LibGuides: Copyright for Music: The Basics

Copyright: The exclusive right given to a creator to reproduce, distribute, display, license, or perform their work.

Online Resources

Copyright and Your Dissertation or Thesis: Ownership, Fair Use, and Your Rights and Responsibilities (PDF)
Written for graduate students by Kenneth Crews. (It is listed in a ProQuest knowledge-base article regarding copyright.)
Copyright for Music Educators (NafME)
Explanations of licensing, performance rights for NAfME Members, teaching students about copyright, and more.
(Includes The United States Copyright Law: A Guide for Music Educators, for primary and secondary education. Note: the guidelines are ONLY guidelines, not law.)
Copyright in General (from Columbia University)
Explains fundamental principles of copyright law and answers questions about fair use, managing your copyrights, negotiating publication agreements, posting materials online, and more.
Music Copyright Tutorial (YouTube)
Created by students and librarians at the College of William & Mary. A great introduction to copyright issues in music.

Copyright: What Everyone Needs to Know by Neil Weinstock Netanel
Publication Date: 2018
Available online only.
Explains the murky dynamics of modern copyright law, from the basis and purpose to a glimpse at what it could become in the digital age.
The Copyright Handbook by Stephen Fishman
Call Number: KF2995 .F53 2021 [Mortensen reference]
Provides information and forms to protect yourself from being copied by others and from being accused of copying.

Legal Information Reference Center
Includes several ebooks on copyright topics. Browse by topic (copyright) or search keywords and limit Source Type to Books.

Browse the catalog by subject:
Copyright

Introduction to Music Publishing for Musicians by Bobby Borg & Michael Eames
Call Number: ML3795 B674 I5 2021 [Allen shelves]
A comprehensive and easy-to-read overview of today's music publishing industry, for students and musicians.
Moser on Music Copyright by David J. Moser
Call Number: KF3035 M67 M67 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2006
Provides a thorough understanding of copyright law, what it protects, the benefits of registering a copyright, and what to do when your copyright has been infringed. Controversies involving copyright and online music are also discussed.
The Music Copyright Manual by Jim Jesse
Call Number: KF3035 J47 2020 [Allen shelves]
An overview of music copyright. Covers infringement, case examples, The Music Modernization Act, live streaming, using beats, and more.
Music Law in the Digital Age by Allen Bargfrede
Call Number: KF3035 B37 2017 [Allen shelves]
A plain-language guide that explains how copyright law drives the contemporary music industry.
Unlocking the Digital Age by Kathleen DeLaurenti, Andrea I. Copland
Publication Date: 2024
Open access e-book.
Covers research, copyright, and publishing for musicians working in the digital era.

Browse the catalog by subject:
Copyright > Music

Browse the shelves by call number:

Call Number	Genre
KF3035	Music copyright
ML3790 – ML3795	Music business (some with copyright and licensing information)

Copyright Law of the United States
Complete version of title 17 of the U.S. Code. Physical copy available in Allen Library Reference at call number K1419.2 2011.
United States Copyright Office at the Library of Congress
Information about copyright from the source. Includes circulars relating to music copyright.

Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!

Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (rudnick@hartford.edu).