Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier searches thousands of scholarly journals in all disciplines, and is a good place to begin research on almost any topic.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographical and critical essays on world literary figures from all eras and genres. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to close when finished searching.
Essay & General Literature Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Essay & General Literature provides citations to essays, articles and other works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. This database covers the years between 1900 through 1984.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Extensive compilation of literary commentary available.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of more than 90,000 authors, poets, journalists and other writers. Search by name, title, genre, literary movement or literary theme. Made available by ResearchIT CT.
MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new window
Contains biographical essays of the 2,500 most studied authors. More than 8,500 writers of fiction, poetry, drama, and essays are featured. More than 400 comprehensive essays on specific literary genres, themes and settings round out the collection. Includes a cross-referenced glossary of 1,800 literary words and phrases. Collection includes Masterplots (12 volumes), Masterplots II (58 volumes), and Magill’s Book Reviews.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This database is an international index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore.
OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary) This link opens in a new window
Search the definitive dictionary of the English language, complete and continuously updated. Provides definitions, etymology, and history of usage with examples over time.
Off Campus Access
If you're off campus you will need to log in using your University of Hartford email address and password.
Still having trouble? Get Help
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad@H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
Log in to ILLiad@H
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264