Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts is a collection of about 14,000 classic public domain documents from American and English literature as well as Western philosophy. Searchable by keyword, author and title.
Chaucer Resources (New Chaucer Society)
Links to a high-quality selection of sites covering all aspects of Chaucer scholarship. Areas covered include criticism, his milieu, language, and biography.
The English Renaissance in Context
Access the full text of the original versions of major works of the English Renaissance, or work through multimedia, interactive tutorials offering background and contextual material on four Shakespearean plays (Romeo and Juliet, Merchant of Venice, Richard III, King Lear). Other tutorials on book production of the period.
Geoffrey Chaucer (Harvard University)
Everything needed for a fuller understanding of the Canterbury Tales: A Chaucer biography; timeline; influenced and influencing authors; literary subjects; the author's language; cultural/social/scientific environment of the times.
Medieval, sixteenth, and early seventeenth century English literature. Links to biographical, bibliographical, and primary sources, as well as full text essays (largely by students).
MLA: Modern Language Association
Site designed in the teaching, promotion and scholarship of Language studies.
Online Literary Criticism Collection (Internet Public Library)
Selected links to critical and biographical websites dealing with literary works of all periods and cultures. Rigorous selection criteria applied.
Searchable, full text of Shakespeare's works, with links to other Internet resources.
Victoria Research Web: Victorian Resources
Studies in 19th century British history and literature.
Not sure if you should trust a website?
Go to our research tutorial to get tips on finding and evaluating websites
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264