Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Catalog
Mortensen Library Catalog
A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering by
Call Number: TJ9 .A83 2013
Publication Date: 2013-06-10
In over 8,500 clear and concise A to Z entries, this reference book provides definitions and explanations for mechanical engineering terms in the core areas of design, stress analysis, dynamics and vibrations, thermodynamics, and fluid mechanics. Topics covered include heat transfer, combustion, control, lubrication, robotics, instrumentation, and measurement. Where relevant, the dictionary also touches on related subject areas such as acoustics, bioengineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, aeronautical engineering, environmental engineering, and materials science. Useful entry-level web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website to expand the coverage of the dictionary. Cross-referenced and including many line drawings, this excellent new volume is the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of its kind.
Engineering Mechanics: Dynamics by
Call Number: TA352 .G724 2013
Publication Date: 2012-01-19
Based upon a great deal of classroom teaching experience, Gray, Costanzo, & Plesha provide a visually appealing learning framework. The presentation itself is relevant, with examples and exercises drawn from the world around us, not the world of sixty years ago. Examples are broken down in a consistent manner that promotes students' ability to setup a problem and easily solve problems of incrementally harder difficulty.
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers by
Call Number: TJ151 .S82 2007eb
Publication Date: 2006-12-07
Solve any mechanical engineering problem quickly and easily with the world's leading engineering handbook Nearly 1800 pages of mechanical engineering facts, figures, standards, and practices, 2000 illustrations, and 900 tables clarifying important mathematical and engineering principle, and the collective wisdom of 160 experts help you answer any analytical, design, and application question you will ever have.
Mechanical Engineering Principles by
Call Number: TJ159 .B49 2015
Publication Date: 2015-01-22
This book introduces mechanical principles and technology through examples and applications, enabling students to develop a sound understanding of both engineering principles and their use in practice. These theoretical concepts are supported by 400 fully worked problems, 700 further problems with answers, and 300 multiple-choice questions, all of which add up to give the reader a firm grounding on each topic. The new edition is up to date with the latest BTEC National specifications and can also be used on undergraduate courses in mechanical, civil, structural, aeronautical and marine engineering, together with naval architecture. A further chapter has been added on revisionary mathematics, since progress in engineering studies is not possible without some basic mathematics knowledge.
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook, Volumes 1 to 4 by
Call Number: TJ151 .M395 2015 v.1 - 4
Publication Date: 2015-02-02
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook, Fourth Edition provides a quick guide to specialized areas you may encounter in your work, giving you access to the basics of each and pointing you toward trusted resources for further reading, if needed. The accessible information inside offers discussions, examples, and analyses of the topics covered. Volume 1. Materials and engineering mechanics -- Volume 2. Design, instrumentation, and controls -- Volume 3. Manufacturing and management -- Volume 4. Energy and power.
Shigley's Mechanical Engineering Design by
Call Number: TJ230 .S5 2015
Publication Date: 2014-01-27
Shigley's Mechanical Engineering Design is intended for students beginning the study of mechanical engineering design. Students will find that the text inherently directs them into familiarity with both the basics of design decisions and the standards of industrial components. It combines the straightforward focus on fundamentals that instructors have come to expect, with a modern emphasis on design and new applications. This edition maintains the well-designed approach that has made this book the standard in machine design for nearly 50 years.
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad@H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
Log in to ILLiad@H
Browse for Books
Want to browse the shelves? Here are some call number areas:
Engineering (General): TA
Mechanical engineering and machinery: TJ1 - 1570
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264