Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Catalog
Mortensen Library Catalog
A Concise History of the Middle East by
Call Number: DS62 .G64 2019eb
Publication Date: 2018-09-03
A Concise History of the Middle East provides a comprehensive introduction to the history of this turbulent region. Spanning from pre-Islam to the present day, it explores the evolution of Islamic institutions and culture, the influence of the West, modernization efforts in the Middle East, the struggle of various peoples for political independence, the Arab-Israel conflict, the reassertion of Islamic values and power, the issues surrounding the Palestinian Question, and the Middle East post-9/11 and post-Arab uprisings. The twelfth edition has been fully revised to reflect the most recent events in, and concerns of, the region, including the presence of ISIS and other non-state actors, the civil wars in Syria and Yemen, and the refugee crisis.
The Crusades by
Call Number: D157 .A77 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-09
The Crusades is an authoritative, accessible single-volume history of the brutal struggle for the Holy Land in the Middle Ages. Thomas Asbridge covers the years 1095 to 1291 in this big, ambitious, readable account of one of the most fascinating periods in history. From Richard the Lionheart to the mighty Saladin, from the emperors of Byzantium to the Knights Templar, Asbridge's book is a magnificent epic of Holy War between the Christian and Islamic worlds, full of adventure, intrigue, and sweeping grandeur.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa by
Call Number: DS43 .E53 2004eb
Publication Date: 2004-08-01
Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations' involvement in the region
Global Studies by
Call Number: DS62.8 .S64 2004
Publication Date: 2004-06-07
Part of The Global Studies series, this tenth edition is designed to provide comprehensive background information and selected world press articles on the regions and countries of the world. It provides an introduction to the status and problems of the Middle East - through essays, statistics, and a listing of related websites.
The Last Ottoman Generation and the Making of the Modern Middle East by
Call Number: DS62.8 .P76 2017
Publication Date: 2017-08-18
The modern Middle East emerged out of the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, when Britain and France partitioned the Ottoman Arab lands into several new colonial states. This is a study of this crucial period in Middle Eastern history, tracing the period through popular political movements and the experience of colonial rule. In doing so, Provence emphasizes the continuity between the late Ottoman and Colonial era, explaining how national identities emerged, and how the seeds were sown for many of the conflicts which have defined the Middle East in the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries.
The Middle East by
Call Number: DS62 .L594 1997
Publication Date: 1997-08-07
In a sweeping and vivid survey, renowned historian Bernard Lewis charts the history of the Middle East over the last 2,000 years, from the birth of Christianity through the modern era, focusing on the successive transformations that have shaped it. Drawing on material from a multitude of sources, including the work of archaeologists and scholars, Lewis chronologically traces the political, economic, social, and cultural development of the Middle East, from Hellenization in antiquity to the impact of westernization on Islamic culture.
The Middle East and the Aegean Region, C. 1380-1000 BC by
Call Number: D57 .C252 3rd ed., v.2, pt.2
Publication Date: 1975-09-18
Volume II, Part II deals with the history of the region from about 1380 to 1000 B.C., and includes accounts of Akhenaten and the Amarna 'revolution' in Egypt, the expansion and final decline of the Mycenaean civilization in Greece, the exodus and wanderings of the Israelites, and the Asstrian and Hittite empires.
The Oxford History of Islam by
Call Number: BP50 .O95 1999
Publication Date: 2000-04-06
Lavishly illustrated with over 300 pictures, including more than 200 in full color, The Oxford History of Islam offers the most wide-ranging and authoritative account available of the second largest--and fastest growing--religion in the world. John L. Esposito, Editor-in-Chief of the four-volume Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, has gathered together sixteen leading scholars, both Muslim and non-Muslim, to examine the origins and historical development of Islam--its faith, community, institutions, sciences, and arts. Written for the general reader but also appealing to specialists, The Oxford History of Islam offers the best of that recent scholarship, presented in a readable style and complemented by a rich variety of illustrations.
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad@H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
Log in to ILLiad@H
Browse for Books
Want to browse the shelves? Here are some call number areas:
History of Asia (Includes Middle East): DS1-937
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264