Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This site contains a searchable index of biblical quotations and allusions in early Christian literature. Users must register through a free account, which will allow access to a search interface by biblical citation and/or by author.
Digital Dead Sea Scrolls
Access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history.
Freedom of Religion and the Establishment Clause
The "Establishment Clause" was intended to prevent any governmental endorsement or support of religion. While one might intuitively read this to mean that the clause was meant to preclude endorsement or support of some particular religion, it is important to note that the clause also prohibits the endorsement of religion generally over non-religion.
Buddhism sub-page of HNet, an international and interdisciplinary organization of scholars seeking to harness the educational potential of the internet by continually indexing and curating educational resources.
Internet Islamic History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
Includes collections of public domain historical texts and other documents for educational use and are organized around several main categories such as The Western Intrusion, Islamic Nationalism, and The Islamic World since 1945.
Internet Jewish History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
This page provides a significant amount of curated materials in various formats and from many sources. Included are primary source documents, photo galleries, audio and video files, and many secondary materials as well.
The Question of God
Companion to a Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) series based on Dr. Armand Nicholi's Harvard course that regarding the lives and insights of Sigmund Freud, and C.S. Lewis. The site features video, a transcript, interviews, background information on Freud and Lewis, a discussion guide, and links to related information.
Religious Studies Web Guide (University of Calgary)
This web site, in existence since 1995, focuses on free internet resources of use to researchers involved in the academic study of religion. Compiled by a University librarian and a member of the Library of Congress.
This Far by Faith: African-American Spiritual Journeys
Companion site to a Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) series examining the African-American religious experience through the connections between faith and African-American cultural values. Features essays, a timeline, profiles, audio and video clips, show transcripts, and related links.
Virtual Religion Index
The site analyzes & highlights important content of religion-related websites to speed research. Links are provided not only to homepages but to major directories & documents within.
Websites on Religion
Previously known as the Wabash Center Guide to Internet Resources, this site is an annotated guide to a vast collection of resources for those interested in various religious studies. Includes syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, websites, bibliographies, listserv discussion groups, liturgies, reference resources, and software.
Not sure if you should trust a website?
Go to our research tutorial to get tips on finding and evaluating websites
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264