2080 .M535 (men) and PN2080 .M536 (women)
Monologues for African-American, Native American, Latino, and Asian-American identities. Includes notes on the characters and stage directions.
Scenes from a Diverse World by Karin Williams (Editor)
Call Number: PN6120.D688 S34 2013 [Mortensen shelves]
Scenes that reflect the true diversity of the world we all inhabit, from contemporary playwrights around the world.

DEI on the Stage

Books in the Library (selections)

Breaking it Down by Nicole Hodges Persley, Monica White Ndounou
Publication Date: 2021
E-book. Strategic approaches to auditioning for women, men, and non-binary actors of the global majority (i.e., people of color).
Inclusive Character Analysis by Jennifer Thomas, Robert J. Vrtis
Call Number: PN2075 .T56 2021 [Mortensen shelves]
Provides foundational skills for analyzing a play, and introduces contemporary thought about race, gender, and identity.
Staging Difference by Marc Maufort (Editor)
Call Number: PS352 .S73 1995 [Mortensen shelves]
A comprehensive examination of multiculturalism's influence on performance and dramatic literature.

Find More

Search subjects in the catalog, for example:
Acting > Study and teaching
Theater > Production and direction
Theater > Social aspects

Suggest a Resource

Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!

Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (rudnick@hartford.edu).