Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by
Call Number: PN1008.5 .C66 2005eb
Publication Date: 2006-02-14
This Encyclopedia contains over 1,100 biographical-critical entries and 100 topical articles, written by some 150 contributors. It covers 150 years of children's literature in many cultures. Biographical-critical entries include authors as well as illustrators and artists. The board of advisers, made up of scholars, editors, librarians, authors, and artists, has helped to make this encyclopedia even more user-friendly. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
A Critical Handbook of Children's Literature by
Call Number: PN1009.A1 L84 2013
Publication Date: 2012-03-07
Critical principles and standards are demonstrated using actual examples of quality children's literature to help future teachers, practicing teachers, librarians, and parents select the best books for the classroom, library, or home. Neither a typical classroom textbook nor an anthology of selected stories and book summaries, this thorough resource demonstrates how to select quality children's literature. Specific examples from numerous children's books illuminate each point the authors present.
Interpreting Literature with Children by
Call Number: LB1575.5.U5 W65 2004
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
Clearly organized and beautifully written, this is a remarkable book that stands on the edge of two textbook genres: the survey of literature text and the literary criticism text. Neither approach, however, says enough about how children respond to literature in everyday classroom situations. That is the mission of this book. It begins by providing a solid foundation in both approaches and then examines multiple ways of developing children's literary interpretation through talk, through culture, class, and gender, as well as through creative modes of expression, including writing, the visual arts, and drama. The result is a balanced resource for teachers who want to deepen their understanding of literature and literary engagement.
The Norton Anthology of Children's Literature by
Call Number: PZ5 .N655 2005
Publication Date: 2005-12-05
This groundbreaking anthology includes 170 authors and illustrators of alphabets and animal fables, fairy tales and fantasy, picture books and nursery verse, among many other genres. Over 40 longer complete works and over 400 illustrations, including 60 in color, enhance this comprehensive and visually rich anthology. With introductions that offer fresh insights into the cultural contexts of children's literature and childhood itself over four centuries, author headnotes, annotations, bibliographies, and a timeline, this anthology illuminates a literary tradition whose power to instruct and delight is both centuries old and startlingly new.
Oxford Companion to Children's Literature by
Call Number: PN1008.5 .C37 2015eb
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature provides an indispensable and fascinating reference guide to the world of children's literature. Its 3,500 entries cover every genre from fairy tales to chapbooks; school stories to science fiction; comics to children's hymns. This accessible A to Z is the first place to look for information about the authors, illustrators, printers, publishers, educationalists, and others who have influenced the development of children's literature, as well as the stories and characters at their center. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by
Call Number: PN1008.5 .O94 2006 v.1-4
Publication Date: 2006-05-04
Unlike other references, the Encyclopedia not only documents but also interprets every work, major and minor, that has played a role in the history of children's literature in the world. In addition, the Encyclopedia provides biographies of important writers, as well as extensive coverage of illustrators with numerous examples of their work. A-Z organization, accessible writing, plentiful illustrations, cross-references, bibliographies, a comprehensive index and a systematic outline make the Encyclopedia an invaluable and easy-to-use research reference.
Browse for Books
Want to browse the shelves? Here are some call number areas:
Language and Literature: P
Literature (General): PN
Fiction and juvenile belles lettres: PZ
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad@H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
Log in to ILLiad@H
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264