LibGuides: Black Classical Music and Musicians: Take Action

There are many ways to promote Black music and musicians! Below are just a few of the many ways to participate in this work.

Jump to: Decolonize the Classroom | Explore Anti-Racist Resources | Support an Organization

Decolonize the Classroom

Work against the dominance of Western European and white American narratives and practices by amplifying those of Black, Indigenous, and People of Color in the classroom.

Websites

Confronting Racism and Sexism in American Music Theory
Six blog posts aimed to instigate constructive dialog to make antiracist/antisexist change in music theory.
Decolonizing the Music Room
Research, training, and discourse for music educators.
Decolonizing the Music Survey: A Manifesto for Action
Seven assertions intended to lead toward decolonizing the undergraduate music survey.
Inclusive Early Music
Collaborative project to collect resources for teaching early music more inclusively. Currently in a Zotero bibliography, with instructions for use.
Music Theory Examples by BI-POC Composers
List of examples by composers of color for theory and aural skills, categorized by topic. Includes links to scores and recordings when available.

Books in the Harrison Libraries (selections)

Expanding the Canon: Black Composers in the Music Theory Classroom by Melissa Hoag (editor)
Call Number: MT6 E816 2023 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2023
Demonstrates why diversification is badly needed and provides practical lesson plans for teaching music theory with music by Black composers.
Music and Social Justice by Cathy Benedict
Call Number: MT1 B455 M875 2021 [Allen shelves]
Scenarios, example dialogue, unit ideas, and lesson plans for teachers to lead students (ages 6-14) to think critically about the world around them.
The Oxford Handbook of Social Justice in Music Education by Cathy Benedict, Gary Spruce, Paul Woodford, Patrick Schmidt (Eds.)
Call Number: MT1 O935 S63 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2015
Frames social justice within social, historical, cultural, and political contexts; grapples with issues of inclusivity and diversity, racism, and other cycles of injustice in music pedagogy; and offers specific examples of social justice in action.
Race and Gender in the Western Music History Survey by Horace J. Maxile, Jr.; Kristen M. Turner
Publication Date: 2022
Information and approaches for instructors to include women and people of color in a music history survey course and foundational music theory classes.
Race Dialogues by Donna Rich Kaplowitz; Shayla Reese Griffin; Sheri Seyka
Call Number: LC1099.3 .K36 2019 [Mortensen shelves]
Helps develop skills to facilitate race dialogues in classrooms, professional learning communities, and beyond. Includes lesson plans and hands-on material.
Realizing Diversity: An Equity Framework for Music Education by Karen Howard
Call Number: MT1 H68 R4 2022 [Allen shelves]
A practical resource for crafting diverse and anti-bias music education in classrooms, ensembles, and studios at all levels--from preschool to university and community settings.

Explore Anti-Racist Resources

Anti-Racism Books in the Libraries (selections)

Biased

Uses stories, science, and strategies to expose racial bias at all levels of society, then offers tools to address it.

How to Argue with a Racist

Dismantles outdated notions of race by illuminating what modern genetics actually can and can't tell us about human difference.

A Race Is a Nice Thing to Have

Explores race in society and encourages positive racial adjustment and deeper levels of self-understanding.

Racism Without Racists

Documents the arsenal of arguments, phrases, and stories that whites use to justify racial inequalities. Addresses what readers can do to confront personal and structural racism.

Stamped from the Beginning

Award-winning history of how racist ideas were created, spread, and deeply rooted in American society. Offers tools to expose racist thinking and reasons to hope.

Tears We Cannot Stop

Argues that if we are to make real racial progress we must face difficult truths, including being honest about how black grievance has been ignored, dismissed, or discounted.

White Fragility

Examines how white fragility develops, how it protects racial inequality, and what we can do to engage more constructively.

Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria?

The classic book on the psychology of racism, essential reading for anyone seeking to understand the dynamics of race in America.

Find more books about race issues

Search subjects in the catalog:

Race awareness
Race relations
Racism

Resource Lists

Some of the resources on these lists are available in print and/or online through the Libraries. Search the title in our catalog to find a copy. If we don't own it, search for it in WorldCat and request to borrow a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Anti-Racism Resources for White People
Articles, books, podcasts, videos, and more.
Anti-Racist Reading List
Nonfiction and fiction books and articles. Some include links to online full-text.
Learning About Race [UHart]
Websites, readings, videos, campus resources, and more from UHart's Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.

Support an Organization

Performing Organizations

Black Pearl Chamber Orchestra
Combines artistic excellence with cultural diversity and innovative community engagement.
Chicago Sinfonietta
Founded by conductor Paul Freeman to address the lack of diversity in orchestra performers and repertoire.

Other Organizations

Bass Players for Black Composers
Focused on creating and normalizing new solo bass works by Black composers through commissioning and disseminating works, facilitating performances, and producing educational programs.
Castle of Our Skins
A concert and educational series celebrating Black artistry through music. Their Resources page links to organizations, repertoire lists, and more.
The Chineke! Foundation
Works to increase the representation of Black, Asian, and ethnically diverse musicians in British and European orchestras
Coalition for African Americans in the Performing Arts
Promotes opportunities for Black classical musicians and others in the performing arts through performances, education, and outreach.
Institute for Composer Diversity
Research resources plus databases of composers and works searchable by genre, ensemble, and composers' demographic information.
The Sphinx Organization
Supporting diversity and inclusion in classical music education, artists, repertoire, audiences, and administration, especially for black and Latino/a artists.

Suggest a Resource

Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!

Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (rudnick@hartford.edu).