Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles are great for research because they generally cover a very narrow topic in great detail. In addition, scholarly journal articles generally include a bibliography where you can find more resources on the same topic.
Browse Professional Journals
Professional journals are a great place to learn from experts about the most recent developments in your field.
Search articles online or browse the Allen Library current periodicals (near the Allen entrance). See especially:
International Musician by
The Saxophone Symposium by
Journal Article Databases
Library databases provide citations for articles, book chapters, and more. Most articles/chapters focus on a narrow and specific topic, so they are great for deeper research. To get started:
- Choose a database.
- Search for keywords such as genres, topics, names of people, etc.
- Limit your results by date, language, and more with the the left-hand menu on the results page.
Need more help?
See our Article help page for step-by-step instructions and videos to help you search databases and find full-text articles. And you can always ask a librarian for individual help.
History Books in the Allen Library (selections)
The Cambridge Companion to the Saxophone by
Call Number: ML975 C35 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 1998
A comprehensive guide to the saxophone, its history, technical development, and repertoire, written by some of the finest performers and experts on the instrument.
The Devil's Horn by
Call Number: ML975 S44 D48 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2005
Traces the 160-year history of the saxophone, and highlights many of its legendary players.
The Saxophone by
Call Number: ML975 C67 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2012
Examines the saxophone's various social, historical, and cultural trajectories, and illustrates how and why it became important for so many music-makers around the world.
Find more history books
Browse by subject in the catalog, for example:
Browse the shelves by call number:
||Wind instrument history
||Woodwind instrument history
|ML975 – ML978
|ML1100 – ML1165
||Chamber music history
|ML1200 – 1270
|ML1300 – ML1354
Performer Biographies in the Allen Library (selections)
Call Number: ML419 C72 R37 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2007
The story of Coltrane's development, from his first to his last recordings, especially the breakthroughs in the last 10 years of his life and his enduring legacy.
Larry Teal by
Call Number: ML419 T431 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 2008
Traces Teal's life from vaudeville, theater and radio orchestras and the Detroit Symphony Orchestra through his tenure at the University of Michigan as the first university professor of saxophone in the U.S..
Find more biographies
Search performer names in the catalog, for example:
Browse the shelves by call number:
(saxophone and other instruments)
Reference resources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more.
They often provide a short overview of a topic, then point to more resources you can use for further research.
Music Reference Databases
Books in the Allen Library (selections)
Wind Ensemble Sourcebook and Biographical Guide by
Call Number: ML128 W5 S76 [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 1997
Discusses many wind ensemble composers and works, and places the music in context: why it was written, where it was played, and how it influenced other genres.
Find more reference books
See all saxophone reference books in the catalog:
Browse the Reference shelves by call number:
Suggest a Resource
Know of a resource we have you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!
Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (email@example.com).
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264