Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Aesop's Fables and More
This site includes the full text of Aesop's Fables in the public domain. The fairy tales of Hans Christian Anderson, and the fables of both Ambrose Bierce and Jean De La Fontaine are also included in this rich site of children's literature.
Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes, and professional topics. Focus is on pre-K-8th grade.
CBC On line! (Chidren's Book Council)
This site provides a rich source of information and links to children's literature, guides for authors and illustrators, and pages for parents and teachers.
Children's Literature Web Guide
Comprehensive resource of children's books, Best Books list, award winners, information about authors and illustrators; full text of some works.
Our collection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public. *Inclusion of a title in the collection DOES NOT EQUAL a recommendation.*
Literature for Children
Literature for Children is comprised of volumes from the Department of Special Collections at several libraries of the State University System of Florida. It is a collection of digitized titles published predominantly in the United States and Great Britain from the 17th through the 20th centuries and is significant for researchers who study historical, cultural, social, and literary aspects of children's literature.
World of Tales (Folktale Collection)
On the pages of this website you will find the best known fairy tales by The Brothers Grimm, Charles Perrault and Hans Christian Andersen, the fables of Aesop and Jean de La Fontaine and other folktales from around the world. Most of the content is taken from the free text archive at Project Gutenberg.
Not sure if you should trust a website?
Go to our research tutorial to get tips on finding and evaluating websites
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264