LibGuides: Music Management: Research

Jump to: General Resources | Articles | Charts & Statistics | News

General Resources

Databases & Websites

Arts Management & Technology Laboratory
Information on emerging technology in arts management.

Nexis UNI (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Access to U.S. and international legal citations, briefs, and law reviews, plus current business news and company information.

Articles

Journal Article Databases

Library databases provide citations for articles, book chapters, and more. Most articles/chapters focus on a narrow and specific topic, so they are great for deeper research. To get started:

Choose a database.
Search for keywords such as genres, topics, names of people, etc.
Limit your results by date, language, and more with the the left-hand menu on the results page.

Need more help?

See our Article help page for step-by-step instructions and videos to help you search databases and find full-text articles. And you can always ask a librarian for individual help.

Music Research Databases

Music Index Online This link opens in a new window
Article citations from over 700 music journals. Covers many genres and topics, including applied and professional topics, music industry, reviews, and more.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Article citations from over 400 music journals. Includes scholarly, applied, and popular topics.
RILM This link opens in a new window
Citations for scholarly music and dance books, articles, dissertations, and more.

Other Research Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Searches thousands of leading business and management journals. Also contains Hoover's Company Records.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Article citations from all disciplines, including performing arts, management, and more.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Database of articles covering business, management, and administration issues.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in fields including music, performing arts, and business. Excludes recent years.

Charts & Statistics

Research Databases

Music ID (Music Industry Data) This link opens in a new window
Chart rankings for music artists, albums, and singles. Data is provided for 5,452 worldwide charts, including Billboard, iTunes, Spotify, and more. Data for many charts available from 1953 to the present. Includes tools for creating and exporting graphs and tables.

Need help? Watch this tutorial to get started with Music ID.

National Archive of Data on Arts & Culture This link opens in a new window
Database of data and publications on arts and culture, sponsored by the National Endowment for the Arts.
SRDS (Standard Rate and Data Service) This link opens in a new window
Advertising prices, circulation rates, and other information on a variety of publications, including many for music. Access limited to Consumer Magazine Media and Local Media by DMA (Designated Market Areas).

Websites

Billboard
News and charts. Covers all music, but focuses mainly on popular genres.
IFPI Global Statistics
International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (IFPI) represents the interests of the recording industry, and also publishes key statistics about the music market and industry.
Spotify Charts
View their Top 200 or Viral 50 charts, and filter by geographical region or time period. Login required.

News

Library Databases

Looking for articles from a specific newspaper, magazine, or journal?
Search the eJournal Locator for the publication title (not the article title!) to find a library database with full-text access.

Musical America This link opens in a new window
Read performing arts news, find facilities and festivals, locate artists and managers, and more.
New York Times (nytimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Full text from 1851 to the present, with access to New York Times Online Edition. To access articles via the web or mobile app, create a free account with a valid UHart email address.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from U.S. and international newspapers, plus television and radio news transcripts.
Nexis UNI (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Current world and business news, plus legal citations, briefs, law reviews, and company information.
ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search the text of major newspapers including the Boston Globe, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and many more.

Suggest a Resource

Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!

Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (rudnick@hartford.edu).

Find Full Text Articles

Search eJournal Locator for the journal title:

Need help? See our article help page or ask a librarian.