Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arabic and Middle Eastern Electronic Library (Yale University)
A digital collection of resources for the study of the Middle East. Covers the history, culture, development, and contemporary issues. Houses approximately 350,000 pages of indexed and searchable full text in Arabic and Western scripts.
The Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Middle East
A exhaustive collection of documents on the Middle East ranging from 1916-2003, arranged chronologically, with search features by period and keyword.
Internet Islamic History Sourcesbook (Fordham University)
Includes collections of public domain historical texts and other documents for educational use and are organized around several main categories such as The Western Intrusion, Islamic Nationalism, and The Islamic World since 1945.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook (Fordham University)
Contains a growing variety of texts addressing elite legal, governmental, religious and economic concerns. Sections have recently been added addressing women’s and gender history, Islamic and Byzantine history, Jewish history, and social history.
Islamic Heritage Project (Harvard University)
The digital companion page to Harvard's libraries and museums, showcasing collections of Islamic manuscripts, published texts, and maps.
Middle East History (Cambridge University Press)
Cambridge University Press subpage highlighting publications in Middle East History. Includes many free chapters and articles, but many titles will require Interlibrary loan (ILL) requests. However, this remains an exhaustive list of publications in the subject.
"An Educational Initiative of the Middle East Policy Council," which provides free, high-quality information and resources to teach about the Middle East in social studies and introductory area studies classes. Though geared towards educators, this site has many resources valuable to students and many presentations are designed for students.
Not sure if you should trust a website?
Go to our research tutorial to get tips on finding and evaluating websites
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264